Samuel Abbott of Dover, New Hampshire, Boston, Massachusetts and Montpelier, Vermont.

Samuel Abbott was born May 14, 1791 in Concord, NH. He was the son of Stephen Abbott and Mary Giles. Samuel is first listed as a clockmaker in 1812 in the town of Dover, NH. It is in this small southeastern New Hampshire town that Samuel began his career as a clockmaker, watchmaker, silversmith, and jeweler. On March 5, 1813, Samuel married Jane Day of Concord, New Hampshire. Together they had two sons. Their son John Sullivan Abbott worked in Montpelier, Vermont in similar trades. The Abbott family moved from Dover to Boston, Massachusetts in about 1827. Here he is listed in the Boston Directories as a clockmaker in 1827 through 1830. In Boston, he is listed at several addresses: first at 11 Pitt Street, then 64 Hanover Street and lastly 33 Merrimack. In 1830, Samuel left Boston and moved North to Montpelier, Vermont. He first advertises himself as clock and watchmaker there in January 1830. In 1831-32 he formed a partnership with a Mr. Freeman as Abbott & Freeman. While in Montpelier, Samuel trained J. G. Hall as a clockmaker. Abbott was again listed in the New England Business Directories as watchmaker and jeweler at Montpelier in 1849 and in 1860. He lived there until his death on May 4, 1861 at the age 70. He is buried in the Green Mountian Cemetery in Montpelier, VT.

Examples of tall clocks, shelf clocks, New Hampshire mirror clocks, lyre wall clocks, and patent timepieces have been found. He is noted for his distinctive three-pillar, “grand piano” shaped timepiece movements. Many of these clocks are found with a teardrop shaped pendulum keystone. A watch paper also survives. It is in the collection of the American Antiquarian Society in Worcester, MA.

Samuel Abbott of Boston, Massachusetts. A gilded framed mirror clock. XXSL4

This is an excellent example of a signed mirror clock made by Samuel Abbott of Boston, Massachusetts. This is an exceptional… read more

Samuel Abbott of Dover, New Hampshire. Tall clock featuring an inlaid cherry case. 2691.

This inlaid cherry case tall clock was made by the Clockmaker Samuel Abbott. Samuel Abbott was born in Dover, New Hampshire… read more

Nathan Adams of Danvers and Andover, Mass and also in Hallowell, Wiscasett and Edgecomb, Maine. He also worked as a silversmith in Boston, Massachusetts.

Nathan Adams was born in Newbury, Massachusetts on May 1, 1755. His parents were Henry and Sarah (Emery) Adams. His father was a joiner working in that town. In 1775, Nathan enlisted in the Continental Army as a drummer. He was discharged on December 18, 1780. Nathan is listed as a “Joiner” working in Danvers, Massachusetts in 1783 and in Andover, Massachusetts in 1784. On December 1, 1785, he married Elizabeth (Bette) Poor of Frye Village. By 1786, Adams returned to Danvers and most likely apprenticed his brother-n-law Ezra Batchelder. Deeds show that he maintained an association with both the towns of Andover and in Danvers owning property in both locations. The Danvers property was sold in 1794. In 1795, Nathan Adams moved to Hallowell, Maine. Here he is listed as a clockmaker and as a yeoman. In 1796, he purchased a large tract of land across the river in Pittston. Over a number of years, he sold the land for a profit. In 1796, he moved on to Wiscasset where he built a shop. He remained there until he sold his property to Daniel Noyes, a silversmith. Nathan lost his first wife and married Joanna Batchelder of the Danvers, Massachusetts clockmaking family some time around 1800. He continued to make clocks working in Wiscasset and then moving to Edgecomb. By 1812, he lost the land and building due to indebtedness. After 1812, he returned to Danvers and then worked in Boston as a silversmith where he died in 1825.

The Andover Historical society has a very nice example of a tall clock that he made. This clock is dated on the dial 1792 and features automation in the arch. A face is painted in the arch and its eyes moved side to side with the motion of the pendulum. The case form is very similar to a clock we have owned. We know of a clock that he made while living in Wiscasett in 1808. It is a very fancy inlaid mahogany case which was made for and sold to Moses Davis Esq., of Davis Island.

It is unusual for a clockmaker to have made his own cases. It appears that Adams had the talent to do this.

Tall case clocks with both engraved brass and painted iron dials and the Massachusetts Shelf clock forms are known.

Amos Denison Allen of Windsor, Connecticut.

Amos Denison Allen was born in Windham, Connecticut on March 13, 1774. His parents were Amos Allen Jr and Anna Babcock (Allen). In 1790, at the age of 16, Allen began his training as an cabinetmaking apprentice with Colonel Ebenezer Tracy (1744-1803) in Lisbon, New London County, CT. Allen worked with him until his apprenticeship expired on his twenty-first birthday, in March 1795. On August 18 1796, Allen married Lydia Tracy, E. Tracy’s daughter. Together they had at nine children. They moved to Windham, Connecticut and owned a farmed that totaled 190 Acres. His shop was often very busy and Allen employed as many twelve apprentices at one time. They shipped numerous chairs up and down the east coast, using peddlers to sell many of their products. One of Allen’s shop books covering the years 1796-1803, is currently in the collection of the Connecticut Historical Society along with his apprenticeship papers. It provides a careful listing of his output and his clients during that period. In 1965, Houghton Bulkeley tabulated his memo book as follows: 799 chairs, 51 Pembroke tables, 40 bedsteads, 37 bureaus, 35 chests, 19 dining tables, 16 kitchen tables, 14 portrait frames, 8 clock cases, 8 two-drawer chests, 6 desks, 6 plain tables, 5 chests-on-chests, 2 cradles, 1 (inlaid) sideboard, 1 secretary, 1 looking glass, 1 bookcase, 1 schoolmaster’s desk.

We have owned and seen at least 5 tall case clocks where the cases have been stamped or branded with his name on the backboard. The stamp reads, A. D. ALLEN.

Eleazer Cary (Carey) Clockmaker working in Norwich and later Windham Connecticut. Amos Denison Allen Cabinetmaker / Casemaker in Windham, Connecticut.

This is a nicely proportioned cherry case tall clock. The cherrywood is dark and features a modern clean finish. The case… read more

James Almy of New Bedford, Massachusetts.

James C. Almy is listed in Paul Foley’s book, Willard’s Patent Timepieces. He is listed as a Clockmaker and a Watchmaker working in 1820 -1872. He was born in Newport, Rhode Island on June 19,1802 and died in South Dartmouth, MA on February 2nd, 1872. He is listed as working in partnership with William Wall as Almy & Wall in New Bedford for the period of October 21, 1821 through August of 1823. Here, they made tall clocks, and wall timepieces. Within a couple of years of the Almy & Wall dissolution, James joined with John Bailey III in partnership as John Bailey & Co. This firm lasted from 1825 — 1827. In March of 1828, Almy advertises that he has taken a store in Water Street (alone) nearly opposite the Merchants Bank. He moves in 1836 to Union Street and remains there until 1852. By 1856, his son James T. Almy takes over the business. James Almy’s name alone is only known of a few clocks.

James Almy of New Bedford. A Massachusetts dish dial full striking shelf clock. XXSL-72.

This Massachusetts dish dial shelf clock is signed by the New Bedford clockmaker James Almy. The case was made by Henry… read more

John C. Almy and William A. Wall Almy & Wall of New Bedford, Massachusetts.

Almy & Wall of New Bedford, Massachusetts. They are listed in Paul Foley’s book, “Willard’s Patent Timepieces” as working in New Bedford for the period of October 21, 1821 through August of 1823. In partnership, they made tall clocks and wall timepieces.

John C. Almy is listed as a Clockmaker and a Watchmaker working in 1820 -1872. He was born in Newport, Rhode Island on June 19,1802 and died in South Dartmouth, MA on February 2nd, 1872. In 1821, after the divorce of the partnership with Wall, Almy moves to Exeter, NH by 1824 to continue in clock related businesses.

William A. Wall is listed as a Clockmaker, Watchmaker and Artist. He was born in New Bedford on May 19, 1801 and died there on September 6, 1885. It is reported that he was an apprentice to Hanover, Massachusetts Clockmaker John Bailey Jr. Shortly after the breakup of the partnership with Almy, Wall takes an interests in painting and signs on as a student of John Scully. By 1826 he advertises his talents as a portrait painter. Later he travels abroad to study his new trade.

Samuel Aspinwall of Cambridge, Massachusetts and Pittston, Maine.

Samuel Aspinwall was born in Canton, Massachusetts and died in Berlin, Maine. He first worked in Cambridge, Massachusetts during the period of 1803 through 1813. In an 1803 lawsuit, Aspinwall describes himself as a Cambridge, Clockmaker. It appears he also worked in Salem, MA before moving to North to the town of Pittston, Maine. It is documented that Aspinwall had business dealings with the Boston Clockmakers Daniel Munroe and John MacFarlane. He is described as a Pittston clockmaker in two separate civil lawsuits filed in 1810 and 1811 by Monroe and Macfarlane to recover unpaid promissory notes. Very few signed clocks have been found to date. We have owned one tall case clock made by him while working in Pittston.

Atkins Clock Company of Bristol and later Forestville, Connecticut.

This firm was established in 1859 to succeed the Atkins Clock Manufacturing Company which went bankrupt in June of 1858. In 1859, 12 employees made approximately 4000 clocks.

Merritt W. Atkins was born in 1804 and died in 1873 at the age of 69. He worked in both Bristol and later Forestville, Connecticut. He was a manufacturer of brass movement clocks and was involved in several firms. Most notably would be the firm of Atkins and Porter. His firm M. W. Atkins spanned the years 1840-1857.

For additional information regarding the Atkins firms, please see The Clocks of Irenus Atkins written by Phil Gregory & Robert King.

Atkins Clock Company of Bristol, Connecticut. An "Octagon Top" Cottage Clock with a time and alarm movement.

This Octagon Top cottage clock was made after 1865 in Bristol, Connecticut. The case is constructed in rosewood and retains an… read more

The Atkins Clock Manufacturing Company of Bristol, Connecticut. This very rare 30-day shelf model is called the Gilt Parlor. XX14.

This is a very interesting and rare mantel clock made by the Atkins Clock Manufacturing Company of Bristol, Connecticut. The case… read more

Charles Babbitt of Taunton, Massachusetts.

Charles Babbitt was born in Taunton on December 3rd, 1786 and died there on August 13, 1854. He is listed as a clockmaker, watchmaker, silversmith, jeweler, merchant and as an inventor at one time or another during the period of 1807-1850. His shop was located on Main Street and was in direct competition with Abner Pitts of the same town. We have owned several tall clocks and wall clock signed by this Maker.

Phinehaus Bailey of Hanover, New Hampshire and Chelsea, Vermont.

A clockmaker, jeweler, silversmith, traveling tinker, teacher, printer, and minister. Inventor of Phonography.

Phinehaus or Phinehas J. Bailey was born on November 6,1787 in Landaff, NH. He was the son of Asa and Abigail (Abbott) Bailey and was the fourteenth of seventeen children. In 1793, his parent recently separated, Phinehuas was sent to live with his older sister Abigail and her husband Stephen Bartlett in Bath. Here he received some schooling from his brother-in-law and eventually find work in his uncles workshop making sleds, carts, crossbows, windmills, etc. In 1801, he was apprenticed to John Osgood in Haverhill, NH. Osgood was a prolific clockmaker and was also a silversmith and jeweler. Bailey,s apprenticeship lasted seven years. In 1809, Bailey found work as a Methodist minister and journeyman in Hanover, NH with the clockmaker, watchmaker, silversmith Jedidiah Baldwin. This lasted approximately 7 months. Bailey did not like Baldwin so he moved approximately 20 miles northeast to Chelsea, VT. Here he struck a deal with Nathan Hale to use his tools and to make clocks. This partnership prospered. In August of 1810, he married Janette McArther and together they bought a house. By 1816, his clock business had began to fail. Competition from the wooden clock industry in Connecticut had devastated the brass clock business. The introduction of cheap wooden geared clocks put the Makers of brass geared clocks out of business. Bailey became a traveling repairman fixing for people what ever he could. He also became interested in shorthand and mastered the art. He made some improvements of his own on the process and called his version phonography. This was a form of stenography. He developed and continued to revise his own system over the following years. In doing so, he taught numerous people. This became for a time his major source of income. He was also a member of the Congregational ministry. In 1823, after years of study he was licensed to preach. He began a new career in Richmond, VT. A year later he moved to East Berkshire to preach. He also opened a school to teach shorthand, astronomy and grammar. In 1833, he moved across Lake Champlain to preach in Beekman, NY. Troubled times in 1839 including the death of his wife forced him to move south to Ticonderoga, NY. Eighteen months later he was preaching in Hebron, NY. He resigned from Hebron in 1845. In 1852, he moved back to Vermont to the town of Albany with his wife Hannah Edwards of Morrisville. He retired from the pulpit in 1860. Phinehuas died on December 14, 1861.

Several tall clocks are known to exist. A portrait Phinehuas Bailey and a daguerreotype are in the collection of the Bennington Museum in Bennington, Vermont. A watch paper is in the collection of the American Antiquarian Society in Worcester, Massachusetts.

Phinehaus J. Bailey. Chelsea, Vermont. An inlaid cherry cased tall clock. No 6. 219117

This important clock was made by Phinehaus J. Bailey of Chelsea, Vermont circa 1810. This is Phinehaus’s 6th clock and is… read more

Calvin Bailey of Hanover, Massachusetts and Bath, Maine.

BAILEY, CALVIN – Hanover, MA Bath, ME – Clock maker. 1782-1835. Born in
Hanover on Jan. 21, 1761, died in Bath, ME in 1835. Son of John Bailey Sr. Calvin worked in Hanover until 1828 when he moved to Bath, ME. Calvin was most likely trained by his father. His brother John Jr. was also a clock maker who made many tall case clocks. Calvin’s account book exists and mentions other Clockmakers including David Studley who worked 1806-09 as a journeyman and cabinetmaker.

Lebbeus Bailey of Hanover, Massachusetts and North Yarmouth, Maine

Lebbeus Bailey was born in 1763 in Hanover, Massachusetts. It is thought that he served his apprenticeship along with his older brother Calvin, born 1761 and his older brother John II born in 1751. Lebbeus is listed as a clockmaker in Hanover, MA in 1784 through 1791. In 1791, he is recorded as moving to North Yarmouth, Maine were he settled with his wife, Sarah Sylvester Myrick. Lebbeus set up a foundry and continued to make tall clocks and shelf clocks as well as every kind of metal work of which his customers had need. Lebbeus died on December 3, 1827. His house still stands in that town.

A fine inlaid mahogany case tall clock of Coastal Northern New England origin attributed to Lebbeus Bailey of Yarmouth, Maine. 29085.

This case exhibits northern New England proportions. The attribution to the Clockmaker Lebbeus Bailey is based on the form of the… read more

John Bailey II of Hanover, Massachusetts.

John Bailey II of Hanover, Massachusetts. A quaker clockmaker. An exceptional mechanic and an inventor.

John Bailey II was born in Hanover, Massachusetts the son of John (a shipbuilder) and Ruth Randall Bailey on May 6, 1751. He died there 72 years later on January 23, 1823. It is thought that he learned clockmaking at a very young age and may have been self taught. John is responsible for training numerous apprentices. Many of which include his younger brothers Calvin and Lebbeus, his son John III, Joseph Gooding, Ezra Kelley and Hingham’s Joshua Wilder. Many of these trained apprentices moved to other south eastern Massachusetts towns and become well known to their local communities. John was the most prolific maker of the six Baileys that were involved in the clock business. He was Quaker preacher and an ingenious mechanic as well as an instrument maker. In addition to clocks, a surveyor’s compass is known and is now in the Hanover Historical Society’s collection. He was also an inventor and received a patent for a steam operated roasting jack. This device was designed to turn meat over a fire in order to cook it more evenly.

John’s clocks are loosely broken down into two categories. The first is a home developed style. Often these examples have sheet brass dials that are engraved and treated with a silver wash. Several examples have been found with movements that are constructed in wood. Others are constructed in brass and the plates are fully skeletonized. Some of these incorporate wooden winding drums. It is interesting to note that he made both types of strike trains. We have seen examples signed by him that feature a count wheel set up and also the more popular rack and snail. Very few clockmakers used both set ups. The cases are typically constructed in indigenous woods that include maple and cherry. These examples have pleasing country proportions and lack the sophistication of the Roxbury school. Sometime around 1790, the Roxbury / Boston influence must have played a big role in John’s production. The movements on these examples are more apt to incorporate fully plated movements. In addition, the cases resemble those being turned out by the Willard School. These feature mahogany cases and are often decorated with inlays. The second generation of output is much more formal in appearance.

Over the years, we have owned a fair number of clocks made by him. Some of which included numerous tall case clocks, dwarf clocks and the Massachusetts shelf clock form.

A Rare Federal Mahogany and Inlaid Tall Case Clock By John Bailey II, Hanover, Massachusetts, Circa 1804. The clock case attributed to Abiel White.

This attractive Federal tall case clock is an early example produced by the Quaker clockmaker John Bailey [1751-1823]. Bailey was a… read more

John Bailey II of Hanover, Massachusetts. A maple case tall clock. 211067.

This country maple case tall clock was made by John Bailey II of Hanover of Massachusetts. John Bailey II was born… read more

John Bailey II of Hanover, Massachusetts. An important tall case clock. The case possibly made by Elisha Cushing Jr. of Hingham. 219052.

This early example is one of very few Bailey made clocks found with a brass dial. The case is constructed in… read more

John Bailey III or Jr. of Hanover and New Bedford, Massachusetts.

John Bailey III or Junior was born in Hanover, Massachusetts on August 13, 1787. It is thought that he learned the family trade of clockmaking from his father John II. John III finished his apprenticeship in 1809 at the tail end of the tall case clocks popularity. The wall timepiece, and shelf clock became the clock of choice due to its reduction in cost. In June of 1809, he moved to Portland, Maine and worked mostly as a repairman. In November of 1810, he married Anna Taber, the daughter of a prominent Quaker merchant in Portland. In 1811, they returned to Hanover. It is during this next period of his life that we find him traveling in the South during the winters and setting up temporary repair shops and shipping whole clocks from the North to Southern clients all while maintaining a shop in Hanover. In 1824, he had moved his business from Hanover to the growing city of New Bedford, which is located on the Massachusetts south coast. Here he took the shop formerly occupied by the clockmakers Almy & Wall. In addition to his reputation as a fine businessman, clockmaker and chronometer repairman, Bailey became well known for his Anti-slavery convictions. He traveled extensively, including to the South, to preach his message of abolitionism. This was a stance that eventually cost him is business in New Bedford. In 1848, he moved to Lynn, MA where he operated “The Old Curiosity Shop” a jewelery and repair business on Union Street. He died in there in 1883 on March 2nd. Over his life time, he saw the cost of a clock start at $60 and fall to $2 due to the gearing up of mass production methods. Clocks were no longer for the most affluent of a community.

Over the years, we have owned a fair number of clocks made by him. Some of which included numerous tall case clocks, dwarf clocks and wall timepieces.

John Bailey Jr. (1787-1883) of New Bedford, Massachusetts. An impressive mahogany tall case clock. XXSL-21

This very impressive tall case clock was produced for the highly influential and historically important abolitionist, John A. Collins of New… read more

John Bailey Jr. of Hanover, Massachusetts. Tall case clock. NN-3

A mahogany veneered tall case clock signed on the dial by John Bailey Jr., of Hanover, Massachusetts. This fine example features… read more

Edward Pyson Baird

Edward Payson Baird was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on January 26, 1860 and died in October 23, 1929 at the age of 69. In 1879 he went to work for the Seth Thomas Clock Company until 1887 when he moved to Montreal, Canada. Here he formed the Baird Mfg. Co., which was located at 112 Queen Street. He also opened a sales office at 13 Park Row in New York City. In Montreal, Baird manufactured wooden cases that housed Seth Thomas made movements. The front of the cases were fitted with very recognizable doors that prominently displayed the advertising for various products which his client’s companies sold. Many of these doors were made from paper mache. His business model of selling clocks to companies so that they could advertise their wares was successful and the business grew. In July of 1890, he moved the company to Plattsburgh, New York and set up shop at 18 Bridge Street along the Saranac River. Baird had numerous clients in the States as well as in Great Britain as is evident by the surviving examples. He had a good run until 1896 when a local sheriff took possession of the company’s assets which were soon sold at public auction. By 1897, Baird established himself in Chicago. Here he began to focus on the telephone industry applying for as many as twelve patents and then later eleven additional patents for locks and keys.

For a more in-depth history, please read Baird Advertising Clocks written by Jerry Maltz in 1998.

The Baird Clock Company of Plattsburg, New York. A wall clock. KK-123

This Baird Advertising Clock was made in Plattsburg, New York. The fine example advertises “Baltimore Clothiers” of “Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.” The term… read more

Baird Mfg., Co. of Plattsburgh, New York.

Edward Payson Baird was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on January 26, 1860 and died in October 23, 1929 at the age of 69. In 1879 he went to work for the Seth Thomas Clock Company. He worked there until 1887 when he moved North to Montreal, Canada. Here he formed the Baird Mfg. Co. and began to build and sell advertising clocks. In July of 1890, he moved to Plattsburgh, New York and set up shop at 18 Bridge Street along the Saranac River. It is at this location that this clock was made.

Baird Clock Company of Plattsburg, NY. Goulding's Manures. This example is an attention getter.

This is a Baird Advertising Clock that was made in Plattsburg, New York. The Clock advertises “GOULDING’S MANURES.” The sales claim… read more

Eleazer Baker of Ashford, Connecticut.

Eleazer Baker of Ashford, Connecticut. Clockmaker, watchmaker and goldsmith.

Eleazer Baker was Born on December, 17, 1764 in Tolland, Connecticut and died on December 3, 1848 in Mansfield Center, Connecticut. His parents were Joseph Baker 1738-1804 and Lois Carpenter 1740 — 1808. He married Hannah Trowbridge in Pomfret, Connecticut on April 12, 1787. He is listed as working in Ashford in 1875. In 1791, he began training Edmund Hughes who later “ran away” and then returned to finish his training. In 1793, he advertised in the Windham Herald as a clock and watchmaker and goldsmith. In 1794 he is listed in the Ashford Land Records as buying property. In 1795, he is again listed as buying the adjoining land at the junction of the Boston and Hartford, Turnpike. The house he built, still stands today. Very few clocks have been recorded. A number of pieces of silver have been found including tankers, teapots, porringers, etc.

Eleazer Baker of Ashford, Connecticut. An Inlaid cherry case tall clock that is dated "1790" and numbered "12."

This is a very important clock. It is signed on the dial by the clockmaker. In addition, it is also dated… read more

Daniel Balch of Bradford and Newburyport, Massachusetts.

Daniel Balch Sr. was born in Bradford, Massachusetts on March 1, 1734. He was the son of Reverend William Balch of the East Parish in Badford. It is thought that Daniel had apprenticed and learned the skills of clockmaking under the guidance of Samuel Mulliken. In Bradford, he made clocks until he moved to Newbury in 1756. He was also married this same year to Hannah Clements (1735-1783). His first shop was located on Fish Street now State Street. In 1765, Newburyport became its own entity and the two villages were divided. It is recorded that he kept the town clock of Newburyport form 1781 – 1783. Daniel married a second time in 1784 to Judith Thurston (1739-1825) of Newbury. Daniel had two son from his first marriage that he trained as clockmakers. They are Daniel Jr. (1761-1835) and Thomas Hutchinson Balch (1771-1817). Together, they continued the business after Daniel Sr. died in 1790. ( An interesting note. Jonathan Kettell, a cabinetmaker originally from Charlestown, Massachusetts and moved to Newburyport after the British burned the town in 1775, recorded in his account books that Daniel Balch purchased as many as twenty-two tall case and shelf clock cases in the years that included 1781-1792.) Examples of tall clocks, some musical, and shelf clocks have been found. A very nice example of a brass dial shelf clock is currently in the collection of the Historical Society of Old Newbury.

Daniel Balch of Newbury, Massachusetts. A pre-revolutionary American tall case clock, diminutive in stature. 220029

This is important painted pine case tall clock was made by Daniel Balch of Newbury, Massachusetts. The small village of Bradford,… read more

Jedidiah Baldwin of Northampton, Massachusetts, Hanover, New Hampshire and New York State.

Jedidiah Baldwin was born in Norwich, Connecticut on March 29, 1768. He was the oldest son of Jabez and Lydia (Barker) Baldwin of that seaport town. Jedidiah was to apprenticed to Thomas Harland who was also working in Norwich. Harland was a very accomplished clockmaker watchmaker, silversmith jeweler, instrument maker and engraver. Baldwin is thought to have finished his apprenticeship with Harland in 1791. On April 10th, of that year, Baldwin married Abigail Jones of Norwich (born 26 June 1772) and soon moved north to Northhampton, Massachusetts. He set up a shop and advertised “Clock & Watch Making & Repairing. Together with Jewelry in its various branches.” Samuel Stiles and Nathan Storrs were also listed as being in business at this time. On July 20, 1791, the partnership between S. Stiles and J. Baldwin was advertised in the New Hampshire Gazette. Their shop was to be located in Stiles current place of business nearly opposite the Meeting house. This partnership lasted nearly a year before Stiles left Northampton and moved first to Windsor Connecticut and then to Chester, Massachusetts where he is thought to have died in 1826. On the 4th of July, 1792, Baldwin & Nathan Storrs ran an advertisement in the New Hampshire Gazette. It announce their partnership. Storrs had been working as a clockmaker, watchmaker, gold and silver smith in town for at least a year. Their shop was “the Shop lately occupied by STILES & BALDWIN.” (A cherry case tall clock is known signed by this firm. It is interesting to note that the engraved silvered brass dial is signed Baldwin & Storrs / Northampton and is dated 1793.)

Nathan Storrs was born in Mansfield, Connecticut on August 7th, 1768 the son of Amariah and Mary Gilbert Storrs. It is currently thought that he was trained as a clockmaker by Jacob Sargeant. Nathan first advertises in Northampton, Massachusetts in 1791 and that he is open for business and is lately from New York. In 1792, he forms a partnership with Samuel Stiles as Stiles & Storrs. This partnership quickly dissolves and in 1792 and Nathan takes on Jedidiah Baldwin as Baldwin & Storrs until 1793 when Baldwin moves to Hanover, NH. In 1827, Storrs & Cook (Benjamin F. Cook) form a partnership that lasts until 1833. In 1829, they open an additional outlet in Amherst, Massachusetts. Nathan retires in 1833 due to poor health and dies in 1839.

In January of 1794, Baldwin & Storrs advertised that the partnership had dissolved. Jedidiah left Northampton and moved North to Hanover, New Hampshire sometime in that latter part of 1793. In the village of Hanover, as well as being a clockmaker, Baldwin served as the postmaster in of town from 1797-1811. He is also recorded to have trained his younger brother Jabez while working here. Jedidiah left Hanover in 1811 and moved to New York State where he moved several times. His first stop was in Fairfield, New York and is listed there as a silversmith until 1818. From 1818 to 1820 he is listed as working as a watchmaker and silversmith in Morrisville, New York. In 1834 he is listed as working in Rochester and in 1838 he is lasted as having a shop on Washington Street. Baldwin died on March 29, 1849 in Rochester. He is buried in the Mount Hope Cemetery.

Baldwin & Storrs of Northampton, Massachusetts.

The partnership Baldwin & Storrs advertised on July 4, 1792 in the New Hampshire Gazette that they were now in business together in “the Shop latelt occupied by STILES& BALDWIN.” This shop was located in nearly opposite the Meeting house in Northampton. This partnership lasted until January of 1794 when Storrs advertised that it had dissolved and that he was to carry on the trade.

Please see their individual listings in the Libary of Clockmakers.

Baldwin & Storrs tall case clock of Northampton, Massachusetts. Dated 1793. -SOLD-

This important cherry case tall clock was made by the partnership of Baldwin and Storrs of Northampton, Massachusetts. This fine narrowly… read more

Barker & Taylor of Worcester, Massachusetts.

Jonathan Barker and Samuel Taylor formed a partnership as Barker & Taylor sometime before 1807. Little is currently known of these two individuals and their clocks are considered rare. In fact, this is one of the two tall case examples currently known to us signed in this manner. A third example is signed ‘J. Barker, Ashby.’ Based on the number of clock that are known to have survived, we can assume that they were not prolific clockmakers. All three feature wooden geared movements that share the same construction characteristics and format of the Ashby Clockmaking school. In addition, the painted dials are from there as well. As a result, it is logical to assume that Barker received his training there and later moved to Worcester and joined Taylor in the Barker & Taylor venture. It is recorded that Barker died in 1807. Samuel Taylor was born in 1780 and died in 1864. He is listed as a clockmaker in 1807 through 1856. So it is reasonable to assume that he carried on the business after Barker died.

Jonathan Barker of Ashby, Massachusetts. Wooden geared tall case clock. 213139

It appears that Jonathan Barker was apprenticed to Abraham Edwards in Ashby, Massachusetts sometime before 1802. The connection is made because… read more

Barker & Taylor of Worcester, Massachusetts. A wooden geared 30-hour tall clock. CC164.

This fine example features a case that is constructed in pine and retains it’s original painted surface. The pine was wash… read more

Ezra Batchelder of Danvers, Massachusetts.

Ezra Batchelder was born in Andover, Massachusetts on November 13th, 1769. His parents were Ezra a blacksmith (Baptized on May 31, 1741 and died in 1809) and his wife Mary (Woodbury) Ober of Beverly. They were married on March 15, 1763. They had five children that were raised on Maple Street. They became one of the largest landowners in Danvers.

Ezra had a brother, Andrew born 1772, who is also listed as a Clockmaker and blacksmith. In fact, they are listed as working together in Danvers sometime after 1801. It is thought that they were trained by their brother-in-law Nathan Adams. It is reported that an account book exists that covers the business years of 1803 to 1830. In this 27 years of business, 36 clocks are listed as being sold. Not all of which are tall case examples. These clocks are listed as selling for $35 to a high of $65 depending if they were cased or not. It is interesting to note that the names of the original purchasers are also listed in the account. It is also thought that both brothers were fine cabinetmakers and may have made their own cases as well as other wood products. The account book lists the following clock related entries.

1803. Five clocks are listed. Nathaniel Lang purchased two at $50 each. Edmund Johnson purchased two at $35 each. Charles Foster purchased one at $35. The Foster and Johnson clocks are listed as being sold with a “12 inch face with out case.” The Lang clocks must have been sold cased. 1803 was his most productive clock year.
1804-1805. No clock sales are listed.
1806. Peter Woodbury of Beverly purchased a clock with a “Moon face” for $40 and Solomon Dodge bought one at $37.50. “Tucker” from the town of Andover bought one at $38.
1807. Elias Endicott bought a cased clock at $52.50.
1808. Rev. Benjamin Wadsworth paid $50 for a clock that was to be delivered to Rev. Mr. “Bawlch” of Salisbury. Capt. Samuel Trow of Beverly bought a “moon face” for $45. William Dodge of Beverly bought a “moon Face” for $45. This clock was sold without a case. Mr. Lemon of Beverly bought a “12 inch moon face” for $43.
1809. No clock sales are listed.
1810. Amos Gould of Ipswich purchased a clock for $50.
1811. Jacob Towne of Topsfield purchased a “clock compleat” for $47.50.
1812. Capt. Thomas Raymond of Beverly bought a clock “without case” for $40. John H. Leonard of Salem bought a “compleat clock” for $55.
1813. Capt. Thomas Cheever of Danvers bought a clock for $65. (Capt. Cheever commanded the ship Augustus.) This clock is listed as having a “mehogeny case.” David Perkins of Topsfield bought a clock for $50.
1814. No clock sales are listed.
1815. Elezer Pope, a yeoman resided in Salem bought a clock for $50.
1816. Elezer Lake of Topsfield bought a “clock and case compleat and case varnished” for $52. John Averill of Topsfield is listed as buying a clock. The price is not recorded. Major Solomon Wilkins of Middleton paid $50. This is latter sold to the Newhall family.
1817. No entries.
1818. No entries.
1819. Ebenezer Goldthwaite purchased a “clock and case compleat and case varnished” for $53. “Esq” Elezer Putnam paid $53 for a clock.
1820. Alen Porter bought a “compleat,” clock for $53.
1821. Stephen Whipple of Salem bought a “compleat,” clock for $53. Daniel Porter of Topsfield purchased a “clock and case” for $50.
1822. Capt. Asa Tapley of Danvers paid $53. He was a soldier of the revolution. He was a lieutenant during the War of 1812 and was on guard at Fort Lee. In 1833 he was granted a revolutionary pension. He was a successful businessman in all endeavors. One of the early brick manufacturers of Danvers. He served the Town of Danvers as a contestable, a highway surveyor, as a member of the board of health and on the school committee. He had many land transactions listed in the records. In these he was listed as a yeoman.
1823. Levi Preston of Danvers paid $55.
1824. Mr. Killam, probably of Boxford paid $40.
1825. No entries.
1826. Mark How paid $53.
1827. Mr. Hardy bought a clock “without case” for $32.50.
1828. Perley Tapley of Danvers bought a clock for $53. He was a famous mover of buildings. He also served as a highway surveyor.
1829. Hicks Richards of Danvers bought a clock “without case,” for $38. Col. Nathan Tapley purchased “one case,” for $15.75. Nathan was Asa’s brother. He commanded a military company in Danvers and vicinity for which he received the title of Colonel. He was also a very successful business man.
1830. Joseph Porter purchased “one eight-day clock with weights
without the case,” for $38. (This is Ella J. Porter clock. She lived on Cherry Street.)

Ezra married Anna Brown on December 17, 1795. She was a native of Andover, Massachusetts and was born in 1772 and died on June 4th, 1856. Together they had 11 children. Ezra was also a farmer and is reported to be the first expressman in Danvers, carrying merchandise to and from Boston in what was called a “road wagon.” He did this in 1825 thru 1830 making approximately three trips per week using two or a team of four horses depending on the weight of the load. He sold this route to Joseph Porter. Ezra dies in Danvers on October 10th, 1858 of lung fever. He lived nearly 90 years and labored to the end.

Over the last forty plus years of being in the business of selling clocks, We have seen at least 12 tall clocks signed by this Maker.

Ezra Batchelder of Danvers, Mass. Captain Thomas Cheever's cross-banded mahogany case tall clock. 216057

This is a fine cross banded mahogany example. According to Ezra Batchelder’s existing shop log book, only one tall clock example… read more

Ezra Batchelder of Danvers, Massachusetts. A Butternut case tall clock. 217003.

This clock stand on four boldly formed and original ogee bracket feet. The waist section centering tombstone shaped door. This door… read more

Ezra Batchelder of Danvers, Massachusetts. A Massachusetts tall case clock in butternut. OO8.

This is a fine butternut case tall clock with painted dial signed “ Ezra Batchelder Danvers.” The case proportions are very… read more

Eli Bentley West Chester, Pennslyvannia and Taney Town, Maryland.

Eli was born on February 16, 1752 in Concord, Pennsylvania. He was the third child of Joseph Bentley, the tavern keeper of the Red Lion Tavern in Doe Run, Pennsylvania. At age twenty, he married Mary Hunter who was the first cousin of clockmaker Thomas Shields. He soon bought a home at West Whitelands, near West Chester, Pennsylvania and made clocks there from about 1778 to 1787. It is said that clocks were not in demand during the Revolutionary War, so Eli and his brother caleb became silversmiths. (It is recorded that MESDA owns one piece each of silver signed by Eli Bentley and his brother Caleb.) In 1787, Eli bought a lot in Taney Town, but the exact date his family moved there is unknown. In 1790, the year of the first census, Eli Bentley and eight family members were registered in Taney Town. Here he made clocks and repaired them until his death in 1822 at age of 70. Major Alexander McIlhenny of Uniontown bought clock works from Bentley in 1817 for $60, then paid cabinetmaker George Christ an additional $40 for a case. This was a huge investment at the time — an indication of McIlhenny’s wealth. Most makers left their names somewhere on the faces of their clocks, but sometimes they appear elsewhere — even on the pendulums. Identifying the cabinetmaker who built the housing can be more difficult. His clocks ranged from simple thirty-hour single weight clocks to ornate eight day clocks with sweep second hands and moon dials. His brother Caleb and Jacob Kuhns were administrators of his estate.

It is said that he made in excess of fifty tall clock examples in his lifetime. As a result, he is considered to be Carroll County’s best-known craftsman of the period. As a maker of clocks, his examples are highly prized possessions for those lucky enough to own them. The Carroll County Historical Society is proud to have five examples in its collection. Additional clocks are pictured in several Horological reference books. A fine example fitted with a composite brass moon phase dial is pictured in Pennsylvania Clockmakers, Watchmakers and Allied Crafts written by James Biser Whisker.

Eli Bentley of Taney Town, Maryland. An inlaid walnut cased tall clock.

This case is constructed in walnut and is decorated with a number of line or string inlay patterns. A large circle… read more

Louis Bernhard of Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania.

Louis Bernhard is listed in several references as a watchmaker and jeweler working most of his life in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania.

The (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 323) provides the following information about this industrious person.

Louis Bernhard was born in Bavaria, Germany, in 1839. His family immigrated to America when he was a year old settling in New York City. With in a few years, they moved West to Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. Here he spent his childhood and was educated in the local town’s school system. At he age of 17, Louis began an apprenticeship in the watch making trade under the guidance of John F. Jordan. In 1858, Louis moved to the village of Bloomsburg where he established his own watchmaker’s and jewelers’ business. He was talented and very skilled. In 1859, he exhibited a chronometer watch that he made at the Columbia County county fair. In fact, he claimed to have manufactured all of it’s parts. This is thought to have been the first watch ever made in the county. It is reported that during his residence in Bloomsburg, he trained eleven apprentices in the watch trade. He is also said to have served the community as an architect and provided the plans for the Lowenberg & Cadman block, the Episcopal parsonage and his residence which was on Fifth Street. (It may be number 37 today?) Even the iron fence (now gone) surrounding his well kept and ornamental grounds was cast from designs drawn and furnished by him. He also enjoyed oil painting and was a carver in both marble and wood. A few examples of his work survive. Examples include an elaborately finished case of black walnut housing an astronomical clock of most intricate and perfect workmanship, an elegant inlaid box for his drawing instruments, a large elaborately carved black walnut looking-glass frame, several oil paintings that included landscapes representing some of the choicest scenery in the vicinity of Bloomsburg, several copies of famous paintings, among them “Shakespeare and his Friends.” All of these paintings are well executed and denote a high order of artistic skill. He has also executed oil portraits of himself and his wife and other members of his family. Mr. BERNHARD was a resident of Bloomsburg for nearly thirty years. He is thought to have been progressive and public-spirited, and has served this vicinity as a member of the council. He married Anna J. Townsend in April, 1862. Together, they had six children. Mr. and Mrs. Bernhard were members of the Episcopal Church. He made a study of civil engineering at Wilkes-Barre Academy, and completed his studies in New York City. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 323)

Other known articles include his wheel cutting engine which is in the William Penn Memorial Museum in Harrisburg. A floor standing regulator made by him is in the NAWCC collection in Columbia, PA. This clock is described as a Regulator, having an eight-day time only brass movement. It utilizes the escapement invented by Thomas Reid of Edinburgh, Scotland in early 1800s. The heavy brass plates are skeletonized and attached to a wooden seat-board. The movement is engraved, “Louis Bernhard / Bloomsburg PA.” The pendulum is a Harrison gridiron design. The bob is also engraved with “Louis Bernhard, Maker.” The painted glass dial allows view of movement. It includes a subsidiary seconds dial. The walnut case is fitted with six glass panes. The interior is painted black with his portrait on behind the pendulum.

Louis Bernhard Clockmaker, Watchmaker, Jeweler, Artist and Architect working in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania. This is a very unusual 30-day duration wall regulator. 219015.

This very impressive wall regulator was made in 1875 by Louis Bernhard of Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania. The design of which is a… read more

Bigelow, Kennard & Co. of Boston, Massachusetts.

John Bigelow was born in Westminster, Massachusetts on May 26, 1802. His parents were Luke Bigelow and Asenath (Winship) Bigelow. John was trained as a silversmith and is first listed as doing business in Boston as early as 1824 as John Bigelow & Co. In the early 1830’s, he was joined by his brothers Alanson & Abraham O. Bigelow prompting the firm’s name to change to Bigelow Bros. & Co. The company expanded its business from jewelry to include high quality clocks, watches and altar silverware. Their merchandise was privately manufactured and sold at their store in Boston. Martin Parry Kennard of Brookline, Massachusetts joined the firm in 1845, which prompted the company to change its name to Bigelow Bros. & Kennard until 1863. From 1863 to 1972 the firm was called Bigelow, Kennard & Co. The store was closed in 1971-72.

Bigelow, Kennard & Co. of Boston, Massachusetts. A three train hall clock.

This case is constructed in mahogany and retains an older finish that has been recently rubbed out. It has a super… read more

Bigelow, Kennard & Co. of Boston, Massachusetts. A three train hall clock or Grandfather clock.

This case is constructed in mahogany and retains an older finish that has been recently rubbed out. It has a super… read more

Belding (BD) Bingham of Nashua, New Hampshire.

Belding Dart (BD) Bingham worked primarily as a Watchmaker in Nashua, New Hampshire for most of his life. He is also reported to have worked briefly in the cities of Lowell, Waltham and in Roxbury, Massachusetts. It appears he had a working association with Leonard W. Noise, and for a short time with Fisher Thayer and J.S. Warner. The quality of his clock work is outstanding.

Bingham was born in Shoreham, Addison, Vermont on July 5th 1812. His parents were Ira Bingham and Jane (Dart) Bingham. Sometime in the early 1830’s, BD appears in Nashua, NH and is working with Leonard W. Noyes as a clockmaker. A timepiece is known that has a dial signed, “Warranted by L. W. Noyes” and the movement is inscribed “B. D. Bingham, maker 1834.” BD married Mary Brown on November 15, 1836. In 1838, BD advertises in the Nashua Gazette that he has taken the store of L. W. Noyes in the Long Block, Main Street. Here he is selling clocks, watches, jewelry, etc. He is also servicing or repairing all sorts of items. In 1850, it appears he took a residence on Pearl Street. In 1852, he moves with his family to San Francisco, California. He stays there approximately a year before he returns to Nashua. In 1859-1862, the Nashua Watch Company is being formed. BD is one of the founding members. In 1865-1866, BD serves as the superintendent of the Tremont Watch Company. This is during the absence of A. L. Dennison. During this time, BD is reported to have been living on Eustis Street in Roxbury. In 1868, he moves back to Nashua and remains there until he dies on October 4, 1878.

A small number of Bingham clocks are documented. These include: floor model astronomical regulators, large wall (Banjo Style) regulators and gallery clocks. The large regulators appear more commonly. An example seems to be offered for sale publically once every 5 or more years. For the period of 1834 to approximately 1842, the Nashua directories, documented examples, and numerous advertisements indicate or state that B.D. Bingham is a clockmaker. After 1842, the directories and advertisements do not include the word clockmaker, but continue to use the word watchmaker. It would appear that he had ceased making clocks after 1842.

Belding D. (BD) Bingham Nashua, New Hampshire. A wall regulator of the finest quality designed for use by watchmen or installed in banks, public offices of large rooms.

A relatively small number of clockmakers are known to have made regulator clocks that share this very popular form. This is… read more

Flavel Bingham of Windsor, Connecticut and Utica, New York.

Flavel Bingham was born on March 14, 1781 in Andover / Bolton, Connecticut and died of Typhus on August 13, 1804 in Utica, New York. He was 23 years old when he died. His parents were Stephen Bingham (born 11/30/1740 and died 2/19/1835) and Sarah Long (born 3/25/1743 and died 4/29/1799.) Together they had ten children. Flavel was number seven. It is recorded that Flavel served one of the most famous Connecticut clockmakers Daniel Burnap as an apprentice in Windsor, CT. This would have been during the period when Eli Terry was also being trained by Burnap. Bingham completed his training in 1800 and soon moved to Utica, New York where he is listed as a silversmith and as a watchmaker located at the sign of the Golden Watch on the east side of Genesee Street during the approximate years of 1802-1804. Flavel married Fanny White Bingham (born 2/5/1781). She also died of typhus on July 11, 1804. They had one son named Flavel who was born on November 8,1803. Flavel II was raised by maternal grandparents because of his parents young deaths.

Very few clocks have been found to date made by this maker. This makes sense because he died at such a young age.

Flavel Bingham of Windsor, Connecticut and Utica, New York. Clockmaker, watchmaker and silversmith.

This wonderful inlaid cherry case tall clock was made in Utica, New York by Flavel Bingham. This decoratively inlaid example stands… read more

Birge & Fuller Bristol, Conn.

John Birge (1785 -1862) and Thomas Franklin Fuller (1798 – 1848) shared a successful partnership in Bristol Connecticut from 1844 through 1848. They made many steeple clocks with a large variation of movements. This firm is probably best known for making steeple on steeple clocks powered by wagon spring movements.

Wagon Spring Steeple on Steeple Shelf Clock. Birge & Fuller of Bristol, Connecticut.

27116 Birge & Fuller Wagon Spring powered Steeple on Steeple Clock. This is a very good example of a steeple on… read more

Birge, Peck & Co. of Bristol, Connecticut.

The Birge, Peck & Co. of Bristol, Connecticut was a firm comprised of John Birge, Ambrose Peck, Samuel Taylor and William R. Richards. This venture started in 1849 and lasted until 1859. John Birge retired in 1855.

David Blasdel of Amesbury, Massachusetts.

The Blasdel name is spelled many ways. We have seen it spelled “Blaisdell” and “Blaisdel” in the past. This example is signed with the spelling “Blasdel.”

David Blasdel was born in 1712 and worked in Amesbury until his death is 1756. He was killed near Lake George at Fort William Henry while serving in the last French and Indian War as a blacksmith. He was responsible for keeping the troops arms and armor in good repair. He had an older brother Jonathan (1709-1802) who worked in East Kingston, New Hampshire. Both boys were clockmakers and metalworkers. David was perhaps the more successful clockmaker in that more examples of his tall clocks have been recorded to date.

David had sons who also work in the trade. David Jr was born 1736 and died in 1794. Isaac was born in 1738 and died in 1791. Nicholas was born in 1743 and was at work in 1800. He was a Captain in the Revolutionary War with the First Co. out of Maine. In 1770, he settled in Portland, Maine. David Senior also had a grandson named Richard who made clocks. Richard was Isaac’s son. Richard made clocks in Amesbury, MA, Chester and Newmarket, NH and then finally in Falmouth, Maine.

The Blasdels may have been the earliest blacksmiths, silversmiths, woodworkers & clockmakers working north of Boston. The vast majority of the tall clocks made by this pioneering family are easily identifiable. The tall clocks feature one day iron framed and brass geared movements. These works features posted frames. The posts are often tapered in the middle and as a result, are referred to as a “dog-bone” post. The top and bottom were fitted with cast iron plates. This set up format has the look of a cage. The trains are positioned in tandem, ie the strike train is located behind the time train. This makes it possible to use the endless rope arrangement that will power both trains. The count wheel,usually as much as 3 1/2 inches in diameter is located on the outside of the rear plate.

Many of the Blasdel dials are follow the same form and are somewhat distinctive. The are generally composed of a tin or thin brass sheet that is arched in form and undersized measuring approximately 10 inches across an 13.5 inches tall. The time rings are approximately 9 inches in diameter. They are engraved with Roman style hour numerals, Arabic style five minute markers, a closed minute track. Inside this ring is a small window that displays the calendar day. The cast spandrels and usually pewter and lack detail. The Maker’s name is engraved in the boss located in the arch. This is usually crudely done.

David Blasdel of Amesbury, Massachusetts. The patriotic of three generations of clockmakers. A pre-revolutionary tall clock made in 1755.

This Queen Anne form is constructed in pine and is stained with a mahogany finish. The case is very well preserved.… read more

Chauncey Boardman

Chauncey Boardman was born in 1789. He worked in Bristol in 1810 through 1850. He began making wood tall clock movements with Butler Dunbar until 1812 when he bought him out. Boardman made movements for other companies including Chauncey Jerome. In 1832 he formed a partnership with Joseph Wells. They operated four separate factories that produced wood movements in great quantity until 1837 when rolled brass was then introduced. In 1844 the firm split and each continued under their own name. Chauncey Boardman died in 1857.

Chauncey Boardman, Fusee powered Beehive. 211049

This is a mahogany veneered case beehive clock was made by Chauncey Boardman of Bristol Conn., USA. This is a pretty… read more

Boardman & Wells

Chauncey Boardman was born in 1789. He is listed as working in Bristol in 1810 through 1850. He began making wood tall clock movements with Butler Dunbar until 1812 when he bought him out. He then made movements for other companies including Chauncey Jerome. In 1832 he formed a partnership with Joseph Wells. They operated four separate factories and produced in great quantity wood movements until 1837 and the introduction of rolled brass. In 1844 the firm split and each continued under their own name. Chauncey Boardman died in 1857.

Boston Clock Company of Boston, Massachusetts.

The Boston Clock Company was organized by Joseph H. Eastman & James Gerry on May 29,1884. It was actually located in the city of Chelsea. This Company was formed as the successor to the Harvard Clock Company. Joseph H. Eastman became the manager of the this new firm. In January of 1894, the Boston Clock Company was sold to the Ansonia Clock Company of Brooklyn, New York. All tools machinery and patents were included in the sale. In March of the same year, Joseph Eastman and others tried to revive it as the Eastman Clock Company. This new firm lasted only one year. The Boston Clock Company manufactured clocks predominately in the style of crystal regulators, carriage clocks and other mantel clocks in marble case. A few wall clock were produced. Their clocks were sold through salesrooms that included Smith & Patterson in Boston, G. S. Lovell & Co in Philadelphia and Wm. H. Atwater in New York.

Boston Clock Co., Boston, Massachusetts. No. 4. A wall timepiece. 2457

The Boston Clock Company was organized by Joseph H. Eastman & James Gerry on May 29,1884. It was actually located in… read more

Boston Clock Co., Boston, Massachusetts. No. 558. Wall clock. SS153

The Boston Clock Company was organized by Joseph H. Eastman & James Gerry on May 29,1884. It was actually located in… read more

Boston Clock Co., Boston, Massachusetts. Wall clock. No. 558.

This is a very popular form having a circular wooden bezel and a long drop underneath it. Many other clock companies… read more

Boston Clock Company of Boston, Massachusetts. Crystal regulator mantel clock. 213139

213139 The Boston Clock Company was organized by Joseph H. Eastman & James Gerry on May 29,1884. It was actually located… read more

Boston Clock Company, "DELPHUS." A crystal regulator. 213138

The “Delphus” is arguably their prettiest model. It measures approximately 10.5 inches tall, 7.5 inches wide across the base and 5.75… read more

John Boyd of Sadsburyville, Chester County, Pennsylvania.

John Boyd was born in 1805. It appears he inherited the duties of running the family farm and Tavern in 1827 when his father, Machael Wallace Boyd, died on November 8th. There he established his clockshop. In 1857 he married Sarah Armstrong from the village of Compass which was located nearby. A large land owner, the 1830 tax records record that he own 90 acres at that time. He died on April 26, 1867. He left his property to his wife and children.

John Boyd of Black Horse Farm in Sadsburyville, Chester County, Pennsylvania.

This clock was made by John Boyd clockmaker and watchmaker of Black Horse Farm in Sadsburyville, Chester County, Pennsylvania circa 1830.… read more

Oliver Brackett of Vassalboro, Maine.

Oliver Brackett was born in Limington, Maine on June 18, 1800. He was the son of Rueben and Jane (McArthur) Brackett and the younger brother of Reuben. Rueben was also a clockmaker. The Bracketts are members of a very important Maine family of American Clockmakers. They were trained in what has become the Rogers school. They were Quakers that lived in the Berwick area and built a fair number of clocks as a group. Paul Rogers, born in 1752 is thought to have trained his son Abner 1777 -1809), John Taber (1796-1859), Rueben and Oliver, and Humphrey Pike (1808-1864) all come from this school. Most of these men were Quakes or more correctly below the the Society of Friends. This is a Quaker Sect known for their independence and devotion to hard work. Oliver moved to the town of Vassalboro shortly before 1820 and is listed as a clockmaker. Vassalboro is located approximately 15 miles North Augusta on the Kennebec River. He and Rueben moved to Lynn, Massachusetts to work in the rubber works. In 1832, Oliver married Mary Chase Purinton of that town. Soon he moved to Transit, Ohio and died there on April 18, 1869.

Oliver is known to have made wall timepieces or banjo clocks and shelf clocks.

Oliver Brackett of Vassalboro, Maine. A dwarf clock measuring a mere 29 inches tall.

This fine example can be categorized as a dwarf shelf clock. The simply constructed case is cherry and retains its original… read more

Bradley & Hubbard Manufacturing Company of Meriden, Connecticut.

The Bradley & Hubbard Manufacturing Company was located in Meriden, Connecticut. Today the Bradley & Hubbard firm is better known in most circles for making cast iron items such as figural doorstops and small banks. This clock represents a smaller market where they made figural clock cases and fit them internally with thirty hour movements. The eye openings where fitted with painted eyes that moved up and down with the motion of the balance. Hence the trade name or category, “Blinkers” or “Winkers.” The Bradley & Hubbard firm made a number of different case styles. Some of the more common examples or figures found in today’s marketplace include John Bull, The Continental and Topsy. Many of these case forms were colorfully paint decorated. Very few survive in great condition.

Bradley & Hubbard of Meriden, Connecticut. A winking lion shelf clock.

This can be a hard case form to find. The case is cast in iron and is done so in good… read more

Adam Brant of New Hanover, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.

Adam Brant’s birth date is not currently known. It is recorded that he arrived in Montgomery County in 1763 when he purchased a 22 acre farm in New Hanover Township. This farm was located on the road between Philadelphia and Reading. This deed descibed him as a clock and watchmaker. Many tall case clocks have been found to date. His work sugests that he practiced the German school of clockmaking. His clocks are robustly made. We know that he was married to an Abigail. They had children and Adam trained two grandchildren as clockmakers. In 1800, Adam changed his occupation from clockmaker to farmer. He died in 1804. For a more a complete listing of this maker, please read Clockmakers of Montgomery County 1740-1850, written by Bruce Ross Foreman.

Gawen Brown of Boston, Massachusetts.

Gawen Brown was born in England in 1719 and died in Boston at the age of 82 in 1801. It is recorded that he came to this country sometime before 1749. It is in that year, on February 6th, that he advertised in The Boston Evening Post that he was a “…Clock and Watchmaker lately from London, Keeps his shop at Me. Johnson’s Japanner, in Brattle Street, Boston, near Mr. Copper’s Meeting House, where he makes and sells all sorts of plain, repeating and Astronomical Clocks, with cases plain, black walnut, mahogany or Japann’d or with out.” During his lifetime, much was written about his making and installing a tower clock at the Old South Church in Boston. The Old South Church was erected in 1730 without a clock. Brown installed his clock sometime between 1768 and 1770. Between the period of 1752 and 1760, Brown moved his shop and home several times. He married three times and had a total of twelve children. On April 5, 1750, Brown married Mary Flagg. Together they had six children before she died in 1760. She was only 31 years old. His second wife, Elizabeth Byles, was the daughter of Mather Byles. Mather was a famous clergyman who presided over the Hollis Street Church. Elizabeth lived only three more years and had no children. She died in 1763. In 1764, Brown married Elizabeth Hill Adams. Elizabeth was the widow of Dr. Joseph Adams who was the brother of Samuel Adams. Elizabeth bore him six more children. Based on a number of newspaper advertisements, Brown imported a number of English clocks and watches from England. During the period of 1789 through 1796, Brown is listed in the business directories as a watchmaker.

Gawen Brown has been often referred to as “The Tory Clockmaker.” This title implies that he was loyal to the King of England. In fact, an article written in magazine Antiques in January of 1929 suggests that Brown left the Colonies and returned to England during the Revolution. This simple cannot be true due to the fact that he had an extensive military career. Brown first enlisted in the Independent Company of Cadets on December 7, 1776. The Cadets were an independent organization and accordingly, it was possible for one to hold an official rank with them as well as with another military company at the same time. He served as a Corporal in the Rhode Island Expedition from April 15, 1777 to May 5, 1777. In April of this same year, he was appointed the rank of Captain in a Continental Regiment lead by Colonel Henry Jackson. He resigned form this on October 23, 1778. In 1779 he was made Brigade Major of the Penobscot Expedition. This tenure lasted from July 2, 1779 to October 8, 1779. Brown left military service in 1781. At that time, he held the rank of Lieutenant Colonel.

Very few Clockmakers live and worked in the states during this early time period. Pre-Revolutionary clocks made in this country are quite rare and very few exist. The majority of clocks that would have been available would have been from English sources.

A portrait of him is reportable owned by The A. W. Mellon Educational Charitable Trust. Reproductions of which proudly hang in the Old South Church and in the Cadet Armory.

Gawen Brown of Boston, Massachusetts. Tall case clock.

This is a very rare mahogany case tall clock made by Gawen Brown of Boston, Massachusetts. This case sits flat to… read more

Gawen Brown of Boston, Massachusetts. A pre-revolutionary tall case clock. T-26.

This is a very rare and important mahogany case tall clock made by Gawen Brown of Boston, Massachusetts. This movement is… read more

Jonathan Clark Brown of Forestville, Connecticut

Jonathan Clark Brown was born in Coventry, Connecticut on October 8, 1807 the son of Jonathan Clark and Sophia (Bingham) Brown. He came to Bristol in 1832. He was a case maker or joiner and over his life time was involved in many firms including The Forestville Manufacturing Co. and the Bristol Clock Co. He was an instrumental and very influential figure and developing the Connecticut clock industry. An innovator, he was responsible for the case design of the very collectible “Acorn” clock as well the octagon case with rounded corners and other interesting case designs. As a clockmaker, he experienced many financial setbacks in Bristol. He left Bristol broke in 1858 and moved to Nyack, New York. He died there in 1872.

For a more in depth over view of his life, please read Kenneth D. Roberts and Snowden Taylor’s book, Jonathan Clark Brown and the Forestville Manufacturing Company.

J.C. Brown of Forestville, CT. Acorn shelf clock. This is the smaller of the shelf models. -Rare- TT150

There are at least three different forms that share the “Acorn” model name. All of these have variations in case designs.… read more

Daniel Burnap of East Windsor, Connecticut.

Daniel Burnap was the son of Captain Abraham and Susan (Wright) Burnap. He was born in Coventry, Connecticut on November 1, 1759. In 1774, he is listed as an apprentice of Thomas Harland’s. Harland was a very talented English born clockmaker who settled in Norwich in 1773. It is thought that here, he learned not only the skill of clockmaking but also engraving, silversmithing, watch repairing and other related skills. As a journeyman, Burnap settled in the town of East Windsor sometime before 1779. By 1805, he built the homestead which he continued to occupy during the remainder of his life. It is in this town that he was most active making clocks and training apprentices of his own. This includes one of Connecticut’s most famous clockmakers, Eli Terry. Other apprentices that are thought to have trained under Burnap include Daniel Kellogg, Harvey Sadd, Abel Bliss, Lewis Curtis, Nathaniel Olmsted, Levi Pitkin, Flavel Bingham, Ela Burnap and Thomas Lyman. Daniel was an active and respected citizen. He was for many years a Justice of the Peace and held court in a spacious room on the first floor of this house. In his latter years, probably before 1815, he gave up his shop and fitted up a room in the attic of the house where he could keep busy at the less arduous kinds of work such as engraving and repairing watches. He died in 1838 at the age of seventy-eight, a prosperous and respected citizen.

Daniel Burnap of East Windsor, Connecticut Musical tall clock. Case attributed to Elipalet Chapin or Simeon Loomis.

This is a very important Chippendale cherry case tall clock. The engraved sheet brass dial is signed by the clockmaker Daniel… read more

Daniel Burnap of East Windsor, Connecticut. A cherry case tall clock.

This important cherry case tall clock has a engraved dial signed by the clockmaker Daniel Burnap of East Windsor, Connecticut. Interestingly,… read more

Daniel Burnap of East Windsor, Connecticut. A cherry case tall clock. RR33

This important cherry case tall clock was made by Daniel Burnap of East Windsor, Connecticut. This fine cherry case retains an… read more

Daniel Burnap of East Windsor, Connecticut. An important tall case clock.

This is an important cherry case tall clock made by Daniel Burnap of East Windsor, Connecticut. This is a very unusual… read more

Enoch Burnham of Paris and Westbrook, Maine.

It is not currently known where Enoch Burnham was born. It is now assumed that he was born in the Paris area sometime around 1770. The town or village of Paris is located approximately 50 miles northwest of Portland in Oxford County. It is the county seat. It is a charming village having wonderful views of both Mt. Chocorua and Mt. Washington. Both mountians are located in New Hampshire’s White Mountains. The town of Paris is known for its excellent pastures and its orchards have thrived for years. The region also benefits from having access to the Little Androscoggin River which provided water power for the industrious minded. Enoch Burnham was well established as a clockmaker and land speculator in Paris prior to 1800. It is recorded that Burnham owned a considerable amount of land in this small farming community. He also trained Jonathan Bemis as one of his apprentices. Burnham is later recorded as living in Westbrook, Maine in the 1820’s until his death sometime before 1850.

Very few clocks by Burnham are known. Examples of signed Burnham clocks are difficult to come by. Most of the tall case clocks reported are signed on the dial. The place location is almost alway listed as Paris. A single Westbrook example is known. For a more complete listing of these Makers, please review “Clockmakers & Clockmaking in Maine 1770 – 1900,” written by Joseph R. Katra Jr.

Enoch Burnham of Paris, Maine. A mahogany cased tall clock. AAA16

The form of this case is common to the New England region. The case exhibits excellent narrow proportions. This fine example… read more

Enoch Burnham of Paris, Maine. A Maine made tall case clock in its original red wash. UU55.

The style or form of this case is common to New England. This case is constructed in birch and has the… read more

James Emmett Caldwell of Philadelphia, PA.

James Emmett Caldwell was trained in the silver trade and worked in it as early as 1839 on his own. From about 1860, the J. E. Caldwell & Co. focused on being retailer of silver rather than a manufacturer. Soon this company became one of the major jewelry and silver retailers in Philadelphia. James E. Caldwell himself ran the business until he died in 1881. He was succeeded by his son, J. Albert Caldwell who ran it until his death in 1914. At that time he was succeeded by his son J. Emmett Caldwell.

Joseph Carpenter. a silversmith, pewterer and clockmaker. Norwich, Connecticut.

Joseph Carpenter was born in Woodstock, Connecticut on July 4, 1747. His Parents were Joesph Carpenter (b 1715 – d 1749) and Elizabeth Lathrop (b 4/05/1724 – d 12/26/1817 at the age of 93.) Elizabeth remarried Joseph Peck (b 11/14/1706 – d 9/06/1776 )of Norwich on December 22, 1754. It is logical to assume that Joseph moved to Norwich when his mother remarried. He would have been just 7 years old. It is suggested in several horological listings that Joesph may have been trained as a clockmaker somewhere in Massachusetts. We know that he had family in Rehoboth. This may be a possible lead. It is recorded that Joseph moved back into Norwich in 1768 when he was 21 and worked in his stepfather’s shop as a silversmith. In 1772, he is recorded as purchasing various construction materials consistent with those needed to construct a building on land he rented from the church. This was located at 71 East Town Street on the Norwich town green. His shop was to occupy one half of the building. His brother, Gardner operated a mercantile business in the other half. In 1775, Joseph built a house for himself next door. He also married Eunice Fitch of Norwich on 29 June 1775. They were married in Woodstock. Together, they had 6 children. Joseph became an accomplished engraver, silversmith and pewterer. He trained several apprentices including Roswell Huntington, Rufus Farnam, Henry Farnam and his own son Charles Augustus Carpenter. Joseph advertised on three occasions that he wish to employ an apprentice at clockmaking. These ads were placed in the years 1775, 1789 and 1790. Joseph died in 1804 and at the time, was considered to be one of the most successful of the Norwich silversmiths, clockmakers and pewterers. When he passed, his appraisal listed amoung other items was “1 chime clock movement, face partly done.” Also a total of 4 clock cases. Carpenter’s shop is still standing on East Town Street on the Norwich town green. The shop was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 6, 1970. Very few clocks are know.

Joseph Carpenter, Norwich, Connecticut. A fine Chippendale cherry cased tall clock. This case is attributed to the Norwich cabinetmaker Felix Huntington. ZZ35.

This is a fine cherry case tall clock with silvered brass dial signed by the Norwich, Connecticut clockmaker Joseph Carpenter. This… read more

James Cary of Brunswick, Maine. Clockmaker, gunsmith, goldsmith and silversmith.

James Cary Sr and his wife moved to Brunswick, Maine from Boston, MA, shortly after the American Revolutionary War. They lived in a house that was located on the corner of Main and Mason Streets. James Senior was the town’s first gunsmith. James Cary Jr. was born in Brunswick, Maine on July 22, 1790. He is listed in the horological records as serving an apprenticeship under Robert Eastman. It is recorded that a Robert Eastman established a clock business in Brunswick, Maine in 1805. In 1806, Eastman moved South to Brunswick and the two formed a partnership which lasted approximately three years. It is interesting to note that Cary had only received a years training. He must have been very skilled before he trained with Eastman. Perhaps he worked with his father the gunsmith. James bought out his partner and by 1810 was making clocks under his own name at the location his parents purchased when moving to that town. James Cary’s business prospered. On July 16, 1816, he married Mary Oakman of Pittson, Maine. Ten years later they built a house at 11 Federal Street. James jr. trained Aaron l. Dennison who later moved to Boston and worked with Edward Howard. Dennison and Howard invented machines that standardize the production of gears in order to manufacture pocket watches. James was one of Brunswick’s most prominent citizens serving the local community. He died on August 25, 1865 and is buried in the Pine Grove Cemetery. He was 75 years young.

We have owned a number of examples of clocks made by him. Examples include tall case, banjo, shelf clocks and mirror clocks. His clocks are highly prized today. Particularly by those customers with ties to the great state of Maine.

Eleazer Cary (Carey) Clockmaker, Goldsmith and Musician working in Norwich and Windham, Connecticut.

Eleazer Cary was born in Mansfield, Connecticut on December 14,1769 and died in Windham on November 20, 1820. He was the son of Nathaniel and Zervia (Storrs) Cary. It is not currently known who trained Eleazer as a clockmaker. It is possible that he trained as a clockmaker under the guidance of Jacob Sargeant since he is listed as working there. His probate record lists that Eleazer had a clock engine in his personal inventory at the time of his death. This is pretty strong evidence that Cary made clocks. His name is also listed in the account books of the Windham cabinetmaker Amos Dennison Allen and Pomfret’s cabinetmaker David Goodell as buying clock cases from both of them. Cary’s movements can be identified by a distinctively shaped movement post. It is design by using two tapered cones that support a compressed ball in the center. They are also embellished with a number of ring turnings. An engraved brass dial clock that is signed by Eleazer Cary is known. This clock features a movement that is constructed with this distinctive post design. Eleazer married Matilda Parish on November 23, 1791. He was also a highly skilled musician and was widely known as “Eleazer the Fiddler.” He began playing while living in Mansfield. He moved to Norwich about 1790 and then to Windham soon after.

Joseph Chadwick of Boscawen, New Hampshire. clockmaker, scalemaker, and musical instrument maker.

Joseph Chadwick was born on July 19, 1787 in Boscawen, New Hampshire. The Town of Boscawen is situated in Merrimack County. It is on the northern border of the Capital City Concord. Joseph’s father was Edmund Chadwick and his mother is Susanna (Atkinson) Chadwick. It is now currently thought that he may have trained as a clockmaker under the guidance of Timothy Chandler in Concord. He would have completed his apprenticeship about 1801. Joseph married three times. His first wife was Judith (aka Betsy) Morrill of Boscawen. Judith was the sister of clockmaker Benjamin Morrill, (b. 12/13/1792 – d. 3/12/1821). Joseph next married Eunice Bliss,, (b 3/19/1791) of Lebanon, NH. He married his third wife Mary Ann Merrill on 4/20/1851. Mary Ann, (b. 1/23/1800) was the daughter of the Bristol, NH Tanner John Merrill. Joseph died on January 16, 1868 in Boscawen.

Joseph is listed as a clock and watchmaker. The town history of Boscawen also suggests that he was a scalemaker and an instrument maker. He is said to have made melodeons and seraphones. Very few tall clocks are known. A birch and mahogany inlaid case is now in the collection of The New Hampshire Historical Society. This clock was given to them by Charles Parsons. Joseph is best known for making wall clocks. A fair number of New Hampshire mirror style clocks trade in the marketplace signifying that at one time, he had a healthy business providing them for the local community.

Abiel Chandler of Concord, New Hampshire.

Abiel Chandler was born in Concord, New Hampshire on April 2, 1807. He was one of twelve children born to Major Timothy Chandler and his wife Sarah Abbot. Abiel was the youngest son. Seven of Abiel’s brothers an sisters died at a young age and three became insane. It is thought that Abiel and his brother Timothy, were both trained by their father to be clockmakers and are listed as working with him in the 1820’s. In 1829, Abiel enters a partnership with his Father as “A. Chandler & Co.” It is also reported that in this year, he traveled to Boston to learn how to make Willard’s Patent Timepieces. Abiel died in Concord on April 22, 1881. He is listed in the records as a clockmaker, silversmith and a mathematical instrument maker. Several signed surveying instruments are have been recorded. Over the years, have owned and sold several shelf clocks, New Hampshire mirror wall clocks, lyre and patent timepieces signed by this Maker.

Abiel Chandler Lyre Timepiece. Concord, New Hampshire origin.

This is a fine example of a mahogany cased lyre form wall clock or timepiece made in Concord, New Hampshire by… read more

Timothy Chandler of Concord, New Hampshire.

Major Timothy Chandler was born on April 25th, 1762 in Rumford, Maine and died on July 22nd, 1848 in Concord, NH. He is the son of Timothy and Elizabeth (Copp) Chandler and was one of five chldren. It is not known who specifically taught him the art of clockmaking. It is known that he traveled to Pomfret, Connecticut in 1770-1783 to serve an apprenticeship to Jonathan Hale who was a wool card maker. It is speculated that Chandler may have also trained as a clockmaker with Peregrine White who was at work in nearby Woodstock. (Timothy named one of his sons Peregrine White Chandler.) Timothy moved back to Concord in 1791 and advertised tall clocks for sale. He was also appointed Sealer of Weights and Measures in Concord, NH. It is reported that in Novemeber of 1787, Timothy married Sarah Abbott of Concord. This suggests that he must have traveled back and forth to Concord form Pofret before he settled there. Together they had twelve children. In Concord, Timothy became a prolific clockmaker until his retirement in 1829. His ain competition being Levi and Abel Hutchins. Timothy was responsible for training several clockmakers including his sons, Timothy Jay, John Bradley and Abeil. He also trained Deacon Cyrus Eastman of Amherst, NH. Eastman served a seven year apprenticeship which ended about 1814. In 1797, he enlisted with the Minute Men and received the commission of Major in 1799. He also served as vice-president and then the president to the Merrimack Agricultural Society in the early 1800’s. In 1808, he was appointed the Surveyor of Highways in Concord. On the evening of August 17th, 1809, he suffered a fire that originated from his air furnace or forge in his clock manufactory. The manufactory, with all its contents, the house, the barn full of hay and two other hay barns were lost at a value of $5,000. Interestingly, the citizens of Concord raised $1,200 in order to help off set his losses and to rebuild. Chandler would rebuild, and continue his career as a clockmaker. In 1814, when Governor Gilman ordered the creation of local companies to defend the town in the event of attack, Chandler, now in his 50s, again volunteered to serve in the militia. In 1819, he served as Chairman of first “Lancastrian School.” In 1820, he and his son Timothy Jay formed a partnership as T. Chandler & Son. This lasted four years until T. Chandler & Co was formed in 1824 and lasted until 1828. This second company also included Timothy Jay. In 1825, Timothy Chandler was one of the nine officers of the newly formed New Hampshire Mutual Fire Insurance Company, one of New Hampshire’s earliest fire insurance providers. In 1827, he served as chairman of the group that organized the Unitarian Society. In 1829 through 1830 he joined his son Abeil under the firm name of A. Chandler & Co. After 1830, he worked alone and also served as President of Concord’s first Temperance Society, was Vice President of Concord Mechanics Association and One of 17 original trustees of N.H. Savings Bank. In 1834, he named 3 of Concord’s streets.

We have owned numerous examples of his work. These include tall clocks, timepieces, mirror clocks and shelf clocks. A fair number of silver items are also known.

Timothy Chandler of Concord, New Hampshire circa 1805. This tall clock is signed on the seat board with a die-stamp. LL153

The case is constructed woods found locally to the Concord, New Hampshire region. The primary wood is cherry and the secondary… read more

Timothy Chandler of Concord, New Hampshire. A tall case clock. 215027

This is a very good example of a popular case form made in Concord, New Hampshire circa 1795. This fine example… read more

Timothy Chandler's first clock. This tall clock is signed No. 1. and dated 1785.

This is a historically significant maple and tiger maple case tall clock made by Timothy Chandler of Concord, New Hampshire. The… read more

Chelsea Clock Company of Boston, Massachusetts.

The Chelsea Clock Company Board of Directors met for the first time on July 28, 1897. The Board consisted of Whipple N. Potter, Jr., President, Charles H. Pearson, Treasurer, Reginald Foster, Clerk and Secretary. Allen L. Shepherd served on the Board with the elected officers. This first group of individuals was not together long. The Chelsea firm persevered and has enjoyed a long run of success as a result of making clocks of superior manufacture. This company made many clocks. Some of which were in the style of the Willard timepiece or banjo clock, the E. Howard Model No., 70 and more famously, marine clocks. This company remains in business today.

A twelve inch Chelsea Ship's Bell. Chelsea Clock Co., Chelsea, Massachusetts.

This is a ships clock. This example is in very good original condition. This case is brass and is quite heavy.… read more

Chelsea Clock Company No. 1 Pendulum. Weight driven wall clock.

The Chelsea Clock Company Board of Directors met for the first time on July 28, 1897. The Board consisted of Whipple… read more

Timemaster. Chelsea Clock Company. Boston, MA. With sweep seconds hand. 220036

This Marine clock features a heavy bronze case that features a polished nickle (chromium plate) finish. The case measures approximately 10… read more

Benjamin Cheney of East Hartford and Berlin, Connecticut.

Benjamin Cheney was born on September 8, 1725 in East Hartford, Connecticut. His parents were Benjamin, who was originally from Newbury, MA and Elizabeth (Long) Cheney. They had three children. Benjamin was the oldest. It is thought that he served his apprenticeship, beginning about 1739 under the guidance of Seth Youngs in Hartford. Benjamin owned his own shop in Hartford in about 1745 where he made both brass and wooden geared clocks. It appears that he may have been the first clockmaker in America to make wooden geared movements. It is thought that he made far more wooden geared examples than the brass made clocks. His wooden made movements are very distinctive in that they are robustly made and oversized by comparison to other makers. Benjamin trained a number of clockmakers including his younger brother Timothy (b.1731 — d.1795) and John Fitch (b.1758 — d.1808). He also trained four of his sons, Ashel (b. 1759 — d.?), Elisha (b.1770 — d.1747), Martin (b.1778 — d.1855) and Russell (b.1772 — d.?). His most famous apprentice was Benjamin Willard of Grafton, MA (b.1743 — d.1844). Benjamin Cheney died on May 15th, 1815 at the age of 90. He is buried in Berlin, CT where he finished his life living with his son Elisha. Elisha’s home was located at he top of the hill, south of Bowers Corners. Benjamin worked there in the shop until he became enfeebled in body and mind. A single stone in the graveyard east of the Jarvis farm marks both Benjamin’s and his wife’s Deborah Olcott ( b.1738 — d.November 3, 1817) resting place.

Benjamin Cheney of Hartford, Connecticut. An 8-day brass movement tall clock. Timothy and Samuel Loomis cabinetmakers working in Windsor. 29004

This very unusual cherry case form retains an older finish. It is closely related to a group of cases that are… read more

Asahel Cheney of Hartford, Connecticut, Northfield, Massachusetts, Putney and Royalton, Vermont.

Asahel Cheney was born about 1767 in East Hartford, Connecticut and died in Royalton Vermont on October 31, 1819. He was the oldest son of the Hartford clockmaker Benjamin Cheney and Deborah Olcott. Many examples of Benjamin’s work have been recorded. A large number of which have movement constructed of heavy wooden gearing. Asahel and his two brothers Martin and Russell were most likely trained by their father. By 1790, Asahel had moved to Northfield, Massachusetts and was a property owner there. He lived in what is now known as the Joseph Byrt house. Here he continued to manufacture mostly tall case clocks. We have owned several signed Northfield examples over the years featuring both wooden and brass constructed movements. I fine example signed “Northfield” can be found in the Mabel Brady Garvin Collection at Yale University.

By the mid 1790’s, Asahel moved to Windham County Vermont to the town of Putney. A shelf clock which is now in the collection of the Henry Ford Museum is signed on the engraved brass kidney shaped dial, “Asahel Cheney / Putney.” It is from this clock that we speculate that Asahel trained his brother Martin in the clockmaking trade. On the seat board of this clock it is inscribed, “This clock was made by Martin Cheney.”

Soon after 1800, the brothers parted company. In 1806, Asahel moves to Royalton, VT and purchases a store with a Mr Fessenden. He sells out his share and moves to Rochester only to return to Royalton. In November of 1809, his name is listed in a land transaction in the town of Royalton, Vermont. He purchased a shop and some land located near the Hotel from David Waller. In Royalton, he is reported to have had the clockmaker Jacob Kimball working with him.In 1818, he purchases the Gilbert Tavern. He died suddenly of apoplexy. He had a Masonic Funeral.

Asahel Cheney of Hartford, Connecticut, Northfield, Massachusetts Putney, Windsor and Royalton, Vermont. This is a Northfield, Massachusetts example. The case is attributed to the Northampton cabinet-maker Julius Barnard. DD160.

This fine cherry case tall clock is well proportioned. The finish is currently quite light making this example stand out in… read more

Asahel Cheney of Hartford, Connecticut, Northfield, Massachusetts Putney, Windsor and Royalton, Vermont. A cherry case tall clock.  -SOLD-

This is a signed Putney, Vermont Example. This fine cherry case tall clock is well proportioned. It stands on nicely formed… read more

Martin Cheney of East Hartford, Connecticut, Windsor, Vermont and Montreal, Canada.

In 1778, Martin Cheney was born into a well known and established clockmaking family. He was one of four clockmakers born to Benjamin Cheney 1725-1815 and Deborah (Olcott) Cheney in East Hartford, Connecticut. Benjamin most likely trained four of his boys in the art of clockmaking. Asahel was the oldest and was born in 1759. He moves on into Vermont. Elisha was born in 1770 and died in 1847. He settled in Berlin, Connecticut. Russell was younger. It appears he moved North to Putney, Vermont. Martin also had an uncle Timothy 1731-1795. He becomes a well known clockmaker in East Hartford and worked closely with his brother Benjamin.

By 1803, Martin moved up the Connecticut river to Windsor, Vermont. On December 3rd, he married Fanny Patrick of Windsor. In 1804, he advertises that he has for sale fine English Watches, watch keys, chains and seals. I fine musical tall clock is known that is signed with the place location of Windsor. Five years later, Martin moves to Montreal in 1809. Here he remained for some twenty years. In 1827, Martin places an advertisement in Burlington, Vermont newspaper for a journeyman clockmaker to work with him in Montreal. In 1817 he forms a partnership with J. A. Dwight and advertised this business as Cheney & Dwight.

Several clocks have been recorded by this Maker. Pictured in “The Best the Country Affords: Vermont Furniture 1765 – 1850” is a signed brass dial tall clock by Asahel Cheney. On the seat boat of the clock it is written, “This clock made by Martin Cheney.” This implies that the two work with it other on occasion. There is also a Massachusetts Shelf clock form with an engraved kidney style brass dial in the Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village. This clock is signed by “Martin Cheney Windsor.” This clock has a strong Boston influence.

Martin Cheney while working in Windsor, Vermont. An inlaid cherry case tall clock.

This is a wonderful inlaid cherry case tall clock. The painted dial is signed by the Windsor, Vermont clockmaker Martin Cheney.… read more

Martin Cheney Windsor, Vermont. Number 18. Clockmaker & Silversmith. A tall case clock. 25206

This is a wonderful inlaid mahogany case. The painted dial is signed by the “Windsor, Vermont” clockmaker “Martin Cheney.” This example… read more

Timothy Cheney of East Hartford and Manchester, Connecticut. Clockmaker, blacksmith, silversmith joiner, farmer, gristmill operator and soldier.

Timothy Cheney was born on May 10, 1731 in East Hartford, CT. His parents were Benjamin Cheney (1699 — about 1760) and Elizabeth (Long) Cheney (b.1769 — d.1759). He was the brother of Benjamin Cheney (1725-1815) also of East Hartford, Connecticut. They become well known clockmakers in East Hartford. Benjamin deeded his house to Timothy in 1757. This property would have been located at 175 East Center Street near the center of what would become the town of Manchester in 1823. This house was torn down in the 1960’s. Timothy was also a farmer, gristmill operator, soldier in the local militia, and a captain of the militia during the Revolutionary War. He trained at least two apprentices. John Fitch worked in 1761-1764 and Daniel Griswold in 1782. In 1785, Timothy built and moved to the “Cheney Homestead,” on today’s Hartford Road. Timothy worked in Manchester in 1790-1795. He died there on September 27, 1795.

John Child (Childs) a Philadelphia, Pennsylvania clock and watchmaker

John Child (Childs) (1789-1876) appears in the Philadelphia directories from 1813 through 1847 as a clock and watch-maker. His shop was located at 452 North Second Street. He was a Quaker and made four clocks of note. A bracket clock is known and in the collection of the Henry Ford Museum. Very few American clockmakers made the bracket clock form. A musical tall clock is known with the movement being stamped by Child indicating that he was the Maker. The third clock was built for the Senate Hall in Washington, DC. This clock he made to represent the state of Ohio. The fourth clock was made for the Library Company of Philadelphia in 1935 at a cost of $125.

John Child (Childs), Philadelphia. A walnut case tall clock with lunar calendar dial. Grandfather clock.

This is a very nice example of walnut tall case clock. The walnut has been wonderfully refinished and has taken a… read more

William Claggett of Newport, Rhode Island.

William Claggett is included in Patrick T. Conley’s book, Rhode Island’s Founders from Settlement to Statehood. Conley’s book, written in 2010, lists 57 names of the most historically important members of the State of Rhode Island. Claggett is the only clockmaker to be included.

William Claggett was a clockmaker, watchmaker, compass maker, organ builder engraver, printer, lecturer, author and scientist.

William Claggett is considered one of America’s earliest clockmakers. He is thought to have been born in Wales in 1696. He came to the Colonies, first to Boston sometime before 1714. Here he married by Cotton Mather to Mary Armstrong on Oct. 21, 1714. She was the daughter of Mathew and Margaret Armstrong. Their marriage record exists. In 1715, he placed his first advertisement which he identified himself as a “Clock-Maker near the Town-House.” By 1716, he had moved to, and settled in Newport, Rhode Island until his death in 1749. Here he was admitted as a Freeman. His original house still stands and is located at 16 Bridge Street. This is not true of his shop which was located to the west of the Brick Market. This building was demolished after his death in order to make access to Long Wharf. His neighbors included the brothers Job I and Christopher Townsend both of whom were cabinetmakers. It appears Mary died some time around 1727. William then married his second wife Rebecca and she was named in his will. It should also be mentioned that William had at least five children. His son Thomas, born in 1730 and died in 1767, was also a clockmaker. William’s daughter Mary married James Wady of Newport. James Wady was also a clockmaker. Two other daughters, Hannah Threadkill and Elizabeth Claggett and a son Caleb are mentioned in his will.

William was civic minded and was a member of the 7th Day Baptist Congregation as well as a founding member of Newport’s local fire company. He kept close ties to Boston and we also know that he had other interests. He was a talented engraver. So much so that he printed paper money for the state of Rhode Island in 1738. He was a merchant, as well as an author. He manufactured musical instruments, and was a dabbler in science and electricity. In 1746, he put on a public demonstration of electricity that was generated by a machine he made. He performed a similar demonstration in Boston the following year. Interestingly, the monies generated from these exhibitions were given to charity. It is also thought he introduced Benjamin Franklin to this science. Certainly, he had a first rate mind.

Examples of his work demonstrate his ability to make high quality clocks. Today, very few examples are known. It is well documented that he built the original tower clock for the Trinity Church. The Redwood Library & Athenaeum in Newport is the oldest lending library in America. It has an example of a tall clock that was donated to them in 1948 by Bishop Samuel Babcock who was a descendant of the original owner, the Staton family. This clock was thought to have been made in 1723. A second clock, a wall clock made circa 1732, is at the 7th Day Baptist Meeting House. This clock is thought to have been the earliest wall clock made in America.

Newport, Rhode Island's most famous Clockmaker, William Claggett. A block and shell tall case clock. SS16

A most rare Queen Anne Block and Shell tall case clock made by William Claggett of Newport, Rhode Island. This handsome… read more

George Coggeshall of Bristol, Rhode Island.

George Coggeshall of Bristol, Rhode Island. George was born in 1786 and is listed as working in Bristol circa 1807. In the 1820’s, he appears in Wilmington, North Carolina and then in New York City in the 1830’s. By 1836, he is listed in Grand Rapids, Michigan as a clock and watchmaker.

George Coggeshall of Bristol, Rhode Island. "WARRANTED FOR DR. THOMAS NELSON / 1811."

This clock was made for Dr. Thomas Nelson. He is an interesting character. According to the Vital Records of Rhode Island… read more

James Cole of Rochester, New Hampshire.

James Charles Cole was born in Boston in 1791 and died in Rochester, NH in 1867. At an early age, James traveled from Boston to Rochester to learn the trade of clockmaking with Edward S. Moulton. Moulton is listed as moving from Rochester to Saco, Maine in 1813. In Rochester, James married Betsey Nutter, daughter of John D. Nutter and Hannah Dennett. Betsey Nutter was born on 27 Mar 1802 in Barnstead, NH. Her younger brother John learned clockmaking in Rochester as well. James father two sons and three daughters and became a prominent citizen. As well as manufacturing many clocks, James was an active silversmith and repaired watches and jewelry. He was very active in town affairs serving on a committee to build a new church, he was a trustee of a local savings bank, he served a ten year term as the secretary to the Masonic lodge, he served 13 years as town clerk and two years in the State legislature. We have owned numerous examples of tall case clocks, banjo clocks and New Hampshire mirror clocks with his signature on the dial. Based on the large numbers we have seen and owned, James Cole must have been a successful clockmaker.

Mr. & Mrs. James C. Cole

These photographs were found secured to the backboard a tall case clock made by James C. Cole. read more

James Collins of Goffstown, New Hampshire.

James Collins is known to be buried in Wolcottville, Indiana. His gravestone is still located there and gives his birth date of August 8th, 1801 and lists his death on December 8th, 1882. James Collins and Bigail (Hale) collins was born in Goffstown, New Hampshire the son of Stephen Collins, James married Lucy Knight of Hancock, New Hampshire. Lucy was a daughter of the Clockmaker Elijah Knight. It is thought that James received some clock training from him. It is also reported that Collins traveled to Ashby, Massachusetts and to Providence, Rhode Island from time to time. One could speculate that he traveled to these towns on clock related business. The town of Ashby was very small and did not have much to offer as a destination other than an interest in the Edward’s and Willard brother’s school of wooden works clock production of tall clocks. In Goffstown, Collins is listed as a “Husbandman, Yeoman, Silversmith, Jeweler, Watchmaker and Clock and Watchmaker in various towns deeds over the years. It appears that Collins left Goffstown in the mid 1840’s after Lucy’s death in 1844. From here he moved to Illinois, possibly Michigan and then to Fort Wayne, Indiana. Very few clocks have been found. We have owned at least three different forms. They include this tall clock, a New Hampshire Mirror clock and recently a full striking banjo clock. The New Hampshire Historical Society has an example of his work in their collection. Charles Parsons, the author of “New Hampshire Clocks & Clockmakers” actually lived in Collins house for a number years.

James Collins of Goffstown, New Hampshire.

This is a rare New Hampshire striking banjo clock made by James Collins of Goffstown, New Hampshire. Full striking banjo clocks… read more

William Crane of Canton and Stoughton, Massachusetts.

Clockmaker, watchmaker, gunsmith and brass founder.

William Crane was born in Stoughton, Massachusetts on August 12, 1749 and died there on May 8, 1820. In about 1780, William moved to Canton, MA on Packeen Road now Dedham Street and and worked as a clockmaker, gunsmith and brass founder. He had at least four children. His son Simeon (1774-1821) was also a clockmaker. Two of William’s daughters married the clockmaking brothers Henry and Elijah Morse. In 1808, Hannah Crane married Elijah Morse and Lucy Crane married Henry Morse Jr in 1809. The Morse brothers are thought to have apprenticed to Crane. In 1810, William’s son Simeon may have been in business with his father in Canton.

A fine and rare Federal mahogany and rosewood cross-banded tall case clock by William Crane, Canton, Mass, circa 1815. XXSL-33.

This is a handsome clock case. The case is nicely proportioned and was produced for the very Canton, Massachusetts clockmaker William… read more

William Crane, Boston, Mass. A Fine mahogany cased wall timepiece made circa 1820. 221058

This handsome timepiece is more commonly called a “Banjo” clock. This is a latter version of the form. It features a… read more

William Crawford of Oakham, Massachusetts.

William Crawford was born in Rutland, Massachusetts on October 23, 1745. It is reported that he moved to Oakham in 1750 at the age of five. His father Alexander, was one of the founders of this town. William and his brother John were both soldiers of the Revolution and eventually made the rank of Captain. A letter written in 1934 by the Town Clerk of Oakham, the clockmaker “marched as Sergeant of the Oakham Company, when it responded to the alarm of July 23, 1773, from Rhode Island, and also Sergeant on the alarm of Aug 20 1777, from Bennington. He has also credit for a campaign to Boston, beginning April 1, 1778.” William married Mary Henderson in 1773 and fathered 11 children. He lived the rest of his life in Oakham and died there on June 30, 1833. He was 87 years old. His house is still standing today. Reportedly, with the “Clock room” still intact.

Oakham is still a very small town located in central Massachusetts. It is just North of the town of Spencer and to the West of the town of Rutland. Oakham was Incorporated in 1762. Originally it was called “Rutland West Wing.” Some of its first settlers are reported as coming from Oakham, England and hence took the name. Very little information is listed regarding this Maker. Several other tall clocks have been found. We have owned at least two other examples and have seen two examples sold at public auction. In addition, their are at least two on public display. One is in the collection at Old Sturbridge Village in Sturbridge, Massachusetts. Another composite brass dial example can be found in the Massachusetts Room at the Daughters of the American Revolution Museum located in our Nations Capital, Washington, DC. It seems that many of Crawford’s existing clocks are designed in a somewhat diminutive scale.

William Crawford of Oakham, Massachusetts. This is a diminutive sized tall case clock. RR59.

This very good example stands a mere 7 feet 4 inches tall to the top of the center finial and exhibits… read more

Thomas Crow of Wilmington, Delaware.

Thomas Crow was the son of George Crow who was also a Wilmington, Delaware clockmaker. Thomas appears to have been involved in clockmaking as early as 1770. He becomes one of Delaware’s most prolific and best known clockmakers. He is recorded to have served the public in several local government positions. In 1805, he moves through Philadelphia and later to West Chester, Pennsylvania during the period 1808 to 1810. One can find examples of his work in the collections of Winterthur Museum and the Briggs Museum of Art.

Thomas Crow of Wilmington, Delaware. John Erwin cabinetmaker. Tall clock. LL115.

This is a very fine clock made by Thomas Crow of Wilmington, Delaware. The case is attributed to John Erwin. This… read more

Thomas Crow of Wilmington, Delaware. Tall case clock.

This handsome walnut case tall clock was made by Thomas Crow of Wilmington, Delaware. This clock was made circa 1790 and… read more

William Cummens of Roxbury, Massachusetts.

William Cummens was born 1768 and died on April 20, 1834 at the age of 66. He worked in Roxbury as a clockmaker as early as 1789 through 1834. He was trained by Simon Willard and along with Elnathan Taber, Cummens stayed in Roxbury and made many clocks for his own clients while maintaining a close working relationship with the Willard family. In this Roxbury location, Cummens had direct access to the same suppliers, such case makers and dial painters that the Willards used. As a result, his clocks are very similar in form. He was one of the first persons authorized by Simon Willard to manufacture the new patent timepiece. Over the past 45 plus years in business, we have owned and sold many tall case clocks, Massachusetts shelf clocks and wall timepieces signed by this important clockmaker. Very few tall case examples are found with his original set up label.

An inlaid mahogany case tall clock made by William Cummens of Roxbury, Massachusetts. 28122

This is a fine inlaid mahogany case tall clock exhibiting excellent proportions and a painted dial signed by the Roxbury, Massachusetts… read more

William Cummens Label

This is a photograph of a William Cummens set up label. Traditionally, these are pasted to the back of the waist… read more

William Cummens of Roxbury, Massachusetts

This is a fine mahogany case timepiece having gilded frames was made by William Cummens of Roxbury, Massachusetts. The top of… read more

William Cummens of Roxbury, Massachusetts. A wall timepiece or banjo clock.  -SOLD-

This outstanding example is in wonderful original condition. The case is constructed in mahogany and appears to retain it’s original finish.… read more

William Cummens of Roxbury, Massachusetts. Automated rocking ship tall clock dial of Boston origin. -SOLD-

This is an outstanding case. It features line inlays, crossbanding and highly figured mahogany veneers. This tall case exhibits excellent proportions,… read more

William Cummens of Roxbury, Massachusetts. Spencer Nolen Dial number 17. Automated rocking ship dial. Tall case clock.

This is a fine inlaid mahogany case tall clock exhibiting excellent proportions and a painted rocking ship dial that is signed… read more

William Cummens. A clockmaker working in Roxbury, Massachusetts. An inlaid mahogany tall case clock with exceptional (Super model type) proportions. OO2

This is a nice and tall and very narrow example. It has traditional Roxbury proportions and construction characteristics. The case is… read more

Edmund Currier of Hopkinton, New Hampshire and Salem, Massachusetts.

Edmund Currier was born the son of a Doctor on May 4, 1793 in Hopkinton, New Hampshire. He lived until the age of 60 years young and died in Salem, Massachusetts on May 17, 1853. His first shop was located in Hopkinton. This shop was previously owned by Philip Brown who was also a clockmaker. As a result, it is thought that Brown may have trained Edmund in the clockmaking trade. There is also some evidence that suggests that he worked for a short period of time with either the Hutchins brothers or Timothy Chandler in Concord. Interestingly, Edmund’s account books for the period which he worked in Hopkinton have survived. Today, this book is located in the New Hampshire Philomatic and Antiquarian Society of Hopkinton. This account book provides us with a synopsis of the businesses he conducted there. He lists manufacturing and repairing items such as spectacles, cutlery, tablewares and jewelry. He did locksmith work, gunsmith repairs and manufactured instruments for doctors. He dealt in musical instruments. His brother Ebenezer was a piano maker. Edmund manufactured and repaired tools, wagons, sleighs and harness. He was also a fine clockmaker and repaired some watches. A small number of clocks are listed as being made in this New Hampshire location. Edmund moved from Hopkinton in 1825 to the corner of Essex and Central Streets in Salem, Massachusetts. In 1828, he moved his business to 7 Derby Square. This was centrally located “In the market.” In 1831, Currier formed a partnership with George B. Foster. Currier trained Foster. This partnership was located at 11 Derby Square. The firm of Currier & Foster lasted until 1835. The clocks made during this period are usually signed “Currier & Foster.” This firm advertised as having for sale watches, clocks and timepieces of their own manufacture. They are also listed as jewelers. After 1835, Currier continues to advertise on his own. His business is now located on Essex Street and that he was still in the business of making and selling “Timepieces, Gallery-Clocks, Regulators…” While in the town of Salem, Currier was deeply involved with the Salem Charitable Mechanic Association. It was recorded by his associates that he was “accustomed to working sixteen hours out of twenty-four.” He was admired for his talents.

Very few clocks by Currier and Currier & Foster are known. Examples are difficult to come by. Several other timepieces as well as a lyre form, a dwarf form and less than a hand full of tall clocks are reported. There is a tall case clock in the museum collection at the Essex Institute and we currently own what may be the only Hopkinton signed example. For a more complete listing of these Makers, please review “Willard’s Patent Timepieces” written by Paul Foley.

Currier lists in his account books that he purchased tall clock cases from David Young and David Young Jr. It appears that he purchased 10 cases from David Young and one from David Young Jr. They are listed as follows:

Clock cases purchased from David Young,

1.) July 11, 1816 clock case $35.00.
2.) Jan. 1st, 1817 cherry case $16.00
3.) May 27th, 1817 clock case $20.00
4.) July 11, 1818 case in cherry for $16.00.
5.) June 1, 1817 in cherry for $16.00.
6.) July 11, 1818 in cherry for $16.00.
7.) Nov. 6th, 1818 a mahogany case for $25.00.
8.) November 12, 1818 he purchased a mahogany case for $25.00
9.) November 12, 1818 he purchased a birch case for $14.00
10.) May 24th, 1820 a cherry case $14.00.
Clock case purchased from David Young Jr.,
1.) June 28th, 1816 he purchased one cherry case for $16.00.
From the same account books, it is recorded that he sold eight case clocks. Prices range from $35.00 to $65.00.

Edmund Currier of Hopkinton, New Hampshire. Tall case clock. -SOLD-

This fine cherry example stands on a cut out bracket base. The feet are nicely formed and have very good height.… read more

Edmund Currier of Salem, Massachusetts. An outstanding mahogany cased mirror clock. UU33.

This is a rare wall timepiece or more commonly called a Mirror clock made Edmund Currier in Salem, Massachusetts. This is… read more

Lemuel Curtis of Concord, Massachusetts

Lemuel Curtis was born in Roxbury, MA in 1790. He died in New York on June 17, 1857. Lemuel had two brothers who were also involved with clockmaking. He was the nephew of Aaron Willard and probably trained with Simon Willard in Roxbury. He was a terrific clockmaker and the inventor of the Girandole. For and in depth description of his clockmaking activity, please read Paul Foley’s book, “Willard’s Patent Time Pieces.”

Lemuel Curtis of Concord, MA. "Warranted By L. Curtis" A wall timepiece or banjo clock.-SOLD-

A Lemuel Curtis Timepiece from Concord, Massachusetts. This is a fine Federal Massachusetts timepiece or “Banjo clock” made in Concord, Massachusetts… read more

Lemuel Curtis Wall Timepiece or Banjo Clock. Concord, Massachusetts. OO59.

This is a fine Federal Massachusetts timepiece or “Banjo clock” was made in Concord, Massachusetts circa 1820 by Lemuel Curtis. This… read more

This is a fine Federal Massachusetts timepiece or "Banjo clock" made in Concord, Massachusetts by Lemuel Curtis.

This is a wonderful crisp and clean example. The case is constructed in mahogany and features gilt frames that are decorated… read more

Lemuel Curtis and Joseph N. Dunning Curtis & Dunning, of Burlington, Vermont.

The partnership of Curtis & Dunning was comprised of Lemuel Curtis and Joseph N. Dunning. It was formed in 1820 in Concord, Massachusetts and moved to Burlington, Vermont in 1821. They worked together until 1832. They are listed as clockmakers, silversmiths and jewelers. Over the last 40 plus years of being in business, we have bought and sold numerous examples of their work. They produced several forms of the timepiece which include banjo clocks, tavern clocks, the girandole, lyre wall clocks, regulators and even shelf models.

Lemuel Curtis was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts on July 3rd, 1790. He died in New York on June 17th, 1857. Lemuel had two brothers who were also involved with clockmaking. He was the nephew of Aaron Willard and probably trained with Simon Willard in Roxbury. In 1811, he advertised working on his owned in Concord. He was a terrific clockmaker and the inventor of the Girandole form..

Joseph Dunning was born in Brunswick, Maine on January 2nd, 1795 and died in Burlington, Vermont on December 14th, 1841. He was first a journeyman working for Curtis in Concord before their partnership in 1820. After this arrangement dissolved in 1832, he continued to work on his own and died bankrupt at the age of 46.

For and in depth description of their clockmaking activity, please read Paul Foley’s book, “Willard’s Patent Time Pieces.”

Curtis & Dunning gilt framed wall timepiece or 'banjo' clock made in Burlington, Vermont.

This is a fine Federal Massachusetts timepiece or “Banjo clock” made in Burlington, Vermont circa 1825 by Lemuel Curtis & Joseph… read more

This fine Federal Vermont timepiece or "Banjo clock" was made in Burlington, Vermont circa 1825 by Lemuel Curtis & Joseph N. Dunning.

The partnership of Curtis & Dunning was comprised of Lemuel Curtis and Joseph N. Dunning. It was formed in 1820 in… read more

Daniel Pratt & Sons

Daniel Pratt & Sons of Reading and Boston, Massachusetts

This is an oversized octagon top cottage clock. The standard size measures 9 inches tall. This example is just better than… read more

Daniel Pratt & Sons Reading, Mass. Shelf clock. -Sold-

This very colorful clock was retailed by Daniel Pratt & Sons of Reading, Massachusetts. The case is made from papier-mache. Papier-mache… read more

Henry J. Davies of New York.

Henry J. Davies operated a clock related business at No. 5 Courtland Street in New York, New York in 1858 through 1886. Today, Davies is probably best known for his design of the Crystal Place mantel clock. This clock, introduced in 1874, was displayed under a glass dome. Often times, figures where mounted aside the mounted movement and usually incorporated a mirror behind the pendulum. The vast majority of these clocks were powered by Ansonia manufactured movements and where later cataloged as Ansonia clocks when Davies became the General Manager of the Brooklyn, New York plant. Davies also received several patents for his designs including one for the now very collectible illumination alarm clock. These alarm clocks were designed to mechanically strike a match which in tern lit an oil lamp mounted in the clock’s case. The result was the illuminating of the room. One then could easily make their way around the interior or perhaps read the dial of the clock. This system was to compete with the simple and safe bell alarm format.

Henry J. Davies. An Illuminating Alarm Clock. Mantel of shelf clock.

This Illuminated Alarm Clock was made circa 1876 by Henry Davies of New York. On August 25, 1867, Henry J. &… read more

Seril Dodge Of Providence, Rhode Island.

Seril Dodge was born in Pomfret, Connecticut on August 19, 1759. His parents were Nehemiah Dodge (1733?-1796? and Lois (Paine) Dodge (1737? – ?) He is thought to have trained with Thomas Harland in Norwich, CT. His movement designs are certainly manufactured in the Harland school having the distinctive cigar shaped pillars that support the plates. On March 4, 1783, Seril Married Anna Williams of Pomfret. By 1784, he had removed to Providence and was working as a silversmith and clockmaker. In August of the same year, he advertised in the Providence Gazette that he was a clock and watch maker and his shop was located north of the Baptist meeting House. Seril became the foremost clockmaker and silversmith in late eighteenth-century Providence. Dodge is also credited with being the city’s first jeweler and it is highly likely that he executed the engraving on his silvered brass dials. Including meandering vines, scrolls, floral devices, stylized serpents (or birds) and columns, the vocabulary of motifs seen on this clock is also present in part or wholly on four of the other dials bearing his name. He purchased land from fellow Quaker and renowned merchant Moses Brown on Angell’s Lane (now Thomas Street) and subsequently built two houses on the street, both of which stand today. In 1799, Dodge left Providence for his hometown of Pomfret where he died on April 2 1802.

Severa clocks are known with dials signed by Seril Dodge. An engraved brass dial shelf-clock is in the collection of Rhode Island Historical Society. A brass dial tall case clock was sold at Sotheby’s in New York. The sale, Important American Furniture from the Collection of the Late Thomas Mellon and Betty Evans, 19 June 1998. This clock was lot 2022 and was purchased by Israel Sack, Inc. It is pictured in American Antiques from Israel Sack, vol. VI, p. 1615, P4706. A composite brass dial example was sold publicly in May of 2019 at Americana Auctions in Rehoboth, MA. R. Jorgensen Antiques advertised a clock with a Massachusetts-style case in www.antiquesandfineart.com. An engraved dial example is pictured on pages 290-291 in Timeless: Masterpiece American Brass Dial Clocks (New York, 2009) written by Frank L. Hohmann III. One painted dial tall clock in a carved shell case offered by Delaney Antique Clocks is attributed to him.

A Federal era Block & Shell tall case clock most likely made in Providence, Rhode Island, circa 1786. This clock is not signed but attributed to Seril Dodge. SS138

An important Rhode Island tall case clock. The case is very unusual in that it features two hand carved shells. One… read more

Nathaniel Dominy of East Hampton, New York.

Nathaniel Dominy (4th) was born in 1737 and died in 1812. He is listed as living in Sag Harbor and then East Hampton, New York. For a more complete story regarding this family, please read Charles Hummel’s “With Hammer in Hand, published for The Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum by the University Press of Virginia Charlottesville.” This work was first published in 1968.

The Dominy family presided over a remarkable domain from their little shops on North Main Street in East Hampton. They were located there as early as 1760 through 1840 spanning three generations.

Nathaniel Dominy tall clock of East Hampton, New York. Dated 1789 and signed by the Clockmaker.

This Long Island treasure was originally sold to Captain David Fithian (1728-1803). A very simple form, it is constructed in gum… read more

James Doull of Charlestown, Massachusetts.

James Doull was born in Scotland in 1785 and immigrated to the United States, Boston in 1806 at the age of 29. In 1807, he is listed in the Boston tax records as working as journeyman with Boston clockmaker Aaron Willard. This suggests that he came to this country highly skilled and must have been trained overseas. Because he is listed for only one year in Boston, it is assumed he moved to Charlestown shortly after this date. In 1823, Doull moved to Pennsylvania and he took up residence in the city of Philadelphia. Here he is listed as having a number of addresses over the years. In 1823, he is listed at 112 High. In 1825, Doull moves to No. 3 Castle. During the period of 1828 — 1833, he is listed on the south east corner of South and Spruce. In 1835 through 1849, he is listed at the south east corner of 4th and Spruce. In 1856, Doull moves on to south 4th and stays there until 1856.

Over the years we have owned a dozen or more tall case clocks, several shelf clocks and small number of timepieces made by this fine and talented clockmaker. James Doull’s most famous clock is in the White House Collection in Washington, DC. This clock is frequently on display in the Oval Office. It features a signed painted dial and a case that is attributed to the Seymour Brothers cabinetmaking firm.

James Doull of Charlestown, Massachusetts. A cross-banded mahogany cased tall clock. The Boston painted dial featuring a tumbled number dial. 218020

An important Hepplewhite tall case clock with an automated lunar calendar painted dial signed by James Doull of Charlestown, Massachusetts. The… read more

James Doull of Charlestown, Massachusetts. Cabinetmakers John & Thomas Seymour of Boston, Massachusetts. Tall clock.  -SOLD-

An important Hepplewhite tall case clock with an automated rocking ship painted dial signed by James Doull of Charlestown, Massachusetts. The… read more

James Doull of Charlestown, Massachusetts. A cross-banded mahogany case tall clock with a moon phase dial. PP159.

The colorfully painted 13 inch iron dial is of local origin and was most likely painted by the Boston ornamental artists… read more

James Doull of Charlestown, Massachusetts. An inlaid mahogany tall case clock. Case attributed to the Stephen Badlam school of cabinetmaking.

This is an important Hepplewhite tall case clock with a painted dial signed by the Charlestown, Massachusetts clockmaker, James Doull. This… read more

Ephraim Downs of Waterbury, Plymouth and Bristol, Connecticut. Also Cincinnati, Ohio.

Ephraim Downs was born in Wilbraham, Massachusetts on December 20, 1787 and died in Bristol, Connecticut on December 8, 1860. He was the son of David and Mary Chatterton Downs and had a brother Anson who was a Carpenter.

Ephraim becomes in the Connecticut clock industry making wooden geared tall clock movements as early as 1811 in the town of Waterbury. He is making movements for Lemuel Harrison & Co and then later Clark, Cook & Co. In the month of April 1815, he travels to Cincinnati, Ohio and works for Read & Watson and then others. He returned to Connecticut about 1816 to Plymouth, CT. He later works with Silas Hoadley, Eli Terry and Seth Thomas. In 1822 he married Chloe Painter thus becoming the brother in law of Silas Hoadley. He is in business with himself in 1823 and then With George Mitchell in Bristol, CT in 1825. Ephraim became very successful.

Ephraim Downs of Bristol, Connecticut. Stenciled Column Stenciled Splat. Large version.

This is a very good example. The form is called a stenciled column and splat shelf clock. It represents the transition… read more

Ephraim Downs of Bristol, CT circa 1830

This is a very nice example of a half stenciled column and splat mantel clock. It represents a transition in case… read more

Plimmon Henry (P. H.) Dudley of New York.

P.H. (Plimmon Henry) Dudley(1843-1924). Mr Dudley was a gifted civil and metallurgical engineer whose opinions on these matters were held in high regard and respected by the railroad industry. Concerning clocks in the development of standardizing time, he believed that by adjusting or synchronizing clocks along the rail line electronically. This was to be done simultaneously along the rail line by having them connected by a signal. This would intern decrease the variability of station clock displays. He had showed that if done by hand, the variation average was 3 minutes. By electrically controlling this adjustment, this variability would vanish. The system he developed was reliable and as a result, his clock sold well. His first clocks were installed in 1879 along the mainline stations on the Philadelphia, Wilmington & Baltimore Railroad. Due to their success, the following year they were installed on the New York Central & Hudson River Railroad. Still employed by railroad concerns, by 1882, he moved away from the horology side to work on other rail related issues. This departure of concentration left the market for high quality sycronizers wide open for other competitors.

For a more in depth description of Dudley, please read Bob Simon’s article published in the NAWCC Watch & Clock Bulletin dated March/April 2015.

P. H. Dudley walnut wall regulator made in New York. Dudley wall clock.

This is a fine example. The case is constructed in walnut and retains a lighter finish. It is somewhat larger than… read more

Joseph N. Dunning of Concord, Massachusetts and Burlington, Vermont.

Joseph N. Dunning was born in Brunswick, Maine on January 2nd, 1795 and died in Burlington, Vermont on December 14th, 1841. He was first a journeyman working for Lemuel Curtis in Concord before they formed an informal partnership before 1820. In 1821, they formally advertised their partnership and both men moved to Burlington, Vermont. It is during this period, Burlington was experiencing an economic boom. There, they became two of Vermont’s most prolific manufactures of wall timepieces. In 1832, the partnership dissolved and Dunning continued to work on his own. He died bankrupt at the age of 46. For a further discussion on Vermont made time pieces and the clockmaker Joseph Dunning, please read Paul Foley’s book, “Willard’s Patent Timepieces.”

Joseph N. Dunning of Burlington, Vermont. Wall timepiece or gallery clock. Weight driven. -SOLD-

This is a very interesting weight driven wall gallery clock. It was made by Joseph N. Dunning of Burlington, Vermont. This… read more

Joseph N. Dunning of Burlington, Vermont. Wall Timepiece.  -SOLD-

This is a very interesting wall timepiece. It was made by Joseph N. Dunning of Burlington, Vermont. This example is signed… read more

Joseph N. Dunning of Concord, Massachusetts and Burlington, Vermont. Clockmaker & Silversmith. A girandole wall clock.

This is a very interesting an important wall timepiece. It was made by Joseph N. Dunning of Burlington, Vermont. This example… read more

Walter Durfee of Providence, Rhode Island.

Walter Durfee was born in Providence Rhode Island on March 23rd, 1857 to Elisha A. and Sarah Law (Allen) Durfee. He died at the age of 82 on August 4th, 1939. He was buried at the Swan Point Cemetery in Providence. Durfee’s father ran the Durfee Mill which made overcoats for the Union Army during the Civil War. Walter was educated in the local school system and studied to become an architect. In 1877, he left that occupation after a very short stint and opened an Antique business on 295 High Street. This was the first of several shop locations in the City of Providence. It is here that he began to sell antiques and developed an interest specifically in clocks. It is said that he traveled extensively looking for them. In 1881, Durfee took on a partner, Charles L. Pendleton. Pendleton was an attorney collector, friend and gambler. This partnership was called “Durfee and Enches.“ This lasted until 1884 when Pendleton was forced to sell out his share to Durfee. Pendleton had lost a fortune in gambling. Yet it is during this partnership, that they decided to purchase new, high quality clocks from England and sell them in the States under their own name. Pendleton was well traveled and began to develop connections to English manufactures. These newer clocks sold very well. So well in fact, that Durfee had to move to a larger shop on two occasions.

In 1887, Walter Durfee made a sound business decision. He obtained the U.S. Patent rights to the tubular chimes that were manufactured by Harrington in England. This new product was very well received and as a result, the rebirth of the Tall case clock was under way. These clocks sold for $500 in the late 1890’s This was and extraordinary sum. Yet the marketplace responded. Competitors began to emerge to take advantage of their popularity. Yet, Durfee was in a commanding position. If you, as a retailer of this type of clock, wanted by to purchase tubes or a tube clock, then you either purchased them from Durfee or directly from England. Either way, Harrington was paid their royalty. Durfee gave the American clock retailers multiple purchase options in this category. One could purchase the entire clock from him and retail it under their own name or purchase various components starting with the tubes. Many firms engaged in the practice. It is not uncommon to find clocks retailed by finer jewelry stores such as Tiffanys and Bigelow and Kennard with Durfee components. Sales for this type of item grew and Durfee expanded the use product due to its great sound. They began to sell them to theaters and opera houses around the world. They were also used in doorbells. In 1896, Durfee invested in the Tubular Bell Company of Methuen, Massachusetts. This firm produced a larger version of the tubular chime to be used in towers located on churches and universities throughout the country. They were so popular that it is reported that the Vatican in Rome purchase a set for $1,000. Business was good until 1902 when his patent was challenged and he lost. This opened the door for his competition to expand. These companies began to lower the quality and as a result lower the prices of these clocks. Durfee refused to follow this business model.

In 1907-1908, Durfee expanded his clock line to include Banjo clocks. The vast majority of these found in today’s marketplace are the Willard form and appear to have been made by the Waltham Clock Company. These clock, true to Durfee’s standard, are the higher grade examples. They almost always have skillfully painted tablets. Often the tablets are signed by the artist D. J. Steele. Several copies of Lemuel Curtis’ Girandole have been found. These are outstanding copies of the original version and also share many Waltham components. By 1930, he is more involved in repairing clocks then he is in selling and or assembling them.

Today, Walter Durfee is remember for making a superior product. This is a wonderful opportunity to purchase an outstanding example.

Walter Durfee of Providence, Rhode Island. Wall Time Piece or Banjo Clock. Retailed by the retail firm, Shreve, Crump & low Company of Boston. Clockmaker – Waltham Clock Company. D. J. Steele – Artist.

This is an outstanding example of a Federal Massachusetts improved timepiece or “Banjo” clock made by Walter Durfee of Providence, Rhode… read more

Walter Durfee of Providence, Rhode Island. Wall Time Piece or Banjo Clock. Retailed by Tiffany & Co., of New York. Provided by – Walter Durfee. Clockmaker – Waltham Clock Company. Artist – D. J. Steele.

This is an outstanding example of a Federal Massachusetts Timepiece or “Banjo” clock made by Walter Durfee of Providence, Rhode Island… read more

William Dutton of London, England.

William Dutton is thought to have been born in 1720 and served his apprenticeship under the famous George Graham of London in 1738. He completed his apprenticeship in 1746 when he became a Freeman of the Worshipful Company of Clockmakers. In circa 1750, he became a partner to the famous Thomas Mudge, another apprentice of George Graham. Their business was located at No. 148 Fleet Street, London. T his address was used by the Dutton family for several generations. William and Thomas Mudge were two of the developers of the Lever Escapement for use in watches. In 1771, William took over Mudge’s company when Thomas moved to Plymouth. William entered the Livery of the Worshipful Company of Clockmakers in 1766. About 1775, William took his sons into partnership and they traded under the firm name of W. Dutton & Sons, London, as well as still trading as Dutton & Mudge. The partnership with Thomas Mudge was not dissolved until 1790, and the Dutton & Mudge name still appeared on items until Mudge’s death. William and Thomas Mudge both died in 1794. William had two sons, Matthew and Thomas.

A remarkable and complicated clock showing astronomical and tidal displays by James Ferguson and William Dutton of London circa 1775.

The present clock is described and illustrated in Ferguson’s 1773 compendium Select Mechanical Exercises: Shewing how to construct different Clocks, Orreries… read more

Isaiah Eaton of Walpole, New Hampshire and Westminster, Vermont.

Isaiah Eaton was born on October 15th, 1757 in Haverhill, Massachusetts and died in Westminster, Vermont on January 21st 1847. His parents were Captain Timothy Eaton and his first wife Abigail Massey. Isaiah served as a private under James Sawyer in the Revolutionary War and was at Lexington on the alarm in 1776. By the end of the war, his rank had risen to the level of Major. In 1785, he first married Priscilla West in Charlestown, New Hampshire. She died on November 5th, 1804. It is logical to assume that he he served his apprentice under Stephen Hasham before he moved to the town of Walpole. Isaiah advertised on June 6th, 1793 in the New Hampshire Journal as a silversmith and clockmaker and that his shop was located in Walpole, NH. This ad also stated that he wanted a steady active boy of about thirteen or fourteen to train. In 1803 he had advertised that he had moved from Walpole to Westminster, Vermont. The town of Westminster is located just across the Connecticut river. In Westminster, he carried on the gold, silver, and clockmaking business in company with Benjamin Kendrick under firm name of EATON & KENDRICK. This partnership lasted until August 5th, 1805. His first wife died shortly after this move. He then married widow Azubah (Rockwood) Grout in Westminster. They had one son in 1808. Both Isaiah and Azubah had been widowed prior to their marriage. In 1811, he was appointed a Representative. Three years later he began service to the Town of Westminster as a selectman. He held this position until 1826.

Several tall case clocks are know to us. An engraved brass dial that features a lunar calendar is signed Charlestown. A second engraved brass dial example is on display in the museum at Deerfield. This clock is signed Walpole. A third clock having been sold at Bill Smiths in November of 2009 also featured a engraved brass dial signed Walpole. I. M Weise offered a brass dial example for sale in Antiques Magazine., February 1977 on page 291. The New Hampshire Historical Society may have a brass dial example in their collection. This has not yet been confirmed. Thomaston Auction Gallery sold a painted dial example in March of 2007. Another painted dial example is currently in the collection at Drexel University.

Jonah Edson of Bridgewater and Dighton, Massachusetts and Bristol, Rhode Island.

Jonah Edson was born in West Bridgewater, Massachusetts on March 18, 1792 and died in East Bridgewater, Massachusetts on December 7, 1874. He is thought to have been trained as a clockmaker by John Bailey II in Hanover, MA. Edson is recorded as working in both in Bridgewater and Dighton, Massachusetts and also Bristol, Rhode Island. He was at work about 1813. He served with the Bridgewater Light Infantry during the War of 1812 and was stationed in South Boston in 1814. It is now believed that he made approximately twenty five clocks.

It appears that many of his tall clock movements are constructed in a distinctive style. The plates that frame the movement are usually Skeletonized. This is the process of removing the xtra brass in an attempt to conserve brass. His pattern is somewhat distinctive and varies considerably from the Bailey versions being manufactured in Hanover. His movement often incorporate two other additional features that are somewhat unusual. This includes the uses of a count wheel striking system as compared to the now more commonly used rack and snail set up and also wooden winding drums.

John Edwards of Ashby, Massachusetts.

John B. Edwards was the son of Ashby clockmaker Abraham Edwards. John was born in Ashby, Massachusetts on October 20, 1787. Abraham and first wife, Rebecca, had four children before Rebecca died in 1813.   The four children are recorded in Ashby:  Rebecca b. April 1, 1785, John b. Oct. 20, 1787, Sally b. Sept. 28, 1794, and Abraham A. b. June 17, 1796. 

On June 13, 1811, John married Libby Waters in Ashby. John live a total of 38 years and died Oct. 1, 1825 in Ashby.

John was a clockmaker. We have owned and seen several examples of his work. The movements of these clocks have been very similar in construction to the thirty-hour wooden geared clocks made by his Father and the other Ashby clockmakers.

Samuel Edwards of Ashby, Massachusetts.

Samuel Edwards “Jr.,” was born on August 18, 1787. He was the first of six children born to Calvin Edwards and Mary (Houghton) Edwards of Ashby, Massachusetts. Samuel’s father and uncle Abraham were productive clockmakers. In partnership, they signed their tall clock dials “A & C Edwards.” They began making wooden geared tall case clocks in 1792. It is estimated that they made approximately 600 clocks before Calvin died on March 16, 1796. Calvin died as a result of blood poisoning. This was caused by a wound he received on his leg below the knee from falling from a tree. Samuel would have been just 9 years old. After Calvin’s death, his uncle continued to manufacturer clocks under his own name. It is assumed that Samuel learned clockmaking from his uncle. We have owned numerous clocks that were signed by both the partnership and by Samuel Edwards solely.

In 1808, it is recorded that Samuel moved to Gorham, Maine. Three years later, on November 5, 1811, Samuel marries Nancy Burr of Ashby. They had seven children. Here in Gorham, Samuel continues to make wooden geared clocks. Many of which feature an unusual dial arrangement. The size of the wooden dial blank stays at the traditional measurement of 12 inches across. The hour and minute time rings are scaled down to 7.5 inches in diameter. These time rings are then repositioned from the center to below the center of the dial. Above this is an overlapping time ring, again 7 inches in diameter, that displays only the seconds. A large second hand, measuring almost 6 inches in many cases, sweeps around this and is visually impressive. We have seen this format on clocks made in Ashby as well. In fact we have owned clocks made by Alex Tarbell Willard ( At work in Ashby 1800 – 1830) and John Edwards (At work 1809 – 1812) that share this dial arrangement. It in interesting to note that a large percentage of Samuel’s clock are formatted this way. It appears to be a later feature in this wooden geared production run. Sometime in 1823-24, Samuel moves from Gorham to Portland. There he become a Brass founder and is not reported to have made clocks. Samuel dies in Maine on February 13, 1853. He was 65 years old.

Samuel Edwards of Gorham, Maine. A spectacular wooden gear tall clock.  -SOLD-

This is an example in very good condition. It is quite typical of the standard form that one would expect from… read more

Abraham & Calvin Edwards of Ashby, Massachusetts.

Abraham Edwards is believed to have been born in Concord, Massachusetts in 1761. His younger brother Calvin was born two years later in 1763. Both were the sons of Samuel Edwards and Huldah Easterbrook of Concord. The family moved from Concord to Ashby, Massachusetts sometime in 1777. Ashby was then and still is today a small village located in Massachusetts on the New Hampshire boarder due North of Worcester. Both Abraham and Calvin were hard workers and owned everything in common including several pieces of land in the town of Ashby. They entered a partnership in 1792 and made wooden gear clocks. These clocks are signed on their dials A & C Edwards. This partnership lasts approximately four short years before Calvin’s death at the age of 33. While alive, the partnership appears to have produced in excess of 530 plus clocks. Often times the production number is listed at greater than 600, but the highest number that I have personally seen recorded is in the upper 530’s. It is assumed that all the clocks made after the partnership ended are signed by Abraham only. Of which, many such examples have been found. Early examples of the A&C partnership features composite metal dials. The later examples, sometime after the number 211, feature the use of a painted wooden dial. Abraham and Calvin were responsible for training other clockmakers. Some of which include Abraham’s son John, Calvin’s sons Calvin Jr. and Samuel, Alexander, Jacob and Philander Jacob Willard of Ashburnham, Wendell and his brother Whittear Perkins and possibly John Barker of Worcester. This list of names is still growing.

A & C Edwards No. 170. Clockmakers working in Ashby, MA. Robin's egg blue painted case tall clock.

read more

A & C Edwards of Ashby, Massachusetts. No. 211. Tall clock. RR70.

This country case is constructed in New England white pine and retains an old scrubbed surface. This surface is consistent throughout… read more

Nathaniel Edwards Jr., of Acton, Massachusetts.

He was born in Acton on September 19th,1770. His working dates are listed from 1791-1800. Nathaniel worked in his fatherÕs house which still stands today. It is located at 328 Pope Road which is near the Concord line. Very few clocks made by this Maker have been found. All of those have been of the tall case variety. They have been found in cherry and mahogany cases.

In 1993, the Concord Antiquarian Museum received a tall clock made by this Maker as a gift. That clock is reported to have been originally purchased by Nathan Brooks (1785-1863). He was a lawyer, legislator and a philanthropist. He was also a Whig and his wife was an abolitionist. He lived where the present library sits. This is on the corner of Main Street and Sudbury Road. This clock was purchased from the Brooks estate in 1881 for $75. It was purchased by the Richardson family. It is a descendant of this family that donated the clock.

Nathaniel Edwards Jr., of Acton, Massachusetts. Tall case clock. GG225

An important cherry case tall clock made by Nathaniel Edwards Jr., of Acton, Massachusetts. This very nicely proportioned cherry case example… read more

Epes Ellery of Boston, Massachusetts.

Epes Ellery was born in Gloucester, Massachusetts in 1780. The Ellery family was well connected in this coastal town. His Father was a merchant and his uncle, Epes Sargent, owned a significant part of the town property. Sargent’s portrait was painted by John Singleton Copley and is on display in the National Gallery in Washington, DC. It is considered one of Copley’s finest work. Epes also had a cousin William Ellery, that signed the Declaration of Independence.

Epes must have moved to Boston in his early twenties. He is listed in the Boston Directories as a goldsmith, a lapidary and a jeweler in 1803, 1806 and again in 1809. In 1810, he married Ann Bullard of Watertown and soon moved to Baltimore, Maryland. Here they raised five children working as a goldsmith and served in the army during the War of 1812.

At least five tall clocks are known. Two are owned privately and were sold by our firm. One was sold in the 1980’s. The other had a rocking ship automated dial and was sold more recently. A third clock is on display in the Montclair Historical Society’s 1796 Crane House which is located in Montclair, New Jersey. This clock is reported to have a label applied to the case. A fourth clock is now in the possession of Historic New England and has a history of being owned by the Tufts family of Massachusetts. This is the fifth now documented example and is currently owned by us and offered for sale here. It is a formal inlaid mahogany example and features a lunar calendar in the arch of the dial.

Reuben Elsnorth of Windsor, Connecticut.

Reuben was born in 1736 and died in 1785. He was the son Giles Ellsworth and Hanna Stoughton. Reuben married Elizabeth Moore. Ms. Moore was born in 1743 and died in 1798. Reuben had an older Uncle David who was also a clockmaker. David was born in 1709 and lived until 1782. It is logical to assume that David trained his nephew. This clock is currently the only known signed example made by Reuben.

Reuben Elsnorth (Ellsworth) of Windsor, Connecticut. Tall case clock. 2650.

This is a fine cherry case tall clock with an engraved silvered brass dial signed by Reuben Elsnorth of Windsor, Connecticut.… read more

Jesse Emory of Weare, New Hampshire.

Jesse Emory of Weare, New Hampshire. A mechanic, farmer and an ingenius wooden geared clockmaker. The finest Wooden geared made clocks in America.

Jesse Emory was born on July 17, 1759 on Craney Hill in Weare, New Hampshire. He was the son of Caleb Emory of Amesbury and Susannah (Worthley). His parents moved to Weare around 1758. Jesse is reported to be the first male born in the town of Weare and one of the first New Hampshire born Clockmakers. At the age of twenty, Jesse enlisted in Captain Lovejoy’s company for the defense of Portsmouth. He was discharged two months later. Jesse’s first marriage was to Hannah Corliss on 20 November of 1783. She bore him one daughter, Ruth. Hannah’s brother was James Corliss who would become a competitor of Jesse’s in the clock business. Jesse purchased 27 acres of land from Jeremiah Corliss on February 18, 1794, his father-in-law. This land and building was located on Mt. Dearborn Road in Weare near the Henniker town line. He operated a business here in a business friendly are section called Meadowbrook. Soon James Corliss and Abner Jones would also be making clocks nearby. Jesse stayed there until 1806 when he and his first wife sold some land in Weare and moved to Deering, NH. The Town Histories of Henniker and Weare and the deeds recorded for this land transaction listed him at this time as a mechanic, farmer and a yeoman. He is reported to have made spinning and flax wheels, measures, harnesses and clocks. It is speculated that he moved because of the competition from the two other clockmakers in that town. On July 19,1806, Jesse bought approximately 50 acres in Deering from Jonathon French. Twenty years later, on October 3, 1826, Jesse purchased 34 acres of land in Henniker from Jonathan Green. This land became the Emory farm on Peasley Road. Jesse’s second marriage was to Betsy Wyman of Hillsborough, New Hampshire in 1814. Jesse died on July 10,1838 and the age of 79. His grave site is not currently known.

Emory was a skilled cabinet and clockmaker. His designed and execution is that of legend. He made the entire clockworks and cases for each out of wood. The vast majority of the very limited number of clocks found are fitted with thirty-hour pull-up movements. (One eight-day key wind example has been identified.) The works are constructed entirely of maple. The large heavy plates are highly finished and are supported with a five turned and shaped posts. This framing is secured to the seat-board with a wooden screw which threads into the middle pillar post of the movement. The gearing is oversized. The largest of the the wheels, the great wheels are approximately an inch thick. The wide wheels allowed for large teeth that increased the surface area for each tooth. This made them stronger and added to the longevity of the works. These wheels are under cut and incorporate three gravity clicks on each of the winding arbors rather than the typical spring, click and ratchet mechanism. The clicks simply fall into place as designed. Each wheel in the gear train is finely finished. Many are designed with and undercut detail. The escapement is a recoil. The hour hand and the date hand are driven from the minute hand through gearing. The strike train features a count-wheel. This is positioned on the back of the movement.

The dials of Emory clocks are hand made and skillfully painted on a maple blank. This dial is signed “Jesse Emory / WEARE” in the arch. Other examples are signed “Jesse Emory / of / WEARE.” This dial formatting is typical of what has been found. The white background is nicely finished. The many of the painted details are laid into the dial. In other woords, Emory took the time to lightly engrave the dial before he applied the colors. The incising of the dial was probably down inorder to prevent paint bleeding. The four color decoration includes the colors of black, red, pink and a blue / green. Emory also constructed his own cases, which were typically made of birch or maple woods. A fair number of these have been found that have been grain painted. A number of his cases incorporate a unique door latch. Very few clocks have been found by this ingenious Maker. Approximately 12 clocks are recorded.

Jesse Emory of Weare, New Hampshire. A mechanic, farmer and an ingenious wooden geared clockmaker. The finest wooden geared Clockmaker in America. AAA-12

Jesse Emory is best known for the high quality of the wooden geared movements he made. They are considered superb machines… read more

Jeremiah Fellows of Kensington, New Hampshire.

Jeremiah Fellows was a clockmaker, gunsmith, farmer, deacon and a tavern keeper. He was born on June 12th, 1749 and died in 1837. He was the son of Jeremiah Fellows, a blacksmith and Ruth (Rowe) Fellows. Jeremiah was the oldest of seven children. He married Mary Gore. He is said to have been at work in Kensington as early as 1770 though 1825. It is recorded that his sons took over his blacksmith shop in that year. He also operated a tavern until 1776 when it was burned. In 1778, he purchased land from the Puringtons and enlarged the workshop. The Puringtons were also a clockmaking family and Jeremiah must have had a close working relationship with them. Their clocks are very similar in construction. It is thought that he made some of his own cases which he sold at a discount compared to those he purchased from the local joiner Ebenezer Clifford. The Clifford cased clocks sold for $25 more than his own. Several other clocks are known. Some of which are numbered. To date, the highest number known to us is Number 22. A fine tall clock that is numbered 11 is in the New Hampshire Historical Society’s Collection. That clock was most likely made in 1784. This is based on a clock known that is signed by the Maker in the arch of the dial. It is also numbered “10,” and dated “1784.”

A Chippendale Maple Cased Tall Clock made by Jeremiah Fellows of Kensington, New Hampshire. UU-65.

Very few clockmakers lived and worked in the Colonies during this early time period of our country’s history. Pre-Revolutionary clocks made… read more

James Ferguson of London, England.

James Ferguson (1710-1776) was one of the most highly regarded and successful popularizers of natural science in the 18th century. He was the self-taught son of a Scottish tenant farmer, that at a very young age, demonstrated a great intellectual curiosity together with a talent for mechanics. In his teens and early 20’s, Ferguson worked for the local gentry, maintaining clocks and repairing machinery. One of his patron’s sent him to Edinburgh where he was trained to be a painter of miniatures. Although he made his living as a limner for many years, he took up the study of astronomy and he soon attracted the attention of the mathematician Colin Maclaurin. He did this by producing a device that consisted of series of concentric volvelles which could be rotated to calculate the positions of the Sun and Moon and predict eclipses. With the professor’s help, Ferguson published this “Astronomical Rotula” in 1742. He soon moved to London where he made and sold globes.

James Ferguson was the rare individual who was able to present the ideas of astronomy in clear accessible language. In 1756, he published a highly successful and popular non mathematical text, Astronomy Explained upon Sir Isaac Newton’s Principles. For the rest of his life he was a widely respected lecturer on popular astronomy and other scientific topics that he illustrated with demonstration apparatus of his own design.

Neither a professional astronomer nor clockmaker, he was nevertheless well respected by the scientific and horological communities. Ferguson’s talent lay in the ability to devise wheel work to demonstrate celestial phenomena. He designed dials for the important four sided astronomical clock in the English Royal Collection. This clock was made by Eardley Norton for George lll in 1765. Ultimately he was granted a pension by George lll and in 1763, he was elected to the Royal Society.

R. B. Field & Co. of Brockville, Canada.

The firm of R. B. Field & Co. Brockville, Canada is listed in, “Early Canadian Timekeepers” written by Jane Varkaris and James e. Connell. Rodney Burt Field was born in February 25, 1809 and died March 18, 1884. According to the authors, this firm did not sell a large number of clocks which is based on the number of which survive today. The authors speculate that Field was in the retail business of selling clocks in Canada on two separate occasions. Otherwise he worked for various enterprises in the United States.

R. B. Field & Co. Brockville, Canada. Og clock

This is a very clean example of a mahogany case og clock having the pasted label of “R. B. Field &… read more

Jonas Fitch of Pepperell, Massachusetts.

Jonas Fitch of Groton now east Pepperell, Massachusetts. Clockmaker and blacksmith.

Jonas Fitch was born on February 5th, 1740 the son of Zachariah and Elizabeth (Grimes) Fitch in New Bedford, Massachusetts. When he removed to Pepperell is not currently known. He is described as a man of great mechanical genius, especially in the art of clockmaking. The “Vital Records of Pepperell, Massachusetts to the Year 1850,” lists his marriage to Anna (Annis. int.) Shattuck, at Townsend, Oct. 1, 1775. It also lists the birth of 5 of their children. The birth dates range from 1776 through 1785.

Anna born in Pepperell July 14, 1776.
Calvin born July 5, 1790 .
Mille born July 9, 1779.
Polley born September 22, 1785. Died February 3, 1867 and is buried in the Old Burial Grounds, Groton, MA. She married her sister’s widower Capt Thomas Blood after Mille’s death.
Sarah born Sept. 22, 1782.
Jonas Jr was born in Pepperell March 23, 1783.
(All in Pepperell.)

His grandson was Hon. Jonas Fitch III. He was a well known Achitect who helped design elements of the Fitchburg, MA Railroad Depot. In Boston, MA he worked on the Masonic Temple, City Hall, the Mount Vernon Church and other substantial buildings.

His brother, Captian Zachariah Fitch served in the French and Indian Wars and was a lieutenant and later a captian in the Revolution. He was ditinguished in civil affairs.

It is recorded here that Jonas died as a result of falling in a brook. He was stunned, wounded and drowned on May 31, 1808 at the age of 67.

Very little is known about this clockmaker. Based on the approximately a dozen examples known to exist today, he made a small number of clocks. All of the known clock movements are constructed in wood. They are a 30 hour design and are powered by weights. They strike each hour on a cast iron bell which is mounted above the movement. The strike is regulated by a large count-wheel that is mounted to the back plate. The dials are a composite form having a tin sheeting that provides the shape and foundation, pewter spandrels, chapter ring and circular boss in the arch. The boss usually finds an engraving of a “Phoenix.” The hour and minute hands are also pewter. A day of the month calendar can be viewed through a small square opening above the numeral “Six.”

There is an example of an unsigned Jonas Fitch tall case clock in the collection at Old Sturbridge Village.

Jabez Fitch of Windham, Connecticut. Clockmaker, watch and clock repairman, retail store owner.

Jabez Fitch was born April 2, 1748 the son of Reverend John and Alice (Brown) Fitch in Windham, Connecticut. You might be surprised to learn that name Jabez Fitch in Windham was once a popular name. As a result, it is very difficult to discern which Jabez is which. A probate record exists that lists his inventory after his death on June 23, 1789. He was 41 years old. One listing has him recorded at the rank of Captain. This makes sense since his estate lists a white Regimental coat, jacket and breeches and a gun with a bayonet. The other items listed suggest that he may have owned a retail shop of some kind. A wooden clock and case, wooden clock making tools and parts as well as watch tools are also listed. He may have also been chosen to represent the town at the meeting of the Mercantile and Landed Interests of the Colony. He may have also served some time as a deacon in the First Society of Canterbury. Jabez married Olive Ripley in 1773. He died June 23, 1789.

Jabez Fitch was a wooden geared clockmaker. This movement in this clock is robustly made in the manner that is consistent with the Cheney’s in Hartford. Very few clocks are known.

Captain Jabez Fitch of Windham, Connecticut. Clockmaker, watch and clock repairman, retail store owner. A wooden geared tall clock. NN107

Wooden geared clocks are traditionally formatted as a thirty hour design. This example is constructed in wood having large oak plates… read more

William Fitz Clockmaker, watchmaker and silversmith. Newburyport, MA, Portsmouth, NH, Portland, ME and Boston, MA.

William Fitz was born in Newburyport, MA on January 21, 1770. His parents were Mark Fitz and Elizabeth (Campbell) Fitz. William had at least six brothers; Jeremiah born 1760, Nathaniel born 1765, Isaac born 1767, Aaron born in 1773, Samuel born 1777 and Henry born 1785. William was the only clockmaker and most likely trained in his home town. About 1791, William is listed as working in the town of Portsmouth, NH and started his clockmaking business there. He advertised numerous in the New Hampshire Gazette and New Hampshire Mercury (Portsmouth NH) during the years 1793 through 1797 that he had clocks, watches and silver goods for sale. His shop was located on the corner of Market and Congress Streets until 1795 when he relocates to Spring Hill. In 1798, William returns to Newburyport and he works there until 1802 when he moved up to Portland, Maine. This shop was located on Fish Street and he worked as a watchmaker and silversmith. Currently, no clocks are known signed with the place location of Portland. In 1804, he has returned to Newburyport and stays there on Merrimack Street until 1809 when he is next listed as working in Boston until 1827 when he moves to New Orleans, LA.
In the grand scheme of clockmakers, Fitz can not be considered a prolific clockmaker. Very few examples come to the public marketplace in any given decade. Tall case styles vary greatly from one example to the next. Several clocks are known. One country example on public display is currently in the Springfield Art and Historical Society. The inlaid cherry case is a Newburyport example based on the case design. Occasionally a shelf clock will come to market. These closely resemble the examples that David Wood made early in his career.

John Foss of Somersworth and Barrington, New Hampshire.

John Foss was born in 1732 and died in 1819. He was the son of Joshua and Lydia (Rand) Foss and was baptized in Rochester, NH on September 18, 1732. According to William D. Knapp and his book Somersworth: An Historical Sketch and Joseph Tate’s Journal 1769-1778 (now located in the New Hampshire Historical Society) John moved to Somersworth which was part of Dover until it became a separate town in 1754. John Foss is recorded as being a pew holder at the time of building a new meeting house in 1772. He also purchased part of the estate of one Ebenezer Wentworth at a venue in 1773. John is noted to have moved from Somersworth to Barrington, New Hampshire on February 14, 1777 and lived there until he died in 1819. He is buried in a family plot located in Locke’s Mills.

John Foss is known to have made both 8-day and 30-hour clocks. All of the current examples known to us are all fitted with brass dials. Another example of his work is pictured in Distin & Bishops, The American Clock on page 33.

John Foss of Somersworth, New Hampshire. A mahogany case tall clock. UU48.

This fine example is fitted in a very interesting case. If you looks closely at the shaping of the moldings and… read more

Samuel Foster of Andover, Massachusetts, Hollis, Concord and Pelham New Hampshire.

Currently, very little is known about Samuel Foster the clockmaker. It is thought that he work in Andover, Massachusetts in 1794-1796. He then moves to Amherst, New Hampshire in 1796 and advertises that he commences business at the shop of Deacon Barker. He stays in that town until about 1804. A tall clock signed by him working in Hollis features a movement that is constructed in a combination of wood and brass much like those clock works that were made by A. Gould of Hollis. In 1804, Foster then moves to Concord, NH. An advertisement there states that he has commenced business in the shop formerly occupied by Mr. John Robie. In 1819, he returns to Andover and remains there a very short time. In 1820 he is listed as working in Pelham, NH.

We have owned and seen a very small number of clock signed by Foster while working in Andover. It is interesting to note that we have owned several Ezra Batchelder signed tall clocks that share the same distinctive strike train work that is found in several Foster signed clocks. It is logical to assume they had some working connection.

Ezra Batchelder was born in Andover, Massachusetts on November 13th, 1769. He had a brother, Andrew born 1772, who is also listed as a Clockmaker and blacksmith. In fact, they are listed as working together in Danvers in sometime after 1801. It is thought that they were trained by their brother-in-law Nathan Adams. Ezra dies in in Danvers on October 10th, 1858. Ezra was also a farmer and is reported to be the first expressman in Danvers, carrying merchandise from and to Boston.

Paul Foley in his book, Willard’s Patent Time Pieces lists that Ezra’s account book is known. This book records 36 clocks being sold between 1803 and 1830. The prices for these clocks range from $35 to $65. It also suggests that being fine cabinetmakers, they may have made their own cases.

Over the last forty plus years of being in the business of selling clocks, we have seen at least 12 tall clocks signed by this Maker.

Samuel Foster of Andover, Massachusetts, Hollis, Concord and Pelham New Hampshire. A tall clock standing 6 feet 10 inches tall.

This is a fine cherry stained butternut case tall clock with painted dial signed “Samuel Foster / Andover.” This example is… read more

Lemuel French of Stoughton and Canton, Massachusetts.

Very little is currently known of Lemuel French. What is known is sourced from Paul J. Foley’s book, Willard’s Patent Time Pieces, A History of the Weight Driven Banjo Clock 1800-1900. Foley does not list a birth date for French. It is known that he died in Canton in 1809. French is identified in a number of lawsuits as a clockmaker in both towns. In 1797 he is listed as a Stoughton Clockmaker, in 1798 and 1805 he is listed as a Canton Clockmaker. To this date, the tall clock pictured on our web site is the first example of his work that we have personally seen.

Lemuel French of Stoughton and Canton, Massachusetts. Clockmaker and brass founder.

This fine cherry case tall clock is narrowly proportioned. The cherrywood selected for this case exhibits a good grain pattern and… read more

Daniel Jackson Gale Calendar clock maker.

Daniel Jackson Gale was born in Waitsfield, Vermont on December 24, 1830. In 1870 he began a relationship with the Welch and Spring Company. They agreed to use his calendar attachment in their clocks. He continued to improve his design and adding complications. He died on June 17, 1901 in Bristol at the age of 71.

Isaac Gere of Northampton, Massachusetts

Isaac Gere was born on December 6, 1771 in Preston, Connecticut His parents were Nathan and Jerusha (Tracy) Gere. It is currently thought that he was trained in the art of clockmaking by John Avery who also lived and worked in the same town. In 1793, Gere moved to Northampton, Massachusetts where he was active as a watch and clockmaker and silversmith until his death on September 24,1812.

Shortly after moving to Northampton, Gere hired Nichols Goddard as a journeyman clockmaker. Goddard records this in his journal. Nicholas stays with Gere for three years and leaves for Rutland, Vermont in 1797.

In June of 1803, Gere took on Ebenezer Strong Phelps as an apprentice to learn the business of silver and goldsmithing and also to make brass eight-day clocks. Ebeneezer was fifteen years old. In January of 1809, Isaac, with the consent of Ebeneezer’s parents’ sent Ebenezer to Newark, New Jersey, to work in the jewelry business for Messrs. Hinsdale and Taylor.

It is worth noting that the “Hampshire Gazette” carried a fair number of ads (June 1802-June 1803) stating that Gere was a clockmaker and watchmaker, and also manufactured silver spoons, gold beads, etc. Gere’s later ads (1809-1810) stated that he is “at his brick store opposite the meetinghouse and continues to make every article in the gold and silversmith business.”

A small number of tall case clocks are currently know. Two of these clocks share very similar cases. One is a clock that we have owned. A second clock is pictured in Fales book, The furniture of Historic Deerfield on page 264. This clock shares a very similar case which is credited to have been made by Julius Barnard. Julius Barnard was trained by Eliphalet Chapin (1741-1807) of East Windsor, Connecticut. He moved up to Northampton and set up his own cabinet-shop. Naturally, much of his furniture exhibits a strong Chapin influence. The clock pictured in Fales was once owned by the Williams and Billings families of Hatfield and Deerfield. A third example can be found pictured in the Sack Volumes, No. 2 page 303. This clock is now reported to be in The Ford Museum. It differs greatly in case form.

In January of 2011, the protaits of Isaac Gere and his wife were sold at public auction. He is pictured seated, very well dressed with an open book in front of him on a table. In the background behind the fancy drapes is a view of the Connecticut River Valley.

Isaac Gere of Northampton, Massachusetts. A cherry case tall clock. The case attributed to Julius Barnard

This fine Connecticut River Valley cherry case tall clock was made by Isaac Gere (1771-1812) of Northampton, Massachusetts. The case is… read more

Oliver Gerrish of Portland, Maine.

Oliver Gerrish watchmaker, clockmaker, silversmith and jeweler was born in Portsmouth, New Hampshire on January 4th 1796. He was the son of Timothy Gerrish (1756-1815) a gold and silversmith and Dorothy Paterson (1756-1845). In 1810, at the age of fourteen, he went with and apprenticed to watchmaker John Gaines. Gaines was a descendant of the Gaines family of chairmakers. Oliver served his seven year apprenticeship and in 1817 went on to work as a journeyman in Boston. Her he first worked for Williams and Johnson. Their shop was located at the corner of Washington and Court streets. With in nine months, Oliver moved on and worked with Baldwin and Jones. By 1819 he moved to Portland, Maine and opened a jewelers shop on Exchange Street. On Jan 6th, 1825, he married Sarah Little in Portland Maine From 1858-77, he worked in partnership with his nephew, Nathaniel Pearson. Oliver Gerrish was an active member of the Portland community. He served as the President of the Portland Savings Bank and the Mechanics Association and Aged Brotherhood. He was a member of the Board of Trade, The National Historical Society and the Portland Athenaeum. He was a prominent Mason and held just abut every imaginable post in that organization. He was also Secretary and Treasurer of the Relief Fire Society.
 Oliver died on Dec 3rd, 1888.

Oliver Gerrish of Portland, Maine circa 1826. A superb Federal period wall time piece or banjo clock.

Banjo clocks, as they are commonly called today, come in a variety of grades. This example, has to be considered a… read more

Peter Gift Junior of Kutztown and Maxatawny, Pennsylvania.

Peter Gift Jr. was the eldest son of Peter Gift senior who immigrated from Germany in about 1750. He came to this new land to settle in Lynn Township, Northampton (now Lehigh) Pennsylvania. He was a trained clockmaker and was soon joined by his two brothers John Adam and Nicholas Gift. Peter Jr. was born in February of 1780 in Lynn Township. He married Miss Elizabeth Moyer who was born in September of 1783 in Maeungie township now Lehigh County. They had several children. Peter Jr is thought to have been trained as a clockmaker by his father. In 1806, Peter Jr moved from Lowhill Township to Kutztown, Berks Co. Peter carried on an extensive business. His clocks are highly prized. Family records claim that the town clock located in the tower of the court house in Reading PA was constructed by Peter Jr and was still in excellent running order in 1908. During the years spanning 1806 through 1816, he is listed as working in Maxatawny Township. Peter moved back to Kutztown because he was taxed there in 1817.

Peter Gift Jr. Clockmaker working in Kutztown, Pennsylvania. An inlaid mahogany case tall clock of superb design most likely made by the Reading cabinetmakers Daniel Rhein and or his apprentice or journeyman Henry Quast. 219111

This handsome 19th century Federal mahogany tall case clock is nicely proportioned. Similar clocks, in terms of their distinctive case presentation… read more

Gilders Workshop of Winchester, Massachusetts.

Gilders Workshop. Ted and Fran Burleigh, Winchester, Massachusetts.

The Gilders Workshop was located in Winchester, Massachusetts. It was opened in 1972. The husband and wife team of Ted and Fran Burleigh were the principals. That year they produced 12 banjo clocks. Prior to 1975 they were primarily doing restoration and gilding work. Clock production didn’t really take off until Elmer Stennes died in 1975. The Burleighs actually did gilding work for Stennes in the end. Their work was excellent.

Ted was the front man. He was also involved with the carving of various decorative elements and the preparation of the cases for gold leaf were expected. He did the finishing of the all mahogany cases. He was also responsible for the assembly of the clocks. Components came in from various sources and he assembled and completed the clocks.

Ted’s wife, Fran did the gilding of the decorative wooden components. She was trained by Boston’s master gilder, Nils Johnson. She learned both water and oil gilding, traditional techniques that made the Burleigh clocks so beautiful. Fran may have been best know for her skill in reverse glass painting and restoration. She was an exceptional artist and a very talented instructor. Fran trained at least three other artists to do reverse painting on glass. All three became very proficient in this skill. Their daughter Cindy worked with them until she married. Ann Banister was working there almost the entire time. Linda Abrams started in 1975 and worked there approximately 4 years. After that time she struck out on her own and continues to this day to do very high quality work. She is sought out by the most discerning of clientele.

The clock dials on the Burleigh clocks were painted by Martha Smallwood. This is often helpful in dating an example because she had a habit of pasting a sticker on the back of her dials that dated when they were completed.

The cases were made by Chuck England. He started making cases for them in 1973 and continued to do so until the last run of banjo clocks were made in 1989.

The movements were supplied by Kilbourn & Proctor.

The first clocks were timepieces or banjo clocks. There were four versions. The gilded versions were closely patterned after those made by Lemuel Curtis in Concord, MA before 1820. It is not currently know to me how many banjo clocks they made. In 1981, they were priced at $1,100.

The opportunity to copy a Lemuel Curtis Girandole presented itself in 1973. Ted copied the example now on loan at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston. That clock is very well known an is often pictured. It features a wedding scene in the lower glass. It appears that they made 50 of these. In 1981, they were selling for $3,000. This was their most expensive model. You could also order this clock with a thermometer in the waist glass as a special order.

In 1980, the Burleighs were able to copy Aaron Willard Grafton Wall Clock which is in the collection of Sturbridge Village. They modified the movement of their clock to run 8-days instead of the original format of 30-hours. The case design is faithful to the original. They made 50 of these clocks. These clocks were priced at $2,700.

Benjamin Clark Gilman of Exeter, New Hampshire.

Benjamin Clark Gilman was born July 8, 1763 and died on October 13, 1835. He was youngest of eleven children born to Major John and Jane Deane Gilman. In 1788 he married his cousin Mary Thing. Together, they had eight children. He served as a selectman for the town of Exeter for eight years. Frank O. Spinney wrote in an article for the September, 1943 magazine “Antiques” titled, “An Ingenious Yankee Craftsman.” In that article, Spinney listed many of Gilman’s talents. He was a “silversmith, engraver, watch and clockmaker, builder, hydraulic engineer, merchant, landlord and instrument maker.” On the April 8th, 1791 edition of the “New Hampshire Gazetteer,” Gilman advertised, “That he carries on clockmaking at his shop in Exeter. As he has done something in the Business for several years past, he now flatters himself of having a thorough knowledge of it – and while he is endeavoring to promote so useful an Art, he requests the particular encouragement of his Friends and Customers.” As an hydraulic engineer, Benjamin was involved with the construction of several aqueducts. These were constructed by boring out the center of logs and joining them together in order to move water. He worked on projects as far away as New London, Connecticut and the coastal cities of Salem and Boston, Massachusetts as well as Portsmouth, New Hampshire. As a builder, it is known that he constructed a lighthouse at the entrance of Portsmouth harbor in 1803.

Over the years of being in the business of buying and selling clocks, we have owned over a half a dozen tall case clock made by this maker. The vast majority of which have had painted dials that were signed with his initials just under the calendar. An engraved brass dial clock has also been recorded. In addition to tall clocks, a Massachusetts shelf clock is pictured in Albert Sack’s “Fine Points of Furniture.” Another interesting shelf clock is pictured in Parsons, “New Hampshire Clocks and Clockmakers.” The collection of the Currier Museum of Art in Manchester, New Hampshire reportedly owns several silver spoons by Gilman as well as an engraved watch paper. Several instruments which include a carriage pedometer a nocturnal and an engraved copper plate used to print dials for a surveyor’s or mariner’s compass have been recorded.

Benjamin Clark Gilman of Exeter, New Hampshire. A country case tall clock.

This is a good example of a rural New England manufactured tall case clock. The case is constructed in birch an… read more

Benjamin Clark Gilman of Exeter, New Hampshire. A tall case clock.

27146 Benjamin Clark Gilman of Exeter, New Hampshire. A tall case clock. This is a very good example of a rural… read more

Nichols Goddard of Shrewsbury, MA and Rutland, Vermont.

Nichols Goddard was born the son of Nathan and Martha (Nichols) Goddard in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts on October 4, 1773. It is thought that he learned clockmaking from his second cousin Luther Goddard who was also in Shrewsbury. Luther was trained by his cousin, our country’s most famous clockmaker, Simon Willard of Grafton in 1778. Luther is often credited with making the first watch in America. Nichols is listed as working in Northampton, Massachusetts in 1794 through 1797. A diary entry from 1795 states that as a journeyman, Nichols made movements for his father Luther Goddard, Gardner Parker of Westborough, Isaac Gere of Northampton, MA and for a man identified as “Ingalls” who is also in Northhampton. In June of 1797, Goddard moves north to Rutland, Vermont. At this time, the period of 1770 through about 1825, the state of Vermont enjoyed unprecedented population growth. It is in Rutland that Goddard formed a partnership with a silversmith who was originally from Norwich, Connecticut and more recently Pittsfield, Massachusetts. His name was Benjamin Lord. In September of 1798, Nichols returned to Northampton to marry Charity White. She was the daughter of Job White and Charity Chapin. They returned to Rutland and had seven children together. After their partnership ended, Nichols continued to make clocks under his own name until he died in 1823.

Nichols involves himself in public affairs. In 1800 he is appointed Town Clerk of Rutland. He also serves as Town Treasurer from 1805 – 1807. He received the commission of Captain in the militia. He was also very active in the Masonic lodge. In 1802 he was elected Grand Junior Deacon of the Grand Masonic Lodge of Vermont and in 1804 through 1810 he served as Grand Senior Warden.

Nichols died in Rutland on September 23, 1823.

A dozen or so known clocks signed by Nichols Goddard or signed Lord and Goddard are known. An example that is signed Lord & Goddard No. 124 is located in the Sheldon Museum . A musical example which is signed Nicholas Goddard is in the collection of The Bennington Museum. The Rutland Historical Society was given a Nichols Goddard Number 150 in 1996. They also own number 106 which has a repainted dial.

The tall case clocks that have been found signed by Lord & Goddard have the following numbers recorded…. 72, 75, 87, 95, 97, 98, 106, 111 and 113. Tall clocks signed by Nichols only include 124, 125, 144 and 150.

Nichols Goddard of Rutland, Vermont. No. 118. An inlaid tall case clock. -SOLD-

Almost two dozen dozen or so known clocks signed by Nicholas Goddard or signed Lord and Goddard are known. An example… read more

Nichols Goddard of Rutland, Vermont. An inlaid mahogany cased tall clock No. 125.

This case form is typical of what one would expect having a painted dial that is signed by “Nichols Goddard /… read more

Luther Goddard of Grafton, Shrewsbury and Worcester, Massachusetts.

Luther Goddard Clockmaker, Watchmaker, Silversmith, Jeweler and Baptist Minister. working in the towns of Grafton, Shrewsbury and Worcester, Massachusetts.

Luther Goddard was born February 28, 1762 in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts. He was the cousin of Simon Willard and is thought to have trained or more appropriately apprenticed under him as early as 1778 at the age of 16. This indenture is thought to have lasted five years through 1783. He is then recorded as working in Shrewsbury in 1784 through 1817 as a clockmaker, watchmaker and as a silversmith. In 1784, Luther married Elizabeth Dakin on June 19. They had at least two children that worked in the clock, watch and silver trades. Parley Goddard, born in 1787, began training under his father in 1800. His brother Daniel, born in 1796, started training when he was 13. It is thought that Luther also trained his second cousin Nichols Goddard, born 1773 and died in 1823. Nicholas becomes one of Vermont’s most prolific clockmakers working most of his life in the town of Rutland. In 1803, Luther formed what must have been a brief partnership with James Hamilton as Goddard & Hamilton. It is recorded that in 1807, Luther attended the estate sale of the Norwich, Connecticut clockmaker Thomas Harland. Here, he is said to have purchased a set of clockmakers tools. In 1809, he relocated his shop to Shrewsbury Hill. His shop, said to be about 18 feet square was one story and had a hip roof. It had a lean to attached to the back for the casting process. It is in this location that he began to manufacturer pocket watches and is credited making the first American watch and also as being the first American to make a significant attempt to make watches in quantity. His life time output of watches is estimated to be approximately 600. His silvered cased examples are thought to have originally sold for approximately $60. This would have been about the the same cost as a tall case clock. Today, his watches are prized by collectors. This first watch venture included his son Parley under the firm name of Luther Goddard & Son. Their timing was pretty good as imports were blocked by Jefferson and the “Jefferson Embargo” during the War of 1812. By 1815 the market was again flooded with imports and the watch business slowed. It is thought they produced approximately 600 or so watches by 1817. Some of the other firm names that were related to this venture are “Luther Goddard,” “L. Goddard & Son,” “L&P Goddard,” “L. Goddard & Co.,” “D&P Goddard & Co.,” etc… In 1817, Luther moves to Worcester, Massachusetts with his son Daniel and continues to repair watches and clocks, silversmithing as well as preaching as a Baptist minister. This shop was located on Main Street across from Daniel Waldo’s store. Luther dies in Worcester on May 24, 1842.

Luther Goddard of Shrewsbury, Massachusetts. A tall case clock. 213065

This very important cherry case tall clock was made by Luther Goddard while working in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts. This clock case is… read more

Alanson Gooding of New Bedford, Massachusetts.

Alanson Gooding was born in Dighton, Massachusetts on March 4th, 1789. He died in New Bedford, Massachusetts on November 18, 1877. Alanson had four brothers that are listed as clockmakers. All were born to Joseph Gooding and Rebeckah Macomber. The four clockmaking brothers are Joseph 1773-1853, Josiah 1777-1867, John 1780-1870 and Henry 1785-1875. It is thought that Alanson trained under his older brother Joseph as a clockmaker. Joseph is reported to have trained under John Bailey II of Hanover, MA. Alanson is listed as a clockmaker, watchmaker and as a merchant working in New Bedford during the period of 1810-1840. A signed tall case clock is also known.

For a more complete reference, please read Paul Foley’s outstanding book, “Willard’s Patent Time Pieces.”

Alanson Gooding of New Bedford, Massachusetts. Shelf clock. LL-74.

This is a very attractive example of a mahogany cased shelf clock that features a kidney shaped dial. The dial is… read more

Joseph Gooding of Dighton and Fall River, Massachusetts.

Joseph Gooding was born on March 6, 1773 in Dighton, Massachusetts and died in the same town on November 11, 1853. His parents were Joseph Gooding (1729-1815) and Rebecca (Macomber) Gooding. At the age of 16, he traveled to Hanover, MA and trained as an apprentice under the Quaker Clockmaker, John Bailey II. By 1793, he was at work on his own in town of Dighton. Here he worked as a silversmith, jeweler and clock and watchmaker. He had three younger brothers whom he most likely trained as clockmakers. Josiah (b.1777 — d. 1867) was the most prolific of the four. He set up a shop in Bristol, Rhode Island. Alanson (b. 1789 – d. 1887) worked in New Bedford, MA. Henry (b. 1785 — d. 1875) worked in Duxbury, MA. John (b. 1780 — d. 1870) worked in Wrentham and also in Plymouth, MA. On May 19, 1798, Joseph married Elizabeth Austin in Dighton. They had three boys that were involved in the jewelry and watch trades. Joseph is next listed as a silversmith, jeweler and clockmaker working in Fall river during the period of 1828-1838. He returns to Dighton in 1839 and lives there until he dies in 1853.

Currently, we speculate that Joseph made some 40 plus tall case clocks. It appears that he numbered many of his tall case clocks on the dial. The highest number found to date is No. 38. Interestingly, No. 8 is in the clock collection of Harvard University. The Harvard owned example, like the other documented clocks, all share a case form and construction that reflects a strong Roxbury influence. We have seen or owned numbers 8, 9, 12, 20, 22, 34, 36 and 38. Numbers 2, 6 and 10 have also been recorded by others.

Joseph Gooding of Dighton, Massachusetts. Tall case clock.  212008

This superb inlaid mahogany case retains a wonderful finish that is most likely original to the clock. It has taken a… read more

Joseph Gooding of Dighton, Massachusetts. Tall clock Numbered 22 on the dial. 220045

This superb inlaid mahogany case example exhibits the finest proportions. The mahognay wood is subltey figured and retains a wonderful older… read more

Henry Griffen of New York and Brooklyn, New York.

Henry Griffen is listed as a clockmaker working in New York City and in Brooklyn, New York as early as 1791 through 1818. Currently, very little is known of his business and of his output. This construction of this clock and case suggests that at one time, he had some ties to Boston. I would speculate that he ordered this entire clock, the case, the movement and an unsigned dial from there for his own client. When it arrived in his shop, he had his name and working location painted on the dial.

Henry Griffen of New York, New York. Case attributed to John & Thomas Seymour of Boston.

An important Hepplewhite tall case clock with dial signed by “Henry Griffen / New York.” The inlaid mahogany case is attributed… read more

André Romain Guilmet of Paris, France.

André Romain Guilmet was born on the 10th of December 1827 in La Ferté-Gaucher, France. He is best in the world of horology as a manufacturer of mystery clocks and clocks that feature an industrial theme. He is also credited as a watchmaker and inventor. He applied for a number of patents for designs. One of the more well known applications relates to the bicycle. It was his idea to put the driving chain below the seat. His most popular “mystery clock” (mysterieuse with glass pendulum) was that of a woman who held a pendulum in her outstretched hand and arm. She is usually positioned standing on a marble base with a clock below. The pendulum is impulsed by the mechanism underneath her that moves the figure imperceptibly from side to side. The industrial series of clocks features automated clocks in the form of windmills, lighthouses, automobiles, boats, steam hammers, boilers, etc. All of which are excellent quality.

For additional information about this clockmaker please read Derek Roberts’ book titled “Mystery, Novelty and Fantasy Clock.”

William Hadlock, of Boston, Massachusetts.

William E. Hadlock of Boston, Massachusetts.

William E. Hadlock was born in Lowell, Massachusetts on September 29, 1845 and died in Wenham, MA on February 28, 1915. Hadlock’s name first appears in the Boston Directories in 1870 as a Watchmaker working for the firm of Currier & Trott. In 1874, he establishes his own business on State Street. This business was called William E. Hadlock & Co. This business operated with various partners until 1915. Hadlock was primarily known as a chronometer maker. It is evident that he also made high grade spring powered wall clocks. Many of which are numbered. To date, we have recorded numbers as low as 41 and as high as 259.

William E. Hadlock of Boston, Massachusetts. Wall clock. -SOLD-

This interesting form is very difficult to find in today’s marketplace. It appears that he made at least two separate versions… read more

John Hall of West Chester Pennsylvanian. Clock and Watchmaker.

Very little is currently known about John Hall. He is a listed clockmaker. He was born in 1793 and died in 1867. He worked in West Chester, PA in 1810 through 1815. We now know that he worked until 1825 due to the information hand written on a label pated inside the case of a clock we own. The label reads, “ This clock was purchased by John Forsythe of John Hall clock and watchmaker on East Gay Street West Chester in the year 1825- the case was made by Thomas Ogden cabinetmaker on West Gay Street, the whole cost $60.” Hall’s shop was located on Gay Street. He trained or served his apprenticeship under his uncle George Cochran. George died in 1807 and his wife inherited his tools. Another listing states that George willed his tools to young John in 1806. It is evident that more research needs to be done. John is listed as working on his own by 1810. It is recorded that John maintained the West Chester town clock for many years.

A watchpaper and a tall clock are known.

John Hall, West Chester Pennsylvania. Clock and Watchmaker. The figured mahogany case was made by Thomas Ogden of the same town. XXSL95

This fancily veneered mahogany case tall clock features excellent woods, typical Pennsylvania proportions and a colorfully painted moon phase dial. This… read more

Ivory Hall of Concord, New Hampshire.

Ivory Hall worked in Concord, New Hampshire as a clockmaker, watchmaker, silversmith, and jeweler between the dates 1816-1864. He was born in 1795, died in Concord on Nov. 15, 1880. In May 1819, he advertised his shop being located “Opposite Gales Tavern, and one door south of the Phoenix Hotel, Concord, NH. That he has for sale, Patent timepieces, He manufactures, Willard’s Patent and Plain timepieces, and most kinds of Gold and Silver Ware.” The Phoenix Hotel was owned and operated by Abel Hutchins. In Feb. 1832, Hall advertised his removal and “that he has purchased the stock in trade of Col. ROBERT DAVIS, and has taken the shop recently occupied by him”. In Oct. 1833, Hall sold his stock and relinquished his stand to Isaac A. Hall and recommend his former customers patronize his successor. However, by Feb. 1834 Hall was in business again and advertised at “J. WELLERS SHOP in the south wing of the Eagle Coffee-House, where he has for sale a good assortment of Silver Ware, Watches, Jewelry, Spectacles, &c”.

Signed tall clocks, New Hampshire mirror clocks and patent timepieces are known. (Concord Courier, May 31, 1819 New Hampshire Patriot, Feb. 20, 1832, Oct. 14, 1833, Feb. 3, 1834)

Benjamin Hanks of Windham and Litchfield, Connecticut and Troy, New York.

Benjamin Hanks of Litchfield, Connecticut.

Benjamin Hanks was a skillful and energetic mechanic who made clocks and watches, carried on the repair business of each, was a goldsmith, a maker of stockings, looms, compasses, brass cannons and large church bells.

Benjamin Hanks was born in Mansfield, Connecticut on October 29, 1755 the son of Uriah and Irene (Case) Hanks. The Hanks family was an inventive group. At one time, they became the Nations largest producers of silk by importing the first mulberry trees from England and planting them in Connecticut and raising silk worms. Soon they invented and improved the apparatus for making silk into thread and constructed the first powered silk mill in the United States. The family built numerous forges and Benjamin is believed to be the first to cast large bells and bronze cannons in the country.

It is recorded that Benjamin learned the clockmaking trade from Thomas Harland, a noted Norwich clockmaker. Benjamin must have arrived at Harland’s doorstep with a solid mechanical background because his service with Harland had to be unusually short. Harland doesn’t arrive in Norwich until 1773 and Benjamin is said have been in the Boston area just before April of 1775. Why, well it is recorded that Benjamin served as a drummer during the Revolution and, in that role, took part in the march to Lexington in response to Paul Revere’s alarm. Shortly after, he enlisted or was assigned into General Israel Putnam’s Third Connecticut Regiment. Putnam was originally from Danvers, Massachusetts and move to Pomfret, CT in order to peruse inexpensive land. Putnam rushed north when he received news of the Battle at Lexington and Concord and joined the Patriot cause. He was a primary figure at the Battle of Bunker Hill. Perhaps Benjamin knew Putnam from his time in Connecticut? During this tumultuous time in our Country’s history, Hanks is said to have spent time working in a foundry owned by Paul Revere during and after the war. And yet, he still had time to married Alice Hovey about 1775 in Windham CT. (Alice Hovey was born on 15 Dec 1754 in Mansfield Center CT, christened on 19 Jan 1755 in Mansfield Center CT and died in Troy NY.

By 1777, at the age of twenty-two, Benjamin Hanks advertises form Windham, Connecticut as a Clock and Watchmaker and that he continued in the metal-smith’s trade making (according to an advertisement from the late 1770s) spurs, buckles, beads, hilts, clocks and watches, as well as general silver and gold work. In 1780, Benjamin moves to Litchfield, CT and builds a house and shop at 39 South Street to carry on his businesses. It is in the town of Litchfield that he performs the following accomplishments. Shortly after the move Benjamin is awarded the contract to make the clock for the Old Dutch Church at Nassau and Liberty Streets in New York City. In 1783, he petitioned the General Assembly for a patent for his invention of a clock wound automatically by air, and in 1785 advertised his clocks, Church clocks, pneumatic clocks, watches with center sweep seconds, surveyors’ compasses, etc. In 1786 he established a foundry and began casting large church bells. On the 6th of August 1787, Benjamin installs a bell in the Litchfield meeting house. The original one was broken. This bell was paid for by the society. In early 1790 he set up a “Brazier’s business.” In 1790, Benjamin moves to Mansfield where he continued to make clocks, bells and carried on the woolen business. In 1808 he and his son Truman form a partnership in the bell business and build a foundry in Troy, NY. The foundry made an assortment of items, including tower clocks, surveying tools, and church bells. One young man apprenticed at the Hanks’ West Troy foundry was Andrew Meneely who would later establish his own foundry in Troy and become one of America’s leading bell-makers.   Meneely is also buried in the Rural Cemetery in a family lot on the Middle Ridge. On the 4th of November, Benjamin was granted a patent for “Molding and Casting bells.”

Benjamin Hanks dies in Troy, New York in December of 1824 at the age of 70.

Benjamin Hanks

212103 Benjamin Hanks of Litchfield, Connecticut. This inlaid cherry case tall clock measures approximately 7 feet 9.5 inches or 93.5 inches… read more

Benjamin Hanks of Litchfield, Conneticut

212103 Benjamin Hanks of Litchfield, Connecticut. This inlaid cherry case tall clock measures approximately 7 feet 9.5 inches or 93.5 inches… read more

William Hanson of Windsor, England.

William Hanson is listed in Brain Loomes “Watchmakers & Clockmakers of the World.” He is listed as working in 1800.

Thomas Harland of Norwich, Connecticut.

Thomas Harland was an accomplished and influential clockmaker. He was responsible for training many clockmakers. Some of which became famous makers in their own right. He was the Simon Willard of Connecticut.

Thomas Harland was born in England in 1735. He emigrated to this country in 1773 through Boston on one of the infamous tea ships that later participated in Boston’s Tea Party. He came to this country as a trained clockmaker and soon established a clock shop in Norwich. On December 9th of 1773, he advertised in the Norwich Packet: “Thomas Harland, Watch and Clock-maker from London, Begs leave to acquaint the public that he has opened a shop near the store of Christopher Leffingwell, in Norwich where he makes in the neatest manner and on the most approved principles, horizontal, repeating and plain watches in gold, silver, metal or covered cases. Spring, musical and plain clocks; church clocks, regulators etc. He also cleans and repairs watches and clocks with the greatest care and dispatch, and upon reasonable terms. N.B. clock faces engraved and finished for the trade. Watch wheels and fuzees of all sorts and dimensions, cut and finished upon the shortest notice, neat as in London and at the same price.” In the same year he married Hannah Clark. By 1790 he employed as many as twelve apprentices turning out an annual production of 40 clocks and 200 watches. Some of his more notable apprentices included the clockmakers Nathaniel Shipman, David Greenleaf, Gurdon Tracy, Jedediah Baldwin, William Cleveland, Daniel Burnap, Eli Terry, Seril & Ezra Dodge, Benjamin Hanks and his own son Thomas Jr., (1781-1806) to name just a few. Overall, he worked for thirty-five profitable years in America as a clockmaker, watchmaker, silversmith and engraver, probably producing more tall case clocks than any other Connecticut maker. He died at the age of 72 on March 31st, 1807. He is given credit as to making the first watch manufactured in this country.

Clocks that are known can be found in the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, in the collection of the U. S. Department of State, in the collection of the Slater Memorial Museum in Norwich, Connecticut, in the collection of Wadsworth Atheneum, in the collection of The American Museum, Bath UK. Their are numerous examples pictured in various publications.

Thomas Harland, Norwich, Connecticut. A fine Chippendale cherry cased tall clock featuring a case that is attributed to the cabinetmaker Felix Huntington.

This case is of a distinctive type found on many of Thomas Harland’s tall case clocks. Among the cabinetmakers known to… read more

Stephen Hasham of Charlestown, New Hampshire.

Stephen Hasham was born in October of 1764 in Boston, Massachusetts. His parents, Samuel (Jr.) and Hannah (Simpson) Hasham had nine children. Stephen was the sixth. While growing up in Boston, Stephen and his father witnessed the battle of Breed’s Hill from Coop’s Hill in Boston’s North End. They also watched the battle of Bunker Hill from the belfry of a meeting house at the North End of Boston. In 1775, his family moved west to the rural community of Grafton, Massachusetts. Two years later, Stephen and a brother moved ten miles away to the city of Worcester. It is now thought that Stephen was trained as a clockmaker by Abel Stowell. Stowell advertised frequently that he was looking to train young boys as apprentices in the skill of clockmaking. Town records support this in that Stowell was reimbursed for the care of Stephen and his brother Mayhew. Sometime by he mid 1780’s, Stephen and Mayhew move north to the small town of Charlestown, New Hampshire. This well positioned town had a population of approximately 900 people. On September 27, 1787, it is recorded that Stephen married Theodosia Hastings the only daughter of Deacon John and Susanna (Willard, Johnson) Hastings who were extensive property owners. Stephen and Theodosia had five children and it is here that Stephen establishes himself as a clockmaker and probably trained others including Isaiah Eaton. In addition to clockmaking, Hasham was very active in trading real estate, he became a builder, an architect, an accomplished carver, and later a tavern keeper at his Eagle Hotel.

We have owned and seen a number of tall clocks that were made by him. One fine example is a brass dial example that is in the collection of the New Hampshire Historical Society and is well documented. This clock is actually numbered “145” on it’s engraved brass dial. Currently, we have for sale another brass dial example. Hasham’s output was not limited to tall case clocks. It is reported that he also made clocks in the Massachusetts shelf clock form. Several banjo style clocks are also known and as many as ten tower clocks have been documented over the years. He also made several clocks that were designed to be mounted into the interior walls of a number of a number of Charlestown homes. The walls acted as the clock’s case by protecting the inner workings. A surveying instrument call a “semi-circumferenter” made by Hasham is in the collection of the Ford Museum in Dearborn, Michigan.

On March 6, 1841 his wife Theodosia died at the age of 72. They had been married 50 years. Interestingly, with in weeks, Stephen was courting a 23 year old school teacher by the name of Lucy Amy Miller. Stephen was now 76 years old. They were married in August 19th, 1841 and had five children together. The last child Emily, was born when Stephen was 86 years old. By 1851, financial difficulties begin to play a large role in Stephen’s life. In addition, his wife Lucy was deemed an insane person by the neighborhood and was committed in 1852. Financial hardships followed and he was soon ruined. The town of Charlestown was forced to watch over him until his death on February 3, 1861. He was 100 years young. Some of the stories regarding this man are priceless. Please read the December 1994 NAWCC Bulletin article, The Amazing Stephen Hasham written by Don Haven Lathrop and Frederick Shelley.

Stephen Hasham of Charlestown, Hew Hampshire. A tall case clock.

This is important cherry case tall clock was made by Stephen Hasham of Charlestown, Hew Hampshire. If you have any interest… read more

Stephen Hasham of Charlestown, Hew Hampshire. Tall case clock.

This nIcely proportioned dark stained cherry case example stands on applied bracket feet. Each foot is nicely detailed, exhibiting subtle shaping,… read more

George Hatch of Attleboro and North Attleboro, Massachusetts.

George Hatch was born in Attleboro in 1816 and died in North Attleboro in 1879. He was a prominent citizen. He represented the town of Attleboro in the Massachusetts State Legislature for three years, served on the School Committee and was town Treasurer. He had business dealings with many prominent Clockmakers. Some of which include Horace Tifft and David Williams of Newport, RI. Wall regulators and banjo clocks have been found.

Hawxhurst & DeMilt Of New York City.

Nathaniel Hawxhurst is listed in “American Clocks Volume 3. American Clockmakers & Watchmakers,” written by Sonya L. & Thomas J. Spitler and Chris H. Bailey. He is listed as working as a watchmaker in New York, New York as early as 1780 through 1801. He had a shop located at 204 Queens Street (between Broadway and Wall Street) in 1786. After 1820, it is recorded that he move to Savannah, Georgia.

There are a number of DeMilts listed. It is currently unclear which DeMilt worked with Nathaniel. The DeMilt family was involved in clockmaking as well as dealing in the wholesale of clocks, watches and materials from England.

It is recorded that a tall clock signed by this partnership is currently in the collection at New York City’s, Gracie Mansion. Hawxhurst is also sometime found spelled Haushurst.

Nathaniel Hazeltine of Danville, Vermont.

Nathaniel Hazeltine is somewhat of an obscure Clockmaker. We could not find a birth or death record for him. A brief reference to a Nathaniel can be found in Lillian Baker Carlisle’s, “Vermont Clock and Watchmakers Silversmiths and Jewelers 1778 – 1878.” This lists him as working 1856. A reference from “Walton’s Register” in 1856 and until 1858 lists him as a “manufacturer of watches and jewelry.” These dates are somewhat late for tall clock production. If one digs deeper, you will find an Enoch Hazeltine listed in the Town of Danville census in 1820. Here he is listed as the father of Nathaniel and that both the father and the son are listed in the trades. In the same census, Nathaniel has a sister that is listed as being ten years younger. A marriage record also exists for a Nathaniel Hazeltine of Danville. This record notes that Nathaniel married Miss Meriam Hoyt on 12/10/1819. As luck would have it, a watch paper was recently discovered and sold by Eaton’s Auction Service in Vermont on 10/18/2008. The paper reads, “Nathl Hazeltine Clock, Watch, Maker. Danville, Vermont.” On the back it is dated “1816, May 31. M??? Waddock (sp?) 1817 February, 23.” These dates are more in kepping with the period of this tall clock.

Nathaniel Hazeltine of Danville, Vermont. "No. 2." Tall clase clock.

This cherry case has excellent narrow proportions and decorative inlay work. The case stands on an applied bracket base. The four… read more

Joakim (Joachim) Hill of Flemington, New Jersey.

Joakim (Joachim) Hill was born on November 25, 1783 in Amwell Township the son of Issac and Mary Hill. He is listed as working in Flemington from 1804 through 1820. It is thought that he served his apprenticeship to Thomas Williams sometime after 1800 and that he most likely took over his Master’s business. It is know that his clock cases were made by one of the following cabinetmakers. They include; Matthew Egerton, John Scudder, John Tapper, and or Oliver Parsell. In 1813 he married Martha Baracroft of Kingwood, township on September 4, 1813. Together they had seven children. About 1814, they boiught a house near Copper Hills, a short distance south of town on the road to Lambertville and New Hope. A small casting shop was located across the street. He did the finish work on his clocks in the dinig room of his home. Joakim died April 2, 1869 in Newark. He is buried in the Flemington Presbyterian Church cemetery.

Joakim Hill of Flemington, New Jersey. Signed, dated and numbered No. 77. An inlaid case tall clock.

This is a fine inlaid mahogany case tall clock made by Joakim Hill of Flemington, New Jersey circa 1810. The bonnet… read more

Hills, Goodrich & Co of Plainville, Connecticut.

William Hills and Jared Goodrich, formally of Hills , Brown & Company formed a partnership with Porteous Ives (brother of Joseph Ives) on July 1, 1841 in Plainville, Connecticut.

Silas Hoadley of Plymouth, Connecticut.

Silas Hoadley was born in 1786 and died in Plymouth, CT in 1870. He first apprenticed to his uncle Samuel and was making clocks in 1808. Along with Seth Thomas, he was hired by Eli Terry at the age of 21 to set up and work at Terry’s Ireland factory. Shortly after Terry’s Porter Contract was satisfied he and Seth Thomas bought the factory from Terry and then eventually purchased Thomas’s shares of the business. Silas Hoadley became known for using movements of his own design like the “Upside down” style used in his shelf clock. In1849 he retired a wealthy man.

Silas Hoadley Miniature Time & Alarm Clock. Mantel clock. -SOLD-

SS-166 This is a rare miniature time and alarm clock made by Silas Hoadley of Plymouth, Connecticut. This clock is in… read more

Silas Hoadley Miniature Time & Alarm Clock. Shelf / Mantel clock. Wall clock.

This is rare miniature time and alarm clock made by Silas Hoadley of Plymouth, Connecticut. This example is in very good… read more

Silas Hoadley of Plymouth, Connecticut. Tall clock.

This is a very good example of a wooden works tall clock made by Silas Hoadley of Plymouth, Connecticut. The construction… read more

Philip Holway of Falmouth, Massachusetts

Philip Holway was born in Sandwich, Massachusetts on January 14, 1805 and died in Boston on November 28, 1864 at the age of 59. It appears he first worked in Falmouth as a clockmaker until he moved North to Lynn, Massachusetts in 1828. In Lynn, he advertised that he had taken a stand in Common Street opposite the Hotel. In 1833, an advertisement for him lists him as a watchmaker from Marblehead. In 1842 through 1863, he is then listed in the Boston directories as a watchmaker. He had a shop on Hanover Street. Over the years we have owned several tall case clocks, shelf clocks and a timepiece made by this Maker.

Jacob Hostetter of Hanover, Pennsylvania.

Jacob Hostetter is a listed Maker in the horological literature. Jacob was born on May 9th, 1754 near York, Pennsylvania. He died on June 29th, 1831 in New Lisbon, Columbiana County, Ohio. He attended the common schools of the day and served his apprenticeship in clockmaking to Richard Chester of Hanover, Pennsylvania. The town of Hanover was located on an important trade route to Baltimore and Chester had an established business there. In 1784, Jacob is recorded as being married and living on Frederick Street. In 1788 he is listed in the tax records as a clockmaker and in 1797, Hostetter becomes a member of the General Assembly. His serviced lasted until 1802 and he served as a Democrat. From 1802 through 1823 he is listed as operating a brass foundry. He also served in the U.S. House of Representatives in 1818 through 1821. In 1825, Hostetter moves from York County to Ohio. Numerous clocks have been recorded. Eight day as well as 30 hour versions have been seen. A 30 hour example is in the collection of the Historical Society of Carroll County in Westminster, Maryland.

Jacob Hostetter of Hanover, Pennsylvania (York County). Tall clock.

This walnut case clock has bold Germanic proportions and exhibits very good color. The finish has taken a deep shade of… read more

David Howard of Needham, Massachusetts.

The History of the D. Howard working in Needham, Massachusetts. The producer of a #70 Wall Clock.
By David Howard

By the mid 20th century very few people, in the USA, were creators of clock cases and movements. People making clocks were building replicas of those that were historic, interesting and popular. I, for a short time, became one of them in 1976 to 1979. There are several events in my life that led to the production of the D. Howard Needham #70 clocks. I was a member of the NAWCC for many years, since 1969. During these years I taught myself to repair all kinds of clocks; however, I did not work on watches. I had also befriended an older man, Mr. Clayton Patnod that I met at local clock meetings and was used to taking him along to the various places where the chapters met. Then on a trip to Chicago, IIl, I went looking for the person that was advertising #2 Seth Thomas clock cases, in the Mart, and met the owner of Time Tek Corp., Andy Wyrwicz. He convinced me to take a try at selling his clock parts and I began to do that at the local chapter meetings in New England. One evening, I believe in 1976, I received a phone call from the son of Mr. Patnod and was told of his sudden death. He had advised his wife and son to contact me, regarding his collections, should anything happen to him. I ended up purchasing all of his clocks and watches. In the collection was an E. Howard #70 oak case clock. After looking over this clock and with all the connections and networking I had going at the time, I then decided to make a batch of these clocks. At the time I was residing at 119 Green Street, Needham, MA — hence the name of the clock was born. D (for David) rhyming with the E (for Edward Howard) and of course Howard for Howard; and “Needham” for the town in which some of the parts were made and where the cases were fitted. This project turned out to be an interesting challenge. The components involved included the case with its various parts, a weight driven movement to fit the case and having the correct pendulum length, a dial with hands that fit the chapter ring and fit onto the movement.

The following number of cases and bezels were made:

21 black walnut cases
38 cherry cases
8 cases believed to be cherry
2 oak cases
5 oak bezels only

A total of 69 cases and 5 bezels. However not all cases were fitted with movements as some were sold to people who must have had their own movements.

After reading this you can perhaps feel the labor of love that went into the making of these clocks. Lots of hand work and consideration was employed. The first showing was at a chapter meeting in Seekonk, MA, in 1977. However, it took time for interest to grow before clocks were sold. I decided to sell the clocks/cases unfinished and with or without movements. In retrospect I think I may have had more success if I had made more of the cases in oak wood and with the ‘green’ glass. My records are not so complete and therefore I don’t have the names of all the people to whom they were sold. I also don’t have a complete record of the people who bought cases without movements. When I closed up my shop, in 1987, I sold all my left-over parts to Foster Campos and I understand he made and fitted up a few cases.

Edward Howard of Boston, Massachusetts.

The E. Howard Clock Company has an outstanding reputation for making high quality weight driven wall timepieces, standing regulators, public clocks and electro-mechanical master and watchman clocks.

The E. Howard & Company succeeded the Howard & Davis firm in 1857. The Howard and Davis firm was comprised of Edward Howard and David P. Davis and was established in 1842. Both men served their apprenticeship with Aaron Willard Jr of Boston. This firm was involved in watch and clock manufacturing since 1842. This firm also made high grade clocks, precision balances, sewing machines and fire engines. After the dissolution of Howard and Davis, Edward Howard went on to become Boston’s leading manufacture of weight driven clocks. This included residential clocks, commercial clocks and tower clocks. They also sold a large number of watchman and salve clock systems. These sold well in the late 1800’s.

It has been said that the E. Howard Clock company never made an inexpensive clock and that everything they made was of very good quality. As a result, Howard clocks have become very collectible and are prized by their owners. Today, the E. Howard clock name enjoys outstanding name recognition.

For a more in depth reading of E. Howard and his various businesses, please read “Willard’s Patent Time Pieces” written by Paul Foley.

E. Howard & Co. Boston Street Clock. Model No. 50. Similar to this photo. 216019

The example we are currently offering is not this clock that is pictured here standing. The clock we have for sale… read more

E. Howard & Co. Model No. 70. (24 Inch dial.) The largest size.

The E. Howard & Company offered five variations of dial sizes of the Model 70 form. This example is the largest… read more

E. Howard & Co., Boston, MA. Model No. 58-8. Wall clock.

This number 58 model is becoming a difficult clock to find today. This clock is the smallest of 3 sizes, measuring… read more

E. Howard & Co., Boston, MA. Model No. 69. THE C. & G. COOPER CO. / MT. VERNON, OHIO /STAR BRASS MFG. CO. / BOSTON, MASS. -SOLD-

This Marine clock features a polished brass case that measures approximately 11 & 7/8 inches in diameter and 4 & 3/8… read more

E. Howard & Co., Boston, MA. Model No. 70-12 . The Kosmic. Wall clock.

This is a very interesting and special clock. It is designed with a 24 hour dial. This dial has numerals that… read more

E. Howard & Co., Boston, MA. Model No. 70-24. (24 Inch dial.) The largest size.

The E. Howard & Company offered five variations of dial sizes of the Model 70 form. This example is the largest… read more

E. Howard & Co., Boston, MA. Model No. 80. Tall case clock. Quarter striking. Grandfather Clock.

This very impressive mahogany case measures approximately 8 feet 11 inches tall to the top of the center finial. It was… read more

E. Howard & Co., Boston, MA. Model No. 89. Wall Regulator.

The construction of this case oak is designed to compensate for expansion and contraction as a result changes of humidity and… read more

E. Howard & Co., Boston, Massachusetts. Model No. 57. The Waterman clock.

You may have already rad about it. Ye,s we purchased it. This is a very impressive wall clock that was made… read more

E. Howard & Co., Model No. 59. A Howard "Special Order Vienna." 220056

According to the available E. Howard Clock records, four separate sizes of this model were offered. The largest size measures a… read more

E. Howard & Co., of Boston, MA. Model No. 23. Astronomical Floor Standing Regulator Clock. 214105

This floor standing regulator was made by the E. Howard & Company of Boston, Massachusetts circa 1860. This clock is cataloged… read more

E. Howard & Co., of Boston, MA. Model No. 68. Astronomical Floor Standing Regulator Clock.  -SOLD-

This very impressive floor standing regulator was made by the E. Howard & Company of Boston, Massachusetts. This clock is cataloged… read more

E. Howard & Company 1-5 banjos.

The E. Howard & Company offered five separate sizes of this Banjo form. The largest example of the five graduated sizes… read more

E. Howard Clock Company Boston, Massachusetts. Regulator No. 13.

After the dissolution of the Howard & Davis Company in 1857, a catalog was printed in 1858 that respectfully announced the… read more

E. Howard Figure eight wall clock. A full set of Howards.

The “Figure Eight” form is arguably one of the most attractive antique wall clock forms in today’s marketplace. It was manufactured… read more

E. Howard model 70 wall clocks. A full set. All five cataloged sizes.

This is the first time I have seen the Howard 70’s pictured in this manner. All five sizes. In order on… read more

Howard & Davis of Boston, Massachusetts.

The Howard & Davis firm was formed in Boston, Massachusetts by Edward Howard and David Potter Davis some time in 1842. Both men were trained and served their apprenticeship in clockmaking to Aaron Willard Jr. of Roxbury, Massachusetts. Their partnership lasted approximately ten years. In 1844 through 1847, Luther S. Stephenson joined the partnership which was then called Stephenson, Howard & Davis. It is now currently thought that the Howard & Davis name was not used until after Stephenson departed. The Howard & Davis Clock Company was located at No 34 Water Street. Here they built a reputation for building very high quality items which included various forms of high grade clocks and precision balances or scales. Gold standard balances were used by banks. Letter balances were built under contract for the United States Government. These were used in state and county offices. Town standards (scales) and Druggist’s balances were also manufactured along with the necessary weights. The company also made sewing machines and fire pumpers. In 1857, the Howard & Davis firm was dissolved when D. P. Davis left to peruse other ventures. In 1857, Davis was part of Davis, Polsey & Co. This firm identified itself as the “late Howard and Davis.” They manufactured clocks and a line of pull cord, pin registration watch clocks. This firm lasted until 1860. Posley continued to make these clocks on his own. In 1858, E. Howard began to sign his clocks, E. Howard & Co. This firm enjoyed many prosperous years making clocks and latter watches until he retired in 1881.

Howard & Davis Model No. 2. A wall timepiece or banjo clock. AAA-4

This clock, the Model Number 2, is the most difficult of the five Howard & Davis style banjo clocks sizes to… read more

Howard & Davis Model No.1 Regulator. Boston, Massachusetts. Wall clock. TT-91.

The No.1 Regulator is an impressive clock measuring 4 feet 2 inches long. This case is constructed in cherry wood which… read more

Howard & Davis Model No.3 wall clock. An early example.

This Model No. 3 wall timepiece or banjo clock is nicely proportioned measuring 3 feet 2 inches long. The case is… read more

Alfred Huntington of St. Albans, Vermont.

Alfred Henry Huntington was born in Addison, Vermont on April 25th, 1805. He was the son of Dea. Jonathan Huntington. It is reported that he trained as an apprentice to Curtis and Dunning of Burlington for a 4 year indenture beginning in 1821 at the age of 16. In 1825, Alfred moved to St. Albans and worked as a journeyman, watch repairer and jeweler for Hiram Eaton. It appears Eaton owned and operated a retail shop. In October of 1834, Huntington begins to advertise on his own. His shop was located one door north of J.R. Danforth’s hotel. He advertised that he could repair clocks and watches, as well as jewelry and most other articles of this nature. In 1842, he took on a Mr. Ames as a partner. This relationship lasted only two years. In 1847 Huntington hired Charles Wyman as a journeyman. Wyman had considerable watchmaking experience. With in two years they became partners in Huntington & Wyman. This business last seven years or until Huntington retired in 1856 A. H. Huntington died in February 16th, 1872.

Abel Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire.

Abel Hutchins worked with his older brother Levi in partnership from 1786 through 1803. Both boys were born in Harvard, Massachusetts the sons of Colonel Gordon Hutchins. Levi was born on August 17, 1761 and Abel was born two years later in March. Both men lived into their nineties. On December 6, 1777, the brothers entered into an apprenticeship with Simon Willard of Grafton, Massachusetts. At this time Levi was sixteen and Abel was fourteen years old. In 1780, Levi moved to Abington, CT for a period of approximately eight months to learn some watchmaking skills. He then moved to Concord, New Hampshire and opened a shop on Main Street. He was the first clockmaker to manufacture brass clocks in New Hampshire. Abel worked for a short time in Roxbury after his commitment to Simon was over. Abel is listed in the Roxbury tax assessor’s records in 1784. He was also appointed a fireward with Aaron Willard and Elijah Ward. It is in Roxbury that he married Elizabeth Partridge in January of 1786. Two of her sisters also married clockmakers Aaron Willard and Elnathan Taber. Shortly after their marriage, it appears that Abel moved to Concord, NH and formed a partnership with his bother sometime in 1786. Here they began what must have been a very productive business of making clocks. In 1803, Abel bought out his brothers interests in the partnership and continued making clocks in the same location. The shop was destroyed by fire on November 25th, 1817. Abel built the Phoenix Hotel on the same site. It opened for business on January 1st, 1819. He prospered as a innkeeper until he retired in 1832.

Abel Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire. A country tall case clock in maple.

This is a fine country maple case tall clock made by Abel Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire. This case is nicely… read more

This is a finely inlaid cherry case tall clock made by Abel Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire. This example is also dated on the back of the dial, "Nov 28 1809." This must have been the date of manufacture.

Abel Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire. An inlaid cherry case tall clock. This very nicely and decoratively inlaid case exhibits typical… read more

Levi Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire.

Levi Hutchins was born in Harvard, Massachusetts on August 17, 1761 and died peacefully on June 13, 1855. He was 93. His remains were interned in the Friends’ burial-ground in Concord, NH. It is interesting to note that this was a society that he somewhat withdrew from several years before his death. Levi was one of eleven children. His parents were Colonel Gordon Hutchins & Dolly or Dorothy Stone. Levi had a younger brother named Abel who was born in March of 1763. He also became a clockmaker and for a time worked with his brother in a partnership. Able also died in the town of Concord on April 4th, 1853. Both men lived into their nineties and lived long prosperous lives. I have listed some of Levi’s life’s highlights below.

In 1772, their father had moved the family from the town of Harvard, MA to Concord, NH. In Concord, he purchased land and buildings and commenced as a storekeeper. Gordon became active in the revolution and served as a Captain in the local regiment. Young Levi served in his regiment as a Fifer from April to September in 1775. In May of that year, Gordon Hutchins marched to Breeds Hill mistakenly recorded in history as Bunker Hill under the command of Colonel John Stark. Young Levi accompanied them and watched the battle from a distance high on the hills of Medford, MA. Levi also witnessed the burning of Charlestown. His father Gordon was later stationed at Winter Hill until the end of that year. Levi enlisted in Captain Lewis‘ Company, in Colonel Varnum’s Regiment, under General Green. In the spring of 1776, he marched to New York under the orders of General Washington in order to protect the city and was posted in Brooklyn for a while. He remained posted on the island of Red Hook which is located 4 miles from New York and is such situated to protect the harbor until the defeat of the Americans in the battle of Long Island. Levi was honorably discharged and return to New Hampshire on horseback.

Levi was well educated. He attended Byfield Academy for 1 year and Andover Academy for 2 quarters. He was then recruited as a school teacher and taught in the towns of Tewksbury, Pembroke and Ashburnham, Massachusetts.

On December 6, 1777, the two brothers entered into an apprenticeship with the ingenious Grafton, Massachusetts clockmaker, Simon Willard. At this time Levi was sixteen and Abel was fourteen years of age. After Levi served his 3 year indenture to Simon, he traveled to Abington, CT to serve an eight month apprenticeship in the watch repair trade.

Levi may have move to Concord, New Hampshire as early as 1782. Here he set up residence and shop on Main Street in the central village. His first shop was located very near the present railroad passenger depot not far from the junction of the Merrimack River and the roads from Boston, Portsmouth and the Connecticut Valley. Soon after Levi arrived, is brother Able moved up from Roxbury, MA having worked with the Willards for a few years. Together they formed a partnership that lasted until about 1803 and became the most prolific clockmakers in the Concord region for a number of years. Their output of tall case clocks seems to be somewhat substantial. The earliest ad known to date for their partnership was published in the 1788 in the New Hampshire Spy. They placed an advertisement in the Concord Herald in 1790 and again in 1792looking for two apprentices. It is thought that Peabody Atkinson and Jesse Smith answered the ad. They both are recorded as working as farmers in Virginia in their later years.

On February 23rd 1789, Levi married Phoebe Hanaford daughter of Benjamin and Ruth Hanaford of Haverhill, MA. Together they had ten children. Levi made each one of them a clock before he passed.

In 1793, Levi and Abel purchased a farm together three miles away on the western side of Rattlesnake Hill. Here they continued to manufacturer clocks and also began to farm.

In 1807, their partnership was dissolved. Abel bought out Levi’s share of the business and paid off all debts. Levi received the farm and opened his own shop opposite Gale’s Tavern. Abel retained the house and original shop and the parcel of land. On Tuesday, November 25, 1817 these building were consumed by fire. Two years later, Abel erects the Phoenix Hotel.

In 1808, Levi purchased a house on 70 acres including an apple orchard, a dilapidated fort, a large barn, woodshed and later a saw mill located on Long Pond in the West Parish or West Concord Village.

After the War of 1812, about 1815, Levi built a large building and set up five looms to manufacturer cloth. The cloth business lasted three years before it became unprofitable and sold off. One room in this barn was used for clockmaking. Levi continued to work on brass clock for 20 years. The saw mill operated for 50 years.

Levi Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire. A high style inlaid mahogany case tall clock. The best that colonial New Hampshire had to offer. It also features a rocking ship dial.

This high style inlaid mahogany cased tall clock was made by Levi Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire. Levi is best known… read more

Levi & Abel Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire.

Levi Hutchins was born in Harvard, Massachusetts on August 17, 1761. His brother Abel was born two years later in March. Both men lived into their nineties. Gordon Hutchins, their father, served in the Revolutionary War as a captain. He organized a Company from the Concord area that fought at Bunker Hill.  Levi was enlisted as the fifer.  His father fearing for Levi’s safety, forced him to stay on high ground in Medford.  Levi witnessed the burning of Charlestown wanted to see action himself, so he enlisted in Captain Lewis, Company and was taken into the mess. After the war, he was placed in school and later became a school teacher. On December 6th, 1777, the brothers both entered into an apprenticeship with Simon Willard of Grafton, Massachusetts. At this time Levi was sixteen and Abel was fourteen years old. They returned to Concord New Hampshire some time before 1784. Levi and Able Hutchins were in business together making clocks for some Twenty one years (1786-1807).

Levi & Abel Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire. A cherry case tall clock in old surface. 212075

This is a very good example of a cherry case tall clock made by New Hampshire’s premier clockmakers, Levi and Able… read more

Levi & Abel Hutchins of Concord, New Hampshire. A tall case clock. A very early example. 219010

This is a very good example of a maple case tall clock made by New Hampshire’s premier clockmakers, Levi and Able… read more

Thomas Hutchinson of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Thomas Hutchinson is a listed as a watch and clockmaker in several horological references. In truth, little is currently known about him. He is listed as working as a silversmith in Lancaster boro in 1773. In 1776, he is listed as maker of Dutch type clocks and is working in Washington, Washington, Co., PA. On February 1, 1800, he applied for membership in the Washington Mechanical Society. According to the tax records, he was active in Washington through 1824. In September of 1823, he advertised in The Washington Reporter that he again began his clockmaking business.

Notes: It is reported that a Thomas Hutchinson inlaid tall case clock is in the Carnegie Museum of Art. Late circa 1830.

Thomas Hutchinson of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. An eight tune musical Movement Tall Case Clock.

This is a beautifully figured mahogany case tall clock. This classical design is seldom seen in the tall case form. The… read more

Elias Ingraham of Bristol, Connecticut.

Elias Ingraham was born in Marlborough, Connecticut on October 1st, 1805. He worked as a cabinetmaking apprentice for five years in the town of Glastonbury. In 1825 he purchased his freedom and began working as a journeyman for Daniel Dewy of Hartford. In 1828, Solomon Hinman convinced him to move to Bristol and to make clock cases for George Mitchell. It is here that Ingraham designed and constructed the “Transitional” shelf clock form. Ingraham soon moves on and works for several other clock and furniture ventures. After numerous ventures, he form the Elias Ingraham & Company in 1857 and was granted the first of two patents in case design. The first was for the “Arch Column case and the second was for the door design found on this example having two circular doors that are separated by decorative rosettes. This design becomes extremely popular and it influence finds its why in to some of Ingrahams competitors models. In 1860, the firms name changes to E. Ingraham & Company reflecting a partnership with his son Edward. Elias died at his summer home on Martha’s Vineyard in August of 1885. The business continued in various forms.

Ingraham & CO. Bristol Connecticut. The "Hartford." A long drop school clock.

Today, this wall model is commonly called a long drop school clock. This is a nice clean example of a form.… read more

International Time Recording Company of Endicott, New York.

The International Time Recording Company’s business office was located at 50 Broad Street in Endicott, New York between the years 1901-1924. During this time period, this firm continuously expanded its product line, underwent several reorganizations and name changes, and emerged in 1924 as the International Business Machine Corporation, familiar today as IBM. Some of the companies it acquired include the Chicago Time Register Company, Day Time Register Company, The Syracuse Time Recording Company, Bundy, Willard & Frick and Standard.

Ithaca Clock Company of Ithaca, New York.

The Ithaca Calendar clock Company was formed in 1865 to manufacture clocks with calendar mechanisms. It was located in Ithaca, New York. Henry B. Horton applied for and was granted a patent on April 18, 1865. This patent was improved several times over its life span. This clock venture ended its operations due to bankruptcy on March 14, 1917.

Ithaca Calendar Clock Co. Model Number 3.5 Parlor. Shelf clock.

This very good example. The case is walnut and features applied carvings and moldings which have been ebonized. The upper dial,… read more

Ithaca Calendar Clock Company Regulator No. 1 Regulator double dial clock with sweep seconds hand. Ithaca Calendar Clock Company. Ithaca, New York.

This is in my opinion the most attractive and impressive wall clock the Ithaca Calendar Clock Company made. It is cataloged… read more

Ithaca Calendar Clock Company, Standard Box Skeleton.

A fantastic mantel clock made circa 1880. This model always attracts a lot of attention in our shop. Interestingly, it was… read more

Joseph Ives of Bristol, Connecticut and Brooklyn, New York.

Joseph Ives was born on September 21, 1782. He was one of six children born to Amasa Ives who married into the Roberts family of Bristol, Connecticut. Gideon Roberts is recorded as the first clockmaker to have worked Bristol and it is now thought that he trained his five sons in clockmaking and possibly trained Joseph and his brothers in the trade as well. They all would have been trained before Gideon died of typhoid fever in 1813.

It appears the Joseph Ives began making wooden geared clocks clocks about 1811 in East Bristol and shortly thereafter, he moved to Bristol and continued in the trade. The type of clocks being manufactured were called “wag-on-the wall” or hang ups.” These were sold across the countryside by peddlers who could carry a small number of them on horse back. A hang up consisted of a movement, dial, hands, weights and pendulum. They were general sold without cases because of the added cost and the difficulty in transportation. As a result most cases were made locally if one could afford to have one built. Ives clocks are distinctive in that they typically feature a rolling lantern pinions instead of leaf pinions in their movement design . This was an Ives improvement that was patented.

By 1820, Eli terry was enjoying great success in selling his 30 hour wooden geared shelf clocks of his own design. Terry’s clocks were powered by weights and Ives began to experiment with a spring powered version having roller pinions attached to a wooden movement. Due to financial difficulties, Joseph moves to Brooklyn, New York about 1825 and is working on Poplar Street. Here he begins the production of a movement that is constructed with rolled brass strips which are then riveted together to form the movement frame. Roller pinions and the leaf spring power is also used. The case of these clocks have a Ducan Phyfe furniture influence.

In 1830, Ives creditors catch up with him again and he on the verge of being sent to debtors prison. John Birge hears of this and travels from Bristol to Brooklyn to settle his debts and to persuaded Ives to return to Connecticut to make clocks. First with C. & L.C. Ives who were using his strap frame design and then with John Birge under Birge & Fuller name. This company used the leaf or wagon spring power in many of their clocks. This design of power was also patented by Ives.

Joseph Ives sold the rights to his patents and continued to work in the clock fields under various firms. He was never financially successful but is credited as being one of the most ingenious Connecticut horologists. Joseph dies in 1862.

For a more complete description of Joseph Ives and his working career, please read, The Contributions of Joseph Ives to Connecticut Clock Technology 1810-1862 written by Kenneth Roberts.

Joseph Ives of Brooklyn, New York. The Brooklyn Model shelf clock.

The Brooklyn Model was made between the years of 1825 and 1830. Joseph Ives had moved from Bristol, Connecticut to Brooklyn… read more

Joseph Ives pillar & Scroll. Rare. Lever or cantilever spring powered.

This mahogany cased Pillar & Scroll clock was made by Joseph Ives of Bristol, Connecticut. It is very unusual in that… read more

Joseph Ives tall case clock. 8-day wooden geared movement. Bristol, Connecticut tall clock.

This is an important tall case clock having a wooden geared movement made by Joseph Ives in Bristol, Connecticut. This is… read more

N. L. Brewster case with Joseph Ives Patent "Tin Plate" movement.

According to Kenneth Roberts book, “The Contributions of Joseph Ives to Connecticut Clock Technology 1810 – 1862,” only two firms used… read more

This is an important tall case clock having a wooden geared movement made by Joseph Ives in Bristol, Connecticut.

This is an important tall case clock having a wooden geared movement made by Joseph Ives in Bristol, Connecticut. This is… read more

Anthony Janzsen of Amsterdam

Anthony Janszen is a listed Maker. He is listed as being bon in 1730 and was at work in 1750 through 1800. He is also listed in the register as one of the most important shopkeepers in Amsterdam in 1767. He is described as a watchmaker located on the corner of Haarlemmerdijk and the Korte Prinsengracht.

Antony Janszen. A Dutch tall clock made in Amsterdam.  -SOLD-

213005 An impressive long case clock with brass composite dial signed Anthony Janszen / Amsterdam. It is very unusual to find… read more

Chauncey Jerome of New Haven, Connecticut.

Chauncey Jerome was born in 1793 in Canaan, Connecticut the son of a blacksmith and a nail-maker. He has a storied history in the Connecticut clock industry, becoming one of our Nations giant employers and producers during his lifetime. His autobiography has been reprinted and is available to purchase at the American Clock and Watch Museum in Bristol, CT. It is a worthy read.

Chauncey Jerome - New Haven, Connecticut. An illuminator and Burglar Alarm Mantel Clock. This is a variation of David M. Charters Patent issued October 21, 1873.

This is an excellent example of a very unusual Jerome Mantel Clock fitted with David M. Charters Patent. David M. Charters… read more

Jacob Jones of Pittsfield, New Hampshire.

Jacob Jones was born on December 30, 1749 in Kingston, New Hampshire. He was the son of John Jones (1724-1815) and Hannah Dow (1728-1806). Jacob had a Brother John Jr. who is also listed as a clockmaker. Jacob married Mary Dow. They had at least one son, Jacob Jr. who is also listed as a clockmaker. Jacob dies in Pittsfield on July 25th, 1839. Charles Parsons reports in his book, New Hampshire Clockmakers, that fifteen tall case examples are known to have survived by this Maker.

Jacob Jones of Pittsfield, New Hampshire. A NH tall clock. NN-105.

This is a fine mixed woods country case tall clock made by Jacob Jones of Pittsfield, New Hampshire. This is wonderful… read more

George A. Jones of New York City.

George Alfred Jones was born in June of 1825 and died in 1881. He was at work in Bristol, Connecticut in 1864 through 1879. For the first 20 years of being in business, he had a partner by the name of James Wood of New York City.

In 1863, He is listed in a directory as being involved with a lamp business located at 589 Greenwich Street in New York. It is in this year that The George A. Jones Clock Company was formed. The following year the directory’s listing expands to include him as being involved with a clock business at 2 Courtlandt Street. At this time, the clock company made a number of very nice clocks. They included walnut cased parlor and wall clocks are well as a number of impressive standing and wall hanging regulators. Today the regulators are very collectible and eagerly sought out. The business moved between No.2, 5, and 6 Courtlandt Street until 1872. In 1870, he built a brick factory to manufacture shelf clocks. It opened in 1871 and the New York business closed down. The Bristol location closed down in 1874.

George A. Jones & Co., New York, New York. A Floor Standing Regulator.

A Monumental Jewelers Regulator. This very impressive clock is one of the most unusual and beautiful American Astro Regulators we have… read more

Thomas Joyce of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Currently, very little is known of Thomas Joyce the Clockmaker. He is listed as working in two Philadelphia locations. In 1821 and 1822 he worked at 242 S. 6th Street which is very near today’s Washington Square. In 1823 he moved to 123 Plum Street and worked there until 1825.

Thomas Joyce of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

This wonderful mahogany veneered case tall clock features excellent woods, typical Pennsylvania proportions and a colorfully painted moon phase dial. The… read more

Ezra Kelley of New Bedford, Dartmouth and Provincetown, Massachusetts and Venezuela, South America. He is listed as a clockmaker, watchmaker and goldsmith.

Ezra Kelley was born a Quaker in Dennis, Massachusetts on September 26th, 1798, and died a Methodist in New Bedford on December 14, 1895. He was expelled from the Society of Friends when he married his wife Nancy Simmons of Hingham in 1823. She was also a Methodist. It appears he apprenticed to both his cousin Allen Kelley of South Yarmouth and to John Bailey Jr of Hanover, Massachusetts. Ezra and fellow Bailey apprentice Nathaniel Shepherd, were business partners and worked together in 1820 through 1823 and then again together in 1833 through 1835. In 1830, Kelley moved to Venezuela for a few years and set up a shop there until he returned in 1833. In 1839 through 1841, he was in business with Stephen Howland as Kelley & Howland. They were dry goods merchants. In 1850, he worked with his son George. under the firm name E. Kelley & Son. George was trained as a watchmaker. Soon after, he set a business to refine whale oil for watches, clocks and light machinery in New Bedford. This became a successful enterprise. Tall clocks, shelf clocks and timepieces are known.

Allen Kelley

Allen Kelley of Sandwich, Massachusetts.

Allen Kelley was born in Yarmouth, Massachusetts on November 14th, 1791. He was a Quaker and served his apprenticeship under the Quaker clockmaker Joshua Wilder of Hingham. By 1813 Kelley is recorded to be on his own and working as a clockmaker of Sandwich, Massachusetts. From here he moved to several other locations in the Southeastern Massachusetts region. Some of the towns include Provincetown in 1819 – 1820, Nantucket in 1825, New Bedford in 1834 and back to Sandwich in 1852. He died there on October 13th, 1876. He was 84 years young. Allen Kelley is listed as a clockmaker, watchmaker, silversmith and a jeweler. Tall clocks and Massachusetts Shelf clocks are known.

Allen Kelley of Sandwich, Massachusetts. A tall case clock.  -SOLD-

This is a diminutive inlaid mahogany case measuring 7 feet 4 inches tall and exhibiting very delicate proportions. This case is… read more

Allen Kelley of Sandwich, Massachusetts. tall clock. OO52

This is a diminutive inlaid mahogany case measuring 7 feet 4 inches tall and exhibiting very delicate proportions. This case is… read more

Kelley & Shepherd of New Bedford, Massachusetts.

Ezra Kelly & Nathaniel Shepherd both worked in both Dartmouth and New Bedford, Massachusetts. They worked together in 1820 through 1823 and then again together in 1833 through 1835.

Ezra Kelley worked in New Bedford, Dartmouth and Provincetown, Massachusetts and Venezuela, South America. He is listed as a clockmaker, watchmaker and goldsmith.

Ezra Kelley was born a Quaker in Dennis, Massachusetts on September 26th, 1798, and died a Methodist in New Bedford on December 14, 1895. He was expelled from the Society of Friends when he married his wife Nancy Simmons of Hingham in 1823. She was a Methodist. It appears he apprenticed to both his cousin Allen Kelley of South Yarmouth and to John Bailey Jr of Hanover, Massachusetts. Ezra and fellow Bailey apprentice Nathaniel Shepherd were business partners and worked together in 1820 through 1823 and then again together in 1833 through 1835. In 1830, Kelley moved to Venezuela for a few years and set up a shop there until here returned in 1833. In 1839 through 1841, he was in business with Stephen Howland as Kelley & Howland, dry goods merchants. In 1850, he worked with his son George, a watchmaker as E. Kelley & Son. Soon after, he set a business to refine whale oil for watches, clocks and light machinery in New Bedford. This became a successful enterprise. Tall clocks, shelf clocks and timepieces are known. He is listed as a clockmaker, watchmaker and goldsmith.

Nathaniel Shepherd clockmaker, watchmaker and goldsmith working in Dartmouth, Westport and New Bedford, Massachusetts was born in Dartmouth on February 21, 1795 and died in New Bedford on October 28, 1882. Trained under John Bailey II in Hanover, Massachusetts. Is projected to have started working on his own in 1816. Formed a partnership with Ezra Kelley. They worked together in 1820 through 1823 and then again together in 1833 through 1835.

Several tall clocks are known. One signed example is known with the place location listed as Westport. A similar Shepherd clock can be found in the Yale University Art Gallery collection, inventory no. 1964.54.2

Kelley & Shepherd New Bedford, Massachusetts. Wall timepiece. XXSL16

This fine case is constructed in mahogany. The half rounded frames are fitted with nicely figured mahogany veneered panels. The grain… read more

John Kennard of Newfields, New Hampshire

John Kennard was born in Kittery, Maine in 1782. He was one of nine children born to Timothy Kennard and Abigail Stevens who married September 8th, 1779. John is thought to have learned clockmaking in Portsmouth, NH. On July 3, 1806, he married Sarah Ewer daughter of James and Drusilla (Ewer) Burleigh. They moved around New Hampshire, living in Nashua and then in Concord before moving to Newfields in 1812. In Newfields they occupied the Palmer House. Here he made clocks and kept a store. He was postmaster in 1822 through 1824. He served as Town Clerk, Selectman and the State Representative. In 1823, John built the Kennard House on Piscassie Street and began a foundry with Temple Paul and the Drakes. They sold out in 1834. John died Jan 14,1861. Tall clocks, banjo clocks and a surveyor’s quarter circle with compass are known.

John Kennard of Newfields, New Hampshire. A cherry case tall clock with mahogany cross-banding.

This mahogany cross-banded cherry case tall clock stands on four nicely shaped turned feet. They exhibit good form and are nicely… read more

Samuel Keplinger of Baltimore, Maryland.

Samuel Keplinger is recorded as being born sometime in 1770 and died in 1849. He is listed as working first in Frederick County Co. Maryland about 1800. Then he is found in Gettysburg 1806 -1807. Lastly he is located in Baltimore by 1811 through 1841. Keplinger is listed as a clock and watchmaker . He was also a retailer and a merchant. Numerous advertisements of his business survive due to the preservation of newspapers. They suggest that he did a far amount of business. He advertised a need for a journeyman or two, a servant and a cook. He also advertised having Willard’s patent timepieces in stock. A patent was granted to him for the manufacture of watch chains in 1820. He patented a machine to make the chains.

An important Hepplewhite tall case clock with dial signed by "S. Keplinger / Baltimore." Having a mirror in the waist door.

This crossbanded veneered case features a traditional Boston, Massachusetts form. It exhibits excellent proportions. The base proudly stands cutout bracket feet.… read more

An important Hepplewhite tall case clock with painted dial boldly signed by "S. Keplinger / Baltimore." TT207

This cross banded veneered case features a traditional Boston, Massachusetts form and is constructed on a grand scale. The case exhibits… read more

George Roland Smith Killiam of Pawtucket, Rhode Island.

George Roland Smith Killiam — Born June 11, 1874 — Died August 10, 1937. Killiam operated a clock shop located at 8 Baptist Street in Pawtucket, RI. He advertised this clock for sale in 1904 for $48.00. For more information on this maker see National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors Bulletin No. 388, October 2010.

Jacob Sawyer Kimball of Montpelier, Vermont.

Jacob Kimball of Montpelier, Vermont. Clock and watchmaker, silversmith and jeweler.

Jacob Sawyer Kimball was born on April 21, 1779 in Sutton, New Hampshire and died on June 23, 1827 in Montpelier, Vermont. He was the son of Caleb and Sarah (Sawyer) Kimball and the brother of Mary Eaton. He is thought to have apprenticed to Levi and Able Hutchins in Concord in 1793. He is listed as working in Montpelier in 1800 through 1827. On March 19,1812, married Eliza Purkitt of Boston. They had 4 children. Together they built up a large estate. Jacob trained at least on apprentice. It was his nephew Hiram Eaton who was born on January 14, 1802 and died in Warner, Vermont on August 8, 1876. His apprenticeship most likely started around 1815. Hiram then moves St. Albans, Vermont and then to Warner and later Concord, New Hampshire.

A tall case clock is known signed by Kimball. The American Antiquarian Society currently owns a watch paper that is signed by him. It is dated 1825.


George Leverly of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and Baltimore, Maryland.

Currently, very little information is published about George Levely. He is said to have been born about 1749 and died in 1796. He first worked in Philadelphia. It appears that he was there in 1770 through about 1774 when he relocated to Baltimore, Maryland. In Baltimore, he advertises that he was a watch and clockmaker from the city of Philadelphia that he relocated his shop opposite the Fountain Inn on Market Street. This Inn was located on what is now the corners of Baltimore and Hanover Streets. The Federal Gazette (Baltimore) reports on 30 April 1796 that George Levely Watchmaker of Baltimore dies on April 29, 1796 at the age of 47.

An inlaid mahogany cased Tall Clock made by George Leverly of Baltimore, Maryland. 


This is a fine example of a tall case clock that is constructed in mahogany and is decorated with subtle line… read more

Benjamin B. Lewis of Bristol, Connecticut.

Benjamin B. Lewis was born in 1818 and died in 1890. He is best known for designing a perpetual calendar mechanism while working as a Jeweler in Huron, Ohio. In 1859, he moved to Bristol, Connecticut to find a manufacturer of his design. The firm Burwell & Carter first manufactured the mechanism in 1859 until 1862. Lewis had applied for an patent which was granted in on February 4, 1862. He continued to improve the design and patent those improvements in 1864, 1868 and 1881. He supplied his mechanisms to L.F. & W.W. Carter in 1862 through 1868 and then to the Welch, Spring & Company from 1868 to 1884. Their clocks sold well and Lewis became quite wealthy. In 1870 he form a partnership with his son Charles S. Lewis under the firm name of B.B. Lewis & Son in Bristol. This venture did not last long.

Joseph Lindauer working for Tiffany & Company Makers, NYC.

For a brief period, Tiffany brought the manufacture of high grade clocks in house. The manuscript Order Book kept by this Clock Department begins 1879 and ends 1918. It is now in the collection of the New York Historical Society. Many of the clock movements that came form this department are die-stamped on the backplate with a number that corresponds to an order number in the Book. Number 19 was ordered on October 30th of 1879. The last numbered entry is for number 829 which was completed on April 13, 1910. The order book was not updated until June of 1918. The Order Book records a variety of clocks, including many specially designed and built to prominent clients’ specifications.

These records indicate that this Shop was under the direction of Joseph Lindauer. He was born January 17, 1835 in Pilsen, Bohemia, Austria. He trained as a clockmaker in Pilsen and at Prague. He came to America in 1865 and worked for Tiffany & Co then at 550 – 552 Broadway as a clock repairer. He proved to be so proficient that he soon was put in charge. As the Superintendent, he hired many skilled and expert clockmakers. Under his direction, Tiffany occupied a prominent position in American clock making both aesthetically and technically. This division manufactured many important clocks including astronomical clocks which were exhibited by Tiffany & Co at the Paris and Chicago exhibitions. Tiffany constructed clocks are highly sought after. Examples of their work that are well known to the clock community include two astronomical clocks. The first, No. 289, is in the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The second example is in the Cleveland Museum of Art. An isochronal clock, No. 516, was designed to have four pendulums and was constructed in 1884. The current store clock measuring 9 feet tall has a full figure of Atlas supporting a clock on his shoulders. Another public clock is located on the exterior of the Grand Central Terminal.

Joseph Lindauer worked for thirty-two years an employee of Tiffany & Co. He was born January 17, 1835, at Pilsen , Bohemia , Austria . He learned his trade of clockmaker at Pilsen and at Prague , the capital of Bohemia . In 1865 he came to this country, and the same year was engaged by Tiffany & Co., then at Nos. 550-552 Broadway, as clock repairer. He proved so proficient that the firm soon gave him charge of the clock repairing and clock making department. He gathered about him a force of expert clockmakers that has become noted for great ability, especially in the adjustment of the most intricate and complicated mechanisms. He was also well known to many experts and amateurs in fine mechanism, who recognized his remarkable intelligence and skill in all horological work. He died on Sunday, March 7. 1897 In 1896, he had a stroke of paralysis, from which he never recovered. Another stroke followed in October, after which he was confined to his bed until relieved by death.

Little & Eastman of Boston, Massachusetts

Joseph Eastman of the Chelsea Clock Company fame and Henry C. Little provided the clockmaking know how to this short lived firm (1906-1907). As a result, we have seen very few of their clocks in the marketplace. Those that have been seen are usually very similar to the form of a Chelsea no., 1 or the Seth Thomas No., 2 variety. Interestingly, a gilt lyre wall clock has been recorded as being found. A surviving catalog for this firm is not recorded. This short lived venture was set up like the Vermont Clock Company’s operation. The clocks produced were in general very good quality.